150 - HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO.
JOHN GREENLEE.*
John Greenlee was burn in Crawford county, Pennsylvania, near French creek, in 1804. William
Greenlee, his father, visited Ohio in the spring of 1811, and located a farm near James I.. Priest,
in that part of Lake township subsequently annexed to Washington township, Holmes county. In
making that trip on horseback, he passed down the banks of the Ohio river to Wellsburgh,
Virginia, crossed at the ferry, and traveled west to Cadiz, thence to Cambridge, thence to
Zanesville, thence up the banks of the Muskingum river to the village of Coshocton, thence up
the bank of the Whitewoman to the Lake fork, and thence through an unbroken forest, by Indian
paths, to the cabin of James L. Priest. Mr. Priest had been a neighbor in Crawford county,
Pennsylvania, and had located near what is now "Priest's Prairie," in the summer of 1809. After a
stay of ten or fifteen days, Mr. Greenlee became so pleased with the country that he resolved to
select and locate upon a tract of land near Mr. Priest. Ile returned to Pennsylvania, and arranged
for removing his family to Ohio. By the first of October, 1811, he had completed his
arrangements, and commenced his journey through the forests with one two-horse and one
four-horse covered wagon, loaded with household goods, provisions, grain, and his family,
consisting of his wife and seven children—six girls and one boy, John. He also brought a few
head of cows. He crossed the Ohio river, and came by the trail through Canton, Massillon, and
Wooster, all mere villages, the trail being narrow and but little traveled. There were but few
cabins along the route, and he was compelled to camp by the way-side, pretty nearly the entire
distance. When he arrived at the village of Wooster, he found no opened path to the Priest cabin,
and hence preceded his teams with an ax, cutting the undergrowth and prepared a wagon road. In
this way his progress was slow, and it took the major part of one month to perform the entire
journey. He finally arrived safely, and was assisted by his old friend, and eight or ten friendly
Indians, among whom were Thomas Jelloway, Toni Lyon, Billy Dowdee, Thick-necked John,
Monos, and Billy Montour, and a few white men, in putting up a cabin,
The pioneer families within a circuit of six miles are believed to have been, at that time, Mr.
Finley, Mr. Eagle, Samuel Marvin, William and John Hendrickson, Elijah Bolhng, William
Greenlee, and James L. Priest. The cabins of Messrs. Priest and Greenlee were near the old
Huron trail, and great numbers of Delawares, from Sandusky, Green and Jerometown, passed on
their way to and from the old Indian settlement on the Tuscarawas during the fall of 1811 and the
spring of 1812, but all remained quiet and friendly until after Hull's surrender at Detroit, in
August, 1812. This was followed–by the removal of the Green and Jerometown Delawares, and
the assassination of Ruffner, the Zimmers, and James Copus, by the hostile Indians from
* This sketch was prepared by a committee appointed by the Historical Society of Ashland
county, consisting of Andrew Moss, George W. Uric, and George W. Hill.
Sandusky. The pioneers, in the Priest neighborhood, converted Mr. Priest's double cabin into a
block-house, and enclosed by pickets about one-fourth of an acre of ground around it. The fort
was a few hundred yards west of the Lake fork, and near where the railroad crosses that stream.
The settlers near Odell's lake joined those of the Priest settlement, in the erection of the stockade,
and came there for safety. The families who entered the fort were those of James L. Priest,
William Greenlee, William and John Hendrickson, Elijah Bolling, Samuel Marvin, Nathan
Odell, Joshua and Thomas Oram, and Elijah Chilcoat. The settlers remained in the fort but a
short time, and returned to their cabins. The fort, however, remained a sort of headquarters for
the little colony during the continu ance of the war, although the red men of the northwest failed
to put in an appearance. While the war progressed, in 1813, Mr. John Greenlee relates that on the
tenth of September he distinctly heard the roar of artillery in the naval engagement between Perry
and the British commodore on Lake Erie ; but, allhough the day was clear, supposed at first it
was a heavy storm or hurricane in the norlhwest. In a few days the news of Perry's triumph was
heralded over the country.
In a short time, the settlement was increased by the arrival of John, Henry, and Reuben Newkirk,
James Gray, Thomas Baker, Mr. Ellsworth, John, Jacob, Alexander, and George Emrich, Peter
Wycoff, John Smith, George Marks, Jabez Smith, and Robert Chandler. In 1824 William
Greenlee sold his farm to Calvin Hibbard, and purchased the homestead on section fourteen,
southwest quarter. Here William Greenlee died in 1854, aged eighty-two years and three and a
half months, and at his decease John Greenlee came into possession of the homestead. John
Greenlee married Miss Susannah Warner, of Lake township, August 1 0, 1836, and resided on
the homestead about sixty-three years. He was a successful and thrifty farmer, a good citizen, an
upright and honest man. He did his full share in improving highways, building school-houses,
erecting churches, and in supporting public charities. His family was numerous, consisting of
thirteen children, a part of whom, with his beloved wife, survive him. Mr. Greenlee, after a brief
illness, deceased on the eighteenth of June, 1877, and was followed to the grave, his final resting
place, by a large number of his old neighbors and friends.
When he entered Lake township, that part of the county was covered with its native forest, and
abounded in wolves, bear, deer, and in other wild animals. The shrill yells of the red man often
echoed amid the wilds, as he passed up and down the ancient trails. These have long since
disappeared, for new men and new ideas. Civilization, with school-houses, villages, churches,
railroads, and other improvements, has taken possession of the land. How great the change, even
in a life-time of sixty-four years! The Indian has gone toward the setting sun to find his last
retreat; the forest and the hunter's sport have gone, in exchange for the delightful pursuits of
agriculture, and the independence of a farmer's home.
HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO - 151
ROBERT F. CHANDLER
was born in Baltimore county, Maryland, September 4, 1795, and removed with his father's
family to Jefferson county, Ohio, in 1810, and shortly after, to Tuscarawas county, where he
remained until the spring of 1812. At this time the father, Joseph Chandler, sr., and his sons
Thomas, Joseph, jr., and Robert F., went to Perry township, then in Wayne county, to improve
lands previously entered at Canton land office. The location is now where Joseph Chandler, jr.,
resides, about two miles north of Jeromeville, on the east side of Mohican. When the Chandlers
landed, the Delawares were quite numerous, but harmless. They had a village about one mile
southwest of the present site of Jeromeville, on the west side of the stream, known as Mohican
Johnstown. The village contained a council house and about sixty or eighty pole lodges or
wigwams, and was located near the old Wyandot trail. The village was a common resort of
hostile Wyandots on their warlike excursions to western Pennsylvania and Virginia, in the days
of the border wars. Many white captives had been led up the old trail, by the village, from 1780
to 1795. The Indians had cleared some fifteen or twenty acres of bottom land, which the squaws
cultivated in corn, after the Indian manner. The village was west of the stream, on lands now
owned by Dr. Yocum. About one mile northeast of the village, a Frenchman by the name of John
Baptiste Jerome, resided in a comfortable cabin, having an Indian wife and a daughter aged about
fifteen years. He also had horses, cattle and swine, and had cleared about thirty or forty acres of
bottom land along the stream at the west side of what is now Jeromeville, on which he raised
corn, and supplied many of the early pioneers with seed corn. When Mr. Chandler landed, the
Indians, mostly Delawares, were quite friendly, and often came to see him in his cabin and
clearing. He was a Quaker in dress and faith, and the Indians manifested a good deal of interest in
his safety and success. The Chandlers immediately set about clearing a piece of land on the
bottom, (near where they erected a cabin,) which he planted in corn.
About the time of Hull's surrender at Detroit, August 16, 18,2, the friendly Indians notified
Chandler of approaching danger, and he and his sons deemed it prudent to leave. They returned
to Tuscarawas county, to near where New Philadelphia now stands, where they remained with
the family until the close of the war. In the meantime, Robert F. returned to Jefferson county,
where he remained until about 1815, when he again rejoined his father's family and returned to
the Mohican, and continued improvements on their old homestead. In May, 1-815, the Chandler
family, father, mother and sons, removed to their wilderness home. Two years afterwards his
father, Joseph Chandler, sr., sickened and died His mother survived until 1852, and died at an
advanced age. Robert F. continued to reside near Jeromeville until 1834, when he purchased and
carried on what was then known as Smith's mill, near Mohicanville. This mill he continued, with
certain improvements, to carry on about thirty years, and finally disposed of it and purchased the
farm where he deceased, and turned farmer. Mr. Chandler was a friendly, genial pioneer, and in
his primal days delighted to dwell upon the incidents of pioneer life sixty-eight or seventy years
ago, Being a miller for many years, and possessing good conversational powers, he became
acquainted with nearly all the early settlers of the south part of the county, and, when in the
humor, a very interesting talker. He was never a member of any church, regarding it his duty to
treat all men justly, and believing that when his career should end on earth, that the Supreme
Ruler of the universe would reward such a life. He looked kindly upon all men, and desired to so
live that he might have a conscience free of offence when called home.
He married young, when about twenty years of age, Miss Charlotte Jones, April 25, 1816. This
lady deceased September 19, 1819; and in January, 1825, he married Miss Hannah Winbigler,
who died February 25, 1875. His family consisted of Charles and Eleanor, of his first wife, and
Robert, William, Joshua, Shadrac, Hannah, Joseph, Charlotte, Sarah, Rebecca, John, and Jasper,
by his second wife. All these were living when this sketch was written, in 1876, except John and
Jasper. His family are much scattered, and many reside in the far west.
Among the incidents of his life, Mr. Chandler took much pleasure in relating the following:
When a young man, during his residence in Tuscarawas county, he became acquainted with a
number of Delaware Indians, formerly from Greentown, upon the Black fork. At a hilarious
gathering, near Goshen, in Tuscarawas county, a number of Delawares joined in the sport of
wrestling, running and hopping. A tall, powerful Indian, formerly from Greentown, by the name
of Philip Kennotchy, challenged Mr. Chandler to wrestle at arms-length—Indians never taking
back-hold. Mr. Chandler being always full of conceit, and very ambitious and atheletic, and
weighing at the time about two hundred pounds, accepted the banter. The parties selected the
ground, and took hold as agreed, Mr. Chandler supposing himself superior to all rivals at
arms-length; but the giant grasp of the big Delaware soon convinced him that he had a full
match. They twisted, tripped and struggled for thirty or forty minutes, until nearly exhausted,
without apparent advantage to either. Mr. Chandler became very much enraged and quite
desperate, while Kennotchy remained calm and resolute, and finally compelled him to ask a
cessation of the struggle, which Kennotchy was willing to do. Mr. Chandler said that at one time,
that he was so much enraged that he felt like striking the Indian; but, in his calmer moments, he
is now satisfied that he refrained from all violence, because the Indian would have undoubtedly
overpowered and severely punished him. In connection with this Indian, he gave a very
interesting detail of the Ruffner– Zimmer assassinations, on the Black fork, in the fall of 1812.
Kennotchy was very fond of fire-water, and while under its influence, gave full particulars of the
Black fork murders. He stated that he was one of the number that killed Martin Ruffner,
Frederick Zimmer, the old lady, and Kate. After leaving the cabin and passing up
152 - HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO.
the ravine, the Indians held a council, when Kennotchy returned and dispatched the white squaw,
meaning " Kate," with his tomahawk, the other Indians protesting, when he claimed to have
"brave heart." This is the most valuable information ever obtained concerning the particulars of
that fearful tragedy.
SPARKS BIRD.
Sparks Bird, son of John and Cassandra Bird, was born at Redstone, Westmoreland county,
Pennsylvania, February 9, 1797. His parents removed to Jefferson county, Ohio, about the year
1803, which, at that time, was very sparsely settled. The Delawares yet remained along the
Tuscarawas river, in large numbers, and ranged the forests in quest of wild game. They often
visited the cabin of the parents of Mr. Bird, but offered no threats or intimidations. In the spring
of 1814, at the age of eighteen, young Bird left the parental roof in search of employment and
fortune, and -stopped a short time near the present city of Massillon. In the spring of 1815, he
visited his uncle, General Beall, at Wooster, and obtained employment of him; and in 1816, in
company with the general and the late Hon. Levi Cox, passed up the trail and visited the village
of Loudonville, which at that time, contained but few cabins. They traveled over a good deal of
the townships of Hanover, Green, and Lake, and he made choice of the southeast quarter of
section seven, in Lake township, when he returned to Wooster and entered. He then entered the
employ of General Beall, and worked at clearing and farming for some time. The farm of the
general occupied most of the present site of Wooster, and Mr. Bird says he has plowed over the
ground upon which some of the best residences of Wooster now stand. The old Wyandot trail,
just at the south margin of the present city of Wooster, was then quite plainly marked by Indian
travel. The trail was at that time much used by the Delawares and Wyandots, on their trading
excursions to "Old Pitt," as the city was then called. It was not uncommon to see hundreds of red
men, from the northwest, pass and re-pass the settlement about the block-house, every week, for
four or five years after the war of 1812; but the spirit of the red man had been completely broken,
and the hostiles had generally removed to Canadian soil, while the Montours, the Armstrongs,
the Jonacakes, the Dowdees, and the Lyons still continued to range the forests of what is now
Ashland county, in search of game.
During the period of his employment by General Beall, he became acquainted with the notorious
John Driskel, who afterwards became the leader of a gang of desperadoes in Green township, of
what is now Ashland county, that were the terror of law-abiding people. When Driskel first came
to the settlement at Wooster, he was not considered a bad man, otherwise than somewhat
quarrelsome when under the influence of corn whiskey. Associations and sprees with his gang of
outlaws soon made him a dangerous man ; and so rapid was his progress in crime that
law-abiding citizens were compelled to defend themselves against the incursions of the villainous
thieves and land pirates headed by him. The leading crimes of this bandit consisted in
horse-stealing, incendiarism, and house-breaking. Driskel and his gang originated in Columbiana
county, whence they gradually collected in Wayne county, and spread to Green township, in what
was then Richland county. The boldness of their crimes created terror wherever they appeared.
Driskel, the head of the banditti, is said to have been maimed by an encounter with Andrew Poe
having had the end of his nose bitten or cut off, which, added to his crimes, rendered him
exceedingly repulsive in appearance. While residing in Wayne county, several of the gang were
detected, convicted and sent to the penitentiary. Driskel was finally captured and sent to State
prison; but, by some means, escaped, and, by the aid of his son John, and the two Brawdys,
relations, and pro fessional highwaymen and thieves, for a long time escaped recapture. Repeated
acts of incendiarism in Green township, in which many barns, other buildings, hay and stock
were consumed, and horses and cattle stolen, the indignant pioneers speedily orgamzed a band of
regulators, or a black cane company, to compel the Driskel gang to leave the country or suffer
retaliation from an indignant and outraged community. The Driskel banditti, learning the state of
public feeling, prepared to rejoin John Driskel, the head of the gang, who had been, in the
meantime, captured, and on his way to Columbus had escaped, and fled to Illinois, where his
desperadoes hastened to rejoin him and renew their desperate vocations as a banditti, and where
the Driskels finally expiated their crimes by being shot or hung by the regulators.
In September, 1820, Sparks Bird accompanied a surveying party to Michigan, as a chain carrier,
and was employed in surveying several counties around Saginaw bay. On the return of the
company, they were driven ashore in a violent snow storm; but all escaped from the wreck,
suffering dreadfully from cold and wet. They finally reached Cleveland, almost exhausted, where
they were kindly cared for. From thence he returned to Steubenville, and, in 1823, returned to
Lake township, and commenced clearing and improving his farm, and put up a cabin. In 1824 he
was joined by his brother William and family. He then commenced pioneer life in
earnest--clearing, making rails, fencing, log-rolling, and raising cabins among the new settlers,
being the chief employment. At this time wild game was quite abundant on Little Lake, and it
was not uncommon for the pioneers to be serenaded by wolves. On one occasion, the Bird-
brothers had purchased a lot of chickens from a neighbor about one and a half miles distant, and,
for convenience, had gone for them in the evening. After capturing them upon the roost, they had
gone but a short distance along the winding paths in the directon of their own premises, when
they were saluted by the unpleasant howl of wolves rapidly advancing upon their trail. The Bird
brothers quickened their gait, from a rapid walk to a run, as the wolves neared them in their
flight. William Bird, being quite large and fleshy, kept
HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO - 153
up with Sparks, who was much lighter and more active, with difficulty. They hastened along the
path, making all the speed of which they were capable, until Sparks caught his foot, tripped, and
fell in some brush, but held his fowls, and finally escaped the wolves. He is of opinion that he
must have made excellent time, for the voracious howlers remained about his cabin all night, in
the hope of dining on his favorite poultry.
Mr, Bird was a good shot, and a successful hunter, and kept his table well supplied with both
venison, turkeys, bear, and wild honey. His experiences as a hunter are much like other rangers
of the forest in Ashland county. He often met Jonacake, Billy Dowdee, and other Indian
inhabitants of Greentown, as they ranged over the hills of Lake.
He has lived continuously on his pioneer farm since he began to improve it in 1823-4. He has
frequently been honored, by his fellow citizens, with township offices, having been elected
trustee in 1838-9 and again from 1849 to 1855.
He married Eliza, daughter of the late Jacob Long, in 1832. She deceased in 1835. He married
Charlotte Austin, of Jeromeville, in 1840, She died in 1860. In 1864 he married Rachel, youngest
daughter of the late Alexander Finley, the first pioneer of Mohican.
In 1832 the parents of Mr. Bird located in Clearcreek township, and his mother, Mrs. Cassandra
Bird, was one of the first organizing members of the Presbyterian church of Clearcreek, then a
branch of " Old Hopewell," in Montgomery. John Bird, father of Sparks, resided near Savannah,
from 1832 to 1839, and was a soldier under General St. Clair, in his disastrous expedition against
the Shawnees and their confederates, on the Miami, November 4, 1791, but was so fortunate as
to escape that massacre.
Sparks Bird, although far advanced in years, possesses a good deal of mental and physical vigor,
and may survive to relate his pioneer experiences for many years.
BILLY DOWDEE.
The old Delaware hunter, Billy Dowdee, visited the cabin of Allen Oliver, father of Lewis, in the
spring of 1812, a few months before the removal of the Green- town Indians, Dowdee, with his
squaw and six or seven chlldren, encamped at the mouth of a rivulet, half a mile above Mr.
Oliver, where it empties into the Black fork. The old warrior had hunted for some time, over the
hills and along the valleys of Green township, but with ill success. His squaw and children lived
meagerly on hominy and venison. Dowdee was a humane Indian, and was much attached to his
squaw and children. In his distress, he concluded that Mr. Oliver would be likely to sympathize
with the "red hunter." He had met his new neighbor several times, and rightly conceived the true
elements of his character. He hastened to the cabin of Mr. Oliver, when the following dialogue
took place:
Dowdee—" How much you charge for big pot full mush and milk ? My squaw and pappoose
velly hungry."
Oliver " How much will you give ?"
Dowdee—" Me give one large buck-skin."
Oliver "All right, bring them along."
Dowdee hastened to his wigwam to inform his squaw and children of the good news, and bring
them to the cabin of Mr. Oliver.
In the meantime, Mrs. Oliver prepared a two-gallon pot of mush, and it was steaming hot when
Dowdee and his family appeared at the cabin. On entering, " Billy" desired the pot to be placed in
the middle of the floor, which was done; and the Indian family surrounded it, seating themselves
on the floor. Tins, spoons and milk were provided, and Dowdee and his dusky family
commenced their meal. The little Indians were remarkably voracious. The mush gradually
disappeared. Finally the glossy skinned little fellows, with distended stomachs, began to hesitate.
" Billy," talking to them in the Delaware tongue, urged them to " eat more." It was in vain, for
their appetites had been fully glutted.
There they sat, nearly nude, with their yellow skins expanded almost to the point of explosion.
One by one, they began to become drowsy, and nodded. The scene was exceedingly ludicrous. It
was well worthy some native artist, and excited a smile from those who beheld it. The mush was
at last consumed, and "Billy" produced the buckskin, and handed it to Mr, Oliver. He thin rcused
his pappooses from their torpor, bade adieu to Mr. Oliver, and returned to his wigwam. The
rivulet upon which he encamped, has since been known as " Dowdee's run."
A year or two after the war Dowdee returned to the Greentown settlement to hunt, and re-visited
that region, annually, for several years, for the same purpose, The characteristic love of the
Caucasian for mental culture existed among the early settlers of Green township. The children of
the pioneers were gathered into a rude log school-house, and the services of a young lady secured
as teacher. This was probably the first school ever taught in the township. The young lady who
taught the young idea how to shoot still survives, and has nearly reached four score of well spent
years. She informs me that, one drowsy, summer afternoon, when the little urchins under her
charge were sleepily perusing their A B C's, and feeling perfectly secure, a large, copper- colored
warrior stepped into the school-room and looked gravely at the children. Profound silence
prevailed. The little fellows could almost feel their scalps disapapearing. The teacher looked
enquiringly at the Indian. The little ones trembled in expectation of capture or the tomahawk. It
was Billy Dowdee. He took in the whole scene at a glance Looking gravely at the teacher, he
said: "Much pappoose—velly much pappoose." The young teacher blushed, visibly, at the
insinuation, and felt greatly embarrassed. 'The point was, "Billy" intended to compliment her on
possessing so large a family of pale-faced-pappooses.
At the treaty at the Maumee rapids, in 1817, Dondee, or Dowdee, is named as one of the
proprietors in a reservation three miles square, south of Upper San-
154 - HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO.
dusky, which was assigned to the Greentown and Jerometown Indians, formerly of Ashland
county.
Billy Dowdee was a harmless old Indian, and is well remembered by the pioneers of Green
township. He and his family accompanied the Delawares to their new reservation, west of the
Mississippi, in 1829.
ABEL BAILEY
was born in Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, July 24, 1799. In 1806, his father, in company
with other emigrants, came down the Youghiogheny on a small flatboat to Pittsburgh. The family
of Mrs. Bryte, mother of John and the late David Bryte, were also in the company. On departing
from Pittsburgh, they attached the flat boat to one of the river boats, and descended the Ohio to
Steubenville, and located about eight miles northwest of the village, where they remained until
1809, when John Bailey and family located near New Lisbon and remained until 1816, and
removed to Green township, Richland county, and settled near Honey creek. Here the family
remained until 1818, when John Bailey, father of Abel, purchased the southeast quarter of section
fourteen, in Clearcreek township, and located upon it. John Bailey and his son, Abel, visited and
selected the quarter in 1817, one year prior to the removal. John Bailey, sr., father of John Bailey,
jr., who was the father of Abel Bailey, was of English descent, and served during the
Revolutionary war, from Rhode Island, and located with his family in Westmoreland county,
Pennsylvania, where he deceased. John Bailey, father of Abel, died in Richland county, whither
he had removed, about 1850. Mrs. Bailey died in Clearcreek at an advanced age. Abel married
Miss Acsah, daughter of John Murphy, of Green township, in 1821, and in 1830 purchased the
homestead in Clearcreek township of his father, and still resides thereon. When the Baileys
removed to Clearcreek in 1818, they found the following pioneers in the township: Nathaniel
Bailey, a brother of John, who located in 1817, Abraham Huffman, John McWilliams, David
Barnes, Isaac Vanmeter, Peter Vanostrand, Robert McBeth, James Haney and his sons, Richard,
John and Thomas, Richard and John Freeborn, Thomas Munholland, Patrick Elliott, Jacob Foulk,
Thomas Ford and his sons, Elijah, Elias, Thomas and John, and John Bryte. These settlers were
much scattered. The roads were mere paths, ill-worked, and, in wet seasons, difficult to travel.
There were no churches or school-houses. There were a few Baptists and Methodists. Their
meetings were held in the cabins of the pioneers for several years. The forests of Clear- creek
were very dense, and the timber very tall and of unusual size. The first settlers performed a
prodigy of labor in its removal. Mr. Bailey says, "The task was absolutely disheartening." By
perseverance, however, fine farms were prepared, and many of the pioneers, now well advanced
in age, are living in comfort and plenty. He remembers vividly the scenes, ludicrous and
otherwise, that occurred at the early cabin raisings, log rollings, and making roads. Fired by corn
whiskey, and an exuberance of animal spirits, the rugged pioneers were ambitious to excel in all
that tested physical endurance and courage. Very few of the first settlers remain. Many of them
have long since been gathered and garnered by the remorseless reaper. Mr. Bailey has long been a
member of the Baptist denomination, and assisted in the erection of the first church in Savannah,
in 1840, It is a neat frame, and in .a good state of preservation. Upon the introduction of the
reform of Alexander Campbell, the church was greatly weakened, many of the members having
connected with the new church. The Baptists have no regular minister at present. The members
number about thirty. The family of Mr. Bailey consists of Eli, of Van Wert, Ohio, and John, of
Savannah. The daughters are Jane, wife of David Andrews, Ellen, wife of John Smith, and
Aletha, wife of Simon Stentz. Mrs. Bailey died in 1873. Mr. Bailey resides on the homestead. He
is in good health, and his memory unimpaired.
Mr. Bailey relates that when he came to the township in 1818, deer were very plenty, and the
hunters could easily procure an abundance of wild meat. The most noted hunters of what is now
Ashland county were Edward Wheeler, Elias Ford, James Kuykendall, Christopher Mykrants,
Solomon Urie, John McConnell, and Jacob Young, most of whom are now deceased. 'They
hunted along the Vermillion river, the Black river, and on the Fire Lands of the Reserve. At that
time, large encampments of Wyandots and Delawares hunted annually along those streams, and
frequently met and conversed with the white hunters. The last deer was killed as late as 1845,
within the present limits of Troy township.
DAVID BRYTE.
Mr. Bryte was born in Fayette county, Pennsylvania, in December, 1806, and in 1807 his parents
removed to Jefferson county, Ohio. In 1821, when sixteen years of age, he and a younger brother
walked to Clearcreek township, in Richland county, and passed through the then village of
Uniontown, now Ashland. At that time, fifty years ago, it contained but a few log cabins and one
or two small stores. For a number of years he followed the occupation of teaching school. At that
period he taught several terms in Milton and Montgomery townships. He then located in
Mansfield, where he continued to teach until about the year 1840. About this time he became
deputy under Sheriff McCullough, and served two terms, and was elected sheriff one term. Upon
the erection of Ashland county in 1845-6, he removed to his farm three miles south of Ashland,
and in 1850 was elected a justice of the peace. In 1853 he was elected infirmary director, and
resigned to remove to Allen county, where he remained a few years. '
Mr. Bryte had been twice married, and his second wife and five children, all grown, survive him.
He was an acceptable and zealous member of the Christian
HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO - 155
church. He was a man of nervous temperament, and during his prime, a very ardent Democrat.
His long residence in this vicinity enabled him to become acquainted with most of the pioneers
of the county. He took great pleasure in recounting the exploits and adventures of the early
settlers and their families. He lived to see great changes in men, and the general appearance of
the country. He was buried in the cemetery in Ashland on Thursday, March 28, 1872.
JOHN SCOTT
was born in Washington county, Pennsylvania, in the year 1793. He continued to reside in that
county until he was about twenty six years of age. He attended the neighborhood schools until he
had obtained a fair knowledge of the English branches. His father was a farmer, and had located
in the wilds of Washington county after the close of the Revolution, and was of Scotch-Irish
extraction. Mr. Scott grew up an active, robust, and intelligent young man, and evinced an
inclination to locate amid the forests of the Ohio country, as this State was then called.
In October, 1818, he married Miss Matilda Weakley, of Cumberland county, Pennsylvania, and
in the spring of 1819 removed to the west part of Vermillion township, Richland (now Ashland,)
county, to the land now known as the Joshua Campbell farm, where he purchased some two
hundred and twenty acres, erected a cabin, and commenced the arduous task of cutting away the
forest to prepare fields for cultivation, and his future home. When he arrived the settlements in
Vermillion were very sparse. When a cabin was to be erected, it required a circuit of many miles
to procure hands sufficient to accomplish the task. When he commenced his pioneer home, it is
believed that Peter and John Vangilder, Joseph Strickland and his sons, William S, and Joseph,
William Reed, Mr. Harlan, Mr. Lattimer, George Eckley, Ezra Warner, Ephraim Eckley, Mr.
Crabb, Mr. Beabout, Mr. Beck, Mr. Wallace, and a few others, were the only residents of the
township. These families were very much scattered, and the only intercourse was in assisting
each other in preparing cabins, rolling logs and the like. Mr. Scott continued active operations as
a pioneer farmer about twelve years, and then located at Hayes' Cross Roads, where the town of
Hayesville now stands, in the winter of 1831, and opened a small store. The store-room was in a
log cabin on what is known as Armstrong's corner, He subsequently erected a more substantial
building, and entered into partnership with Mr. Daniel Porter, in the dry goods business: The new
firm was remarkably prosperous, and did an active trade for that day.
Mr. Scott was a quiet, clear-headed, far-seeing man, and gave his energies full scope. A want of
suitable markets for the surplus products of the pioneer farmers greatly embarrassed them. Mr,
Scott became convinced that he could greatly relieve these embarrassments by purchasing the
surplus cattle and horses, and driving them to a suitable market. He enteredlargely into that
enterprise, and by his promptness, fidelity and shrewd management, not only relieved the
farmers—to their profit of such stock, but greatly benefitted the firm. At a subsequent date, when
Pittsburgh, Portland (now Sandusky City), Cleveland and Milan were the only markets for the
surplus wheat of the township, which had to be hauled over rough roads at great expense, Mr.
Scott came to the rescue of the farmers by erecting a mill in 1847, and converting a large quantity
of wheat annually into first-class flour. In this, as in all other enterprises, fortune favored the
brave, He continued in trade and the mercantile business about thirty years. . In the meantime he
sold his Armstrong corner to Jacob Kinnaman and purchased, in 1840, what is known as the
Francis Graham brick building on the opposite corner south, and continued in business until
1846, when he sold to Messrs. Cox & Hig bee, and practically retired from active mercantile
business. In 1857 his son Weakley W, entered into business at the old stand and continued
several years. Mr. Scott died in 1864, aged seventy-two years, and was buried on a beautiful
Indian mound within the corporation of Hayesville, where Mrs. Scott and other members of the
family were subsequently interred. Mr. Scott was a large man, full six feet high and of fine
appearance. He was calm and dignified in his deportment. He was noted for his business
integrity, good judgment, prudence and shrewdness. Very few men have accomplished as much,
and none have distributed more benefits in this county. While he regarded business as a business
man, and insisted upon promptness and integrity at all times, he was sympathetic and charitable
to a remarkable degree; and while in business never distressed the poor. This excellent trait was
rewarded by great fidelity on the part of those whom he befriended, so much so that he was
accustomed to state "he rarely lost a cent by trusting a poor man."
Mr. Scott left three sons and one daughter at his decease—Mr. W. W. Scott, who resides near
Hayesville, John Scott, a lawyer, who resides and practices his profession in Cleveland, Dr,
David Scott, who married the only daughter of Governor Allen, and who resides at Fruit Hill,
near the city of Chillicothe, and Miss Sidney Scott, of Hayesville.
William Scott, a brother of John, sr., emigrated to Vermillion township in 1822, and resided on
what is known as the Michael Helbert farm. He married Miss Edwards, of Mifflin, and died in
1854, aged sixty years. He was distinguished among the pioneers as a fine marksman and a very
successful hunter. Many anecdotes arc related concerning his adventures.
JOHN BRYTE
was born in Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, July 20, 1800. Michael Bryte, his father,
removed to Jefferson county, Ohio, in 1807, The family consisted of three boys, John, Nathaniel
and David, and three girls. In 1815, Michael Bryte died. John, after the decease
156 - HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO.
of his father, returned to the Forks of the Youghiogheny, where he remained nearly four years,
attending a district school in the winter, and laboring in the summer season. In 1819 he
accompanied Mr. Nathaniel Bailey, a relative, to Clearcreek township, walking all the way from
the "Yoh." On the route he passed through New Lisbon, Canton and Wooster, then new villages.
Mr. Bailey had located in 1817, and Mr. Bryte, for a time, made the house of Mr. Bailey his
home. When he entered the township the names of those who preceded him were : Nathaniel
Bailey, Abraham Huffman, Daniel Huffman, David and James Burns, Abraham Clayburg, Jacob
Foulks, Richard Freeborn, John and Thomas Henney, Abel Bailey, John Bailey, Thomas Ford,
Elias Ford, John McWilliams, John Aten, Robert McBeth, and possibly a few others. At that
period a great many Delaware Indians made annual visits in the spring and fall of the year to
make sugar and hunt deer, which were quite numerous along the Black and Vermillion rivers and
the branches of Mohican. They often encamped in different parts of the township, but were
harmless and never interfered with their white neighbors, In these excursions the hunters were
often accompanied by Thomas Lyons and Isaac George, two rather noted old Indians. Mr. Bryte
frequently met the eccentric, but inoffensive, Johnny Appleseed, alias John Chapman, as he
meandered over the country planting appleseeds and cultivating nurseries. Mr. Bryte was the
second clerk of Clearcreek township, and held the office eleven years, the township having been
organized in 1820. He was also trustee a number of times, and was a warm friend of the common
school system at all times, being one of the earliest teachers in the township. He was a man of
benevolent feelings, and in 1856 was appointed trustee of the Central Ohio lunatic asylum at
Columbus, by Governor S. P. Chase, and continued in that position . until 1862. In 1820 he
became an active member of the Baptist church, near Ashland, and in 1835, united with the
Christian church, and has been one of its speakers nearly forty years, and has adorned his
profession by an upright life.
In 1824 he married Miss Elizabeth Ford, daughter of Thomas Ford, and in 1826 purchased a part
of the farm —section twenty-six, on which he deceased. On this land he found an ancient
earthwork containing over three acres. It is now nearly obliterated from long cultivation with the
plow.
In 1874, Mr. and Mrs. Bryte celebrated the fiftieth anniversary of their wedded life, having all
their children and friends present. In August, 1874, he went to California with his son Michael,
who for many years had been a resident of that State. He returned in the fall, and until his decease
loved to dwell upon what he saw and learned during his visit to the Pacific. He related the scenes
and incidents of his journey in a manner so entertaining and earnest, that he never failed to
deeply interest all who heard him. At the organization of the pioneer and historical society of
Ashland county, on the tenth of September, 1875, Mr. Bryte presided as the first temporary
president, and became an active member of the association. During the summer his general
health began to fail, and he was confined to his room for some time. He again rallied, and hopes
were expressed that he might be spared many more years; but he was again seized by sickness.
He died of pneumonia, on Saturday evening, February 17, and was buried at Brute's church, in
Clearcreek township, on Monday, February 19, 1877. In his death Clearcreek lost a valuable
citizen, and society an influential and exemplary member. Mr. Bryte was noted for his strong
common sense, his integrity and love of truth and fairness between man and man. The pioneer
society misses him very much, because he possessed an extraordinary memory, and remembered
the history of his township very clearly. The obituary committee of the society adopted the usual
resolutions concerning his decease.
HUGH BURNS
was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, January 20, 1810, and emigrated with his parents to
Milton township, Richland (now Ashland) county, Ohio, in 182o, and settled on what is now
known as the Kelley farm. In the fall of the same year Andrew Burns, sr., father of Hugh, built a
cabin on what is now known as the John Huzlet farm, then owned by his brother, Barnabas
Burns, and resided in it until 1821, when he moved to a cabin near the present site of Yeaman's
mill, in Mifflin township, where the family remained until 1823, and then located on the Richard
Woodhouse farm in Milton. In 1829 Mr. Burns, father of Hugh, purchased what is now known as
the Burns' farm, near the schoolhouse of that name in the west part of Milton township, where he
resided until his death in 1857, at the age of seventy-seven years. He was born in Donegal,
Ireland, and was a devout Catholic. He came to Philadelphia in 1801, and about 1812 located in
Lancaster county, Pennsylvania. In 1820 he removed to Ohio. He had three sons, Hugh, Andrew,
and Barnabas, and two daughters, Margaret and Sarah. Mrs, Burns died in 1851, aged
seventy-five years.
Hugh attended the schools of the neighborhood, and obtained a fair knowledge of the English
branches, and at an early day commenced his career as a teacher, While a young man he was
elected township clerk, and the records show a very neat journal was made by him, At the
organization of Ashland county in 1846, he was selected as county auditor, a position he held
until 1851. He made an efficient, industrious and conscientious officer, and was much respected
for his integrity and personal worth. At the expiration of his term of office he opened a dry goods
store in Ashland ; but the enterprise proved unfortunate, and he failed in business, losing pretty
much all the capital he had invested, He then recommenced the life of a farmer, which seems
most congenial to his nature, He purchased the west half of what is known as the Nicholas Rutan
farm, near his old home in Milton, to which he removed in 1867. During his residence in
Ashland he took an active in-
HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO - 157
terest in the public schools, and was repeatedly a member of the board of education.
When a young man he became a member of the Baptist church of Windsor, and in 1846 joined
the Disciple church of Ashland, of which he remained a member until 1867, when he was
transferred to the Clearcreek Disciple church, of which he is now an active member. Mr. Burns is
regarded as an exemplary, high-toned and conscientious Christian.
When he arrived in Milton, in 1820, he recollects the following pioneers had preceded his father :
Frederick Sulcer, James Kelley, James Andrews, Amos and Samuel Hilburn, Peter Lance,
William Dickey, James Crawford, John Kent, Robert Andrews, Robert Nelson, and a few others.
The first mill he attended was Reynold's near Windsor. In 1821 he attended Newman's mill to
obtain grists, The first preachers, Presbyterian, were Robert Lee and Mr. Matthews ; and of the
Methodists, Mr. Haney and Mr. Hazard; and of the Baptists, Mr. Jones say from 1820 to 1825.
ANDREW MASON
was born in Fayette county, Pennsylvania, February 4, 1801. His father, Martin Mason, emigrated
with his family to Columbiana county in 1804. In August, 1814, in company with his brother
Jacob, Jacob Crouse, Jacob Young, Martin Hester, Lot Tod, and Peter Biddinger, Martin Mason
visited Orange township, then in Richland county, and put up six cabins. Jacob Mason was
accompanied by his family, and boarded the above mentioned pioneers while engaged in erecting
the cabins. In addition to his household goods, Jacob Mason brought a team and three cows.
Upon the completion of their cabins, they returned to Columbiana county, and, in October,
Martin Mason, Jacob Young, Jacob Crouse, Joseph Bishop, and Peter Biddinger, in wagons,
suitably covered, removed with their families, household goods and their cattle, to their cabin
homes in the forests of Orange and Montgomery townships. The little colony was composed of
thirty-one persons, including women and children. The heads of families were all originally from
western Pennsylvania. They followed Beall's trail, from four miles west of New Lisbon, through
the village of Wooster, to the present site of Jeromeville, where they encamped on what is now
the Samuel Naylor farm. From thence they cut a path on the east side of the stream to the
residence of John Carr, in Montgomery township; and thence in a northwest direction across the
present farm of Andrew Mason, to Young's bridge, on the Orange road, where they struck the old
Indian trail, which they followed to the present site of Leidigh's mill. For a short time Mr. Mason
located on what is now known as the Shopbell farm, and, in 1815, at the site of' Leidigh's. The
residences of Messrs. Crouse, Bishop, Young, and Biddinger, are well known,
At that period the new settlers were compelled to traverse the forest paths to Stibbs' mill, one
mile east of Wooster, to obtain a supply of flour and meal, or use hominy blocks or hand-mills.
During the winter of 1814-15, which was remarkably severe, the new settlers were nearly
destitute of meat, and had to depend on the unerring rifle or friendly Indians for a supply of wild
meat. Their cabins were imperfect, having puncheon floors, Open chimney places and clapboard
doors. Their bedsteads were made of poles fastened in the walls, and covered with clapboards,
upon which their straw beds rested. The wheat and corn used was purchased mostly at New
Lisbon and carried on pack-horses to Stibbs', to be converted into floor and meal, and again
packed to the settlement in Orange.
In the fall of 1815. Martin Mason commenced the erection of a small grist-mill, which was
completed in March, 1816. It had niggerhead or bowlder stones, and was quite an
accommodation to the settlers. It was the second mill erected in this part of the county, Mr. Oram
having completed a small mill one and one-half miles northeast of the present site of Ashland, a
short time before, on the modern site of Ritter's mill.
Martin Mason died August 14, 1860, aged eighty-two years. . He then resided in Richland
county. His family consisted of John, Andrew, Margaret, Mary, Martin, and Anna. Andrew and
Martin reside in Montgomery township, and are farmers. Andrew is a gentleman of good
memory, and possesses a fair English education, having attended school in the log cabins of
Orange township nearly sixty years ago. He retains a vivid recollection of pioneer life and its
hardships, and we have drawn liberally from his stores of experience in other chapters of these
sketches. As a farmer he has been successful, and possesses a fine homestead some two and
one-half miles northeast of Ashland. He has served efficiently as a justice of the peace for
Montgomery, and became a member of the Ashland county pioneer society organized on the
tenth of September, 1875. He has been an active member of the Methodist Episcopal church for
many years, and adorned his profession by an upright walk. The members of his family mostly
reside within Ashland county. At this time (1879), Mr. Mason and his wife are in excellent
health, and may survive to an advanced age.* They entered the forests of this region and have
seen them leveled and the country dolted with thousands of happy homes,
MRS, ELIZABETH MASON.
Mrs. Mason, who was a daughter of Valentine 'leaner was born in Huntingdon county,
Pennsylvania, March 19, 1807. Having relatives in Orange township, then Richland, but now of
Ashland county, she came, when a young lady, on a visit to that region with Mr. Snider and wife,
formerly of Pennsylvania. Her sister, Mrs. Barbara Rowland, had comc to Orange some years
prior to her trip, and not having good health, became very lonesome in that region, then
comparatively an unsettled forest. The object was to aid her sister in recovering her health and
contentment. The new settlers of
* His wife died in the spring of 1880. See biography.
158 - HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO.
that day were compelled to endure many hardships and privations in order to prepare homes.
Christian Rowland and lady finally became residents of Uniontown, now Ashland, where they
died about 1832, and are well remembered by old citizens of Ashland. During her residence with
Mrs. Rowland, Elizabeth became acquainted with Andrew Mason, and in 1824 they were
married, and she never returned to her native country to live. It is proper to note, as a pioneer
reminiscence, that Mr. and Mrs. Mason were married by Rev. James Haney, who was the first
Methodist preacher in this county, whose son, John Haney, was the proprietor of Haneytown, but
now the village of Savannah, in Clearcreek township, in this county. Mr. and Mrs. Mason lived
together as man and wife fifty-five years, three months and twenty-five days. She went through
many hardships, having gone over the period since 1824 in which great changes have occurred in
the wild regions of Richland, but now Ashland county. Cabins and forests were then found in all
parts of the county. After a long struggle and enduring many hardships the first settlers succeeded
in taming the wilds of the native woods, and now reside in comfortable homes, surrounded by
desirable improvements, and the abundance furnished by rich lands, industry and genial climate
to reward the industry, economy and frugal habits, for which the pioneers of this county are
noted. Mrs. Mason passed through all these scenes a cheerful, industrious Christian lady, and like
her husband, long an exemplary member of the church of her choice. At a pioneer meeting on
their premises, in 1879, in which many of their neighbors joined, Mrs. Mason prepared, in the
ancient way, a lot of corn bread, which was regarded quite a treat. She seemed much interested in
the exercises of the pioneers, and became a member of the county society at that time. The
pioneers are passing rapidly to that bourne from whence no traveler returns. As the gray-haired
patriarchs are called to bid adieu to earth, we trust they may be found fully prepared for that great
change, and welcomed to that rest prepared in that better country for all the good. Mrs. Mason
was buried on Sunday, March 21st, in the Orange cemetery. Her remains were conducted to their
last resting place by about seventy carriages which formed the procession, followed by relatives,
neighbors and friends, making eight or nine hundred people present. The funeral discourse was
preached by Rev. P. Roseberry from II Corinthians v, 1, assisted by Rev. A. Lyon, presiding elder
of the Methodist church.
Mrs. Mason was the mother of thirteen children, six of whom preceded her to the better land. She
had twenty-eight grandchildren, one of whom had passed over the river of death before her
departure. She had four great-grandchildren. She had been a Christian and a motherly pioneer,
and an affectionate wife for over half a century, and we trust has found the reward of every
Christian and faithful wife.
One evening she asked the friends to sing "Home of the Soul," and "I am so glad that Jesus loves
me." She then broke out in joyous straips " I am so glad that Jesus loves me." In a vision or
dream she said she saw her little grandchild in the spirit land; she was very happy, and sent word
to her parents to not mourn (or her.
MEMORIAL.
Two more hands are gently folded
On a faithful, silent breast;
Two more feet have ceased to journey
Through life's howling wilderness;
One more bead is freed from aching,
One more heart has ceased to beat,
One more soul has left its casket--
Gone to Heaven's safe retreat.
One dear face no more appearing
When the breakfast table's spread;
One less kneeling at the altar
When the evening prayers are said;
One more husband sad and lonely,
One more family motherless,
One more singing hallelujah,
In the regions of the blest.
Six dear, sainted little spirits
Opened wide the golden gate,
When they saw their mother coming
To enjoy their happy state.
Still the blissful chorus singing,
Angels shout it loud and long,
"Welcome, welcome sainted mother,
Welcome to this happy throng."
O, cheer up, dear father Mason,
Soon your journey will be o'er,
Then you'll meet your dear companion
Where sad partings are no more.
Children, serve your mother's Saviour;
Heed your mother's dying prayer
May the family reunited,
Dwell forever with her there.
--MRS. S. Z. KAUFFMAN.
Nova, Ashland county, March 22, 1880
PETER THOMAS
was born in Somerset county, Pennsylvania, July 9, 1798, His father, George Thomas, emigrated
with his family, to Harrison county, in the spring of 1807. In 1815 Peter Thomas, then sixteen
years of age, traveled on foot, accompanied by the family watch-dog, a large and faithful mastiff,
along a new path leading from Cadiz to the village of Wooster, and rested one night at Stibbs'
mill. The next night he reached the cabin of John Raver, near the present site of Rowsburgh. The
following morning he pursued his journey by paths until he struck Beall's trail, at Jerome's place,
and thence along a blazed path partly opened, to Beam's mill, three miles below Mansfield, on
the Rocky fork of Mohican. Jacob Beam, the owner of the mill, was an uncle. He 'remained a few
weeks, and returned. In 1817, his father's family came on and erected a cabin on the present site
of Mifflin, believed to have been the first shingled house in the township of Mifflin, When the
tide of emigration commenced, after the close of the war, the road from Mansfield to Wooster,
passed through Peters- burgh, as the village was then called, and it became the principal route to
Richland and other western counties for emigration. Mr. George Thomas, father of Peter, kept
the first house of entertainment, which was well
HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO - 159
patronized for six or eight years. In 1823, George Thomas and family located on a farm now
owned by Josiah Thomas, in Orange township. Peter Thomas purchased two hundred acres
adjoining the homestead, in Montgomery township, and resided upon it until about 1860, when
he removed to a new residence, one and a half miles northeast of Ashland, where he deceased,
February 26, 1876. He was conscious of the approaching termination of his life, and was in the
act of dictating a codicil to a will, when he became faint, and expired in a few moments, from
paralysis of the heart. He had been three times married, and left a large and reputable family to
mourn his loss. He had been a member to the Disciple church for a number of years, and adorned
his profession by an upright and exemplary life. As a citizen, he was highly respected. He was a
man of uncommon resolution and firmness when he had deliberately formed an opinion. He was
high-toned and exact in all his transactions with men, and inflexibly opposed to every species of
prevarication in morals, business and politics, He was never an office- seeker, but was always the
advocate of a pure, economical and patriotic administration of the government.* He was a
careful, frugal, and shrewd business man, and had acquired a handsome property. Few men have
taken a deeper interest in the prosperity of the county, and none will be more lamented.
DANIEL CARTER, JR.,
was born in Butler county, Pennsylvania, May 23, 1802. He emigrated, with his father's family,
in March, 1806, to Stark county, Ohio, where he resided until February 12, 1812, and then
removed, by way of Jerome's Place, now Jeromeville, where they remained a few days at the
cabin of the late John Carr- until Daniel Carter, sr., erected a cabin in Montgomery township,
half a mile northeast of the present site of Ashland.
Daniel Carter, sr., had entered at the land office in Canton three hundred and twenty acres of land
in Montgomery, constituting the present lands of Peter Thomas, and what was recently known as
the John Mason farm. The cabin was a frail affair. It resembled a camp house---was open at one
end and made of poles and covered with clapboards. He moved into it in February, 1812. The
family began active work on a clearing for corn, and got along quietly, being occasionally visited
by Indians, until after Hull's surrender at Detroit, on the sixteenth of August. About this time
several families quartered for a short time at the cabin of Robert Newell, in the lower part of
Montgomery, recently known as the Hugh McGuire place. When General Harrison moved his
army to the northwest, these families, Frys, Tridrels, Cuppys and Carters, returned to their cabins.
In September, after the murders on the
* He was often elected school director, and was township trustee sixteen or eighteen times, but
was always nominated and pressed into the service, against nis own wishes.
Black fork, most of these families fled to the blockhouse at Jerome's place.
Mr. Daniel Carter, sr., as has been elsewhere stated, took his family to Harrison county, and
remained for some time at the cabin of a friend, Mr. William Rhodes, about four miles from New
Philadelphia. In February, 1813, he returned to his cabin and remained until the fifth of March,
when he received news of the Colyer excitement near Tylertown, a son of John Carr bringing him
news of the appearance of Indians, when he fled with his family to the block-house at Jerome's
Place, and remained there until the spring of 1814.
Daniel Carter, jr., retains a vivid recollection of the. incidents of block-house life. His father, in
the spring of 1814, purchased at Canton the farm upon which David Carter now resides, and
removed to it.
The settlers, for several years in Montgomery, were very much scattered. The schools were
indifferent, and the youth of that era were deprived of educational opportunities, except in the
primary branches. Mr. Carter says he never attended school over three months. He grew up
among the pioneers, attending cabin raisings, log rollings and other pioneer gatherings. He
purchased one hundred and sixty acres of land on section sixteen, built a cabin and improved his
farm. The farm had been entered by William Drumm. In 1829 he married Miss Elizabeth,
daughter of Elias Slocum. His family consisted of two daughters—Amanda, wife of William M.
Patterson, of Cleveland, Ohio, and Anna A., wife of Hon. William B. Allison, now a senator of
the United States, from Iowa. Mr. Carter sold his farm in 1864, and now resides in Ashland. In
1850 he made a trip to California via. Panama, and remained about three and a half years. He
never sought political promotion, but in sentiment was a Whig until that party disbanded, when
he became a Republican, and still adheres to the principles of that party.
ISAAC GATES
Peter Gates was born in New Jersey, in 1778, of German descent, and emigrated to Washington
county, Pennsylvania, in 1801, and married Sarah Spech in 1803. He removed to Mifflin
township, Richland county, in 1830, and deceased in 186r, • aged eighty-three years. His family
consisted of Martin, Jacob, John, Isaac, Elizabeth, Eunice, Margaret, and Sarah. He was twice
married, his second wife being Elizabeth, sister of Samuel Lewis, of Mifflin.
Isaac Gates, fourth son of Peter, was born near Hillsborough, Washington county, Pennsylvania,
September 15, 1815. In 1830 he accompanied his father's family to Richland county, Ohio. Here
he grew to manhood, attending the common schools of the neighborhood in the winter season,
and labored on a farm, in the summer. His father's family being in moderate circumstances, he
was compelled to labor at wages to procure clothing and education, tile schools at that period
being sustained by individual subscriptions. In 1839 he was elected con-
160 - HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO.
stable of Mifflin township, and was re-elected five times successively. In November, 1834, he
married Susan Newcomer, daughter of Christian Newcomer, who was subsequently
commissioner of Ashland county. Mr. Gates moved to the village of Mifflin, where, in 1842, he
was elected justice of the peace, and twice re-elected. In 1848 he was elected sheriff, and
re-elected in 1850. In 1852 he was elected auditor, and re-elected in 1854. In 1862 he was again
elected auditor, and re-elected in 1864. He now resides in Ashland. Since the expiration of his
second term, as auditor he has followed the business of a public salesman or auctioneer. He has
been an active member of the Lutheran church since 1847, and, much of the time, a deacon or
elder. His family consists of Sarah J., Halstead, Margaret, deceased, Fannie E., Nelson, William
H., Christian N., Reuben H., Arminda, Elizabeth, Frank and Martin L.
JOSEPH HARVUOT
was born in Chester county, Pennsylvania, in 1792. In 1818 he married Lydia Bruce, and
removed to Clearcreek, Richland county, Ohio, in the spring of 1820, and located on section
twenty-five, where he resided until his decease in 1843. He was a member of the Disciple church,
and an elder. His family, at his decease, consisted of Isaac, Anne, Richard, Elizabeth, Lewis,
Sarah, Joseph, and Mary, by his first wife, and William, by his second wife, having been twice
married. The only member of the family left in Clearcreek is Isaac. Isaac is a dealer in money,
and is accumulating a fortune. He is married, and resides in Savannah.
LEWIS OLIVER.
In the early settlement of the south part of this county, the pioneers were considerably
embarrassed for a market for their surplus grain and siother farm products. The ports on Lake
Erie, Pittsburgh, and New Orleans were the principal markets. To reach the lake by teams, over
the rough, new-cut roads, was toilsome and difficult, as well as quite expensive; while wheat,
flour, and corn commanded a low price. In consequence of the inferior markets on the lake, at
Zanesville and Pittsburgh several enterprising pioneers had boats constructed, which were loaded
and conveyed to New Orleans.
In the spring of 1823, Lewis Oliver and John Davis, of Green township, purchased of Nathan
Dehaven, a flat-bottomed boat, which had been built at the mouth of Honey creek on the Black
fork, by Mr. Dehaven, near the modern site of his saw-mill. The boat was fifty-five feet long and
fifteen feet wide, with rounded bows and a steering apparatus, and cabin. It was so covered as to
protect its lading. This boat was conveyed up the Black fork to near the residence of Mr. Oliver,
where it was partly loaded with wheat, flour, pork, whiskey, and chickens.
About the sixteenth of March, the new vessel passed slowly down the Black fork to l)ehaven's,
and the Loudonville mills, where a large amount of sawed cherry lumber and other articles were
placed on board, to be conveyed to a southern market. The Black fork was a slow, tortuous
stream, though the water was quite deep. Navigation was considerably impeded in consequence
of the lodgment of driftwood in its winding course to the Walhonding. These difficulties were
overcome by moving slowly and guarding the boat against accident.
The crew of the boat consisted of Lewis Oliver and John Davis, proprietors, and Amos Harbaugh
and Timothy Wilson, as hands. On the seventeenth, "all hands aboard," the boat was floated
leisurely down the Black fork to its junction with the Lake fork; then down the Walhonding to its
junction with the Tuscarawas at the town of Coshocton; thence down the Muskingum to the city
of Zanesville. There were on board, two skiffs, so that if the boat should be snagged, or otherwise
injured by driftwood, the proprietors and hands could have means of escape, When the stream
was sluggish and current slow, the boat was urged forward by setting- poles.
Upon their arrival at Zanesville, a formidable obstacle to their further advance was presented.
The dam across the Muskingum at that place, was difficult to pass. It was seen at a glance, that it
would require an experienced pilot to conduct the boat over it in safety. Mr. Oliver went ashore
to procure the services of a suitable guide, An individual representing the craft, presented himself
and offered to conduct the boat safely over the dam. On being asked his price for the job, he
blandly informed Mr. Oliver it would be cheap at ten dollars, Mr. Oliver thought the charge
rather extravagant. The valorous Pot feeling certain that he would ultimately get the job, declined
to take a cent less.
Here was a quandary. Mr. Oliver returned to the boat and reported the result of his mission. After
some consultation, Mr. Davis concluded they could conduct the craft over the dam without the
aid of a professional pilot. By this time a large crowd of spectators had asembled on the river
bank to see the fun. The fall over the dam was about ten feet, and the current was very rapid.
Some fifteen or twenty rods below the dam, the Buckingham bridge, since the bridge of the
national turnpike, supported by large stone piers, spanned the Muskingum river. if the boat
moved straight forward, it would pitch upon its prow and be crushed or capsized; and if it
escaped such a disaster, might strike a pier.
In this crisis Jersey wit and ingenuity triumphed. Mr. Oliver placed himself as steersman, at the
stern, while Mr. Davis and the hands, by united efforts, swung the boat around so that it would
pass obliquely over the dam, and strike and rise on the rolling current below, without stoving or
capsizing. They held its course steadily, until it reached the dam, when it shot over like an arrow,
rose and floated on the current, and narrowly escaped the pier. At this achievement, the large
assemblage on shore, gave a tremendous shout, and declared a " Jersey Yankee," was equal to
any emergency, and capable of any daring.
HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO - 161
The boat floated slowly down to Duncan's falls, nine miles below Zanesville, where it was again
compelled to encounter new dangers. They were less formidable, however, than the darn over
which the boat had just passed. A point where the channel was deepest, was selected, and the
little vessel cleared the falls in safety, and moved onward to Marietta, and entered the Ohio river.
The hills and bluffs along its banks, covered with pine and other timber, rendered the voyage
novel and interesting. The buds of the trees were just opening into leaf, and the banks of the river
were lined with spring vegetation and flowers. Thus they glided toward the far south, where they
were to find new and strange scenery.
They passed Cincinnati, now the queen city of the west. How great has been the growth of that
beautiful city since 1823 ! Its markets were then easily glutted. Messrs. Oliver and Davis were
compelled to go further south to dispose of their produce. Their little boat was shoved from the
wharf into the main current of the Ohio, where it moved rapidly toward the falls at Louisville. On
their way they overtook a stranded emigrant boat which was unable to move, in consequence of
the drift-wood. There were several families, with their goods on it, en route to southern Illinois
and Iowa. Seeing the situation, the owners of the boat from the Black fork volunteed their aid to
relieve the emigrants.
On arriving at the falls, the boat passed through without accident, and the light-hearted owners
pushed onward to the Mississippi, and down its dark-rolling current to New Orleans, the great
southern market of that period. Here they found a ready market for their cherry lumber, at two
dollars and twenty-five cents per hundred feet, and thirty-seven and one-half cents per gallon for
their whiskey—a better article than now sells for five dollars per gallon in the same city. Times
change, men change, and prices necessarily fluctuate. Our country and its wealth are much more
potent now than they were fifty- two years ago, and hence a greater value is attached to
"fire-water." The pioneers are pretty generally of the opinion that the article manufactured fifty
years ago was much purer and less harmful in its effects than modern "fire-water."
Finding no demand for their wheat, flour, and pork, they concluded to transfer those articles to a
schooner and proceed to Richmond, Virginia, for a market. This transfer was made, and, as soon
as completed, the "wharf rats" of New Orleans captured and concealed the boat. It was never seen
again by its owners, About the first of April they sailed for Richmond. Their voyage was a
pleasant one. They coasted around to the Chesapeake bay, and passed up the James river to
Richmond. They arrived there about the seventeeth of April. The grand outline of the southern
coast, with its attractive scenery, was constantly under their gaze, and was the subject of many
remarks and much admiration. As they passed up the James river, the ancient homes of the
colonists frequently hove in view and excited comment. Along the banks of that now classic
stream, nearly three hundred years before, the colonists contended with the "fierce red man," for
a home.
On reaching the market, they obtained one dollar and thirty cents per bushel for their wheat, and
eight dollars per barrel for salt pork. These prices were such as would reward them fairly for their
toil and perseverance. They felt amply compensated.
After spending a few days in Richmond, they prepared for returning to the wilds of the Black
fork. They had separated from their hands at New Orleans. Their route, from Richmond, was
through Goochland, Louisa, and Albemarle counties, and over the Blue Ridge mountains to
Harrisonburgh, in Rockingham county; thence across the Great North mountain, to Moorefield,
in Hardy county; thence to the Old Fort Redstone, in Pennsylvania; thence to Wheeling, West
Virginia; thence by Zanesville, Newark, and Mount Vernon, to the Black fork, making a journey
of about nine hundred miles on foot. They met with no accident or incivility on their way, and
arrived at home about the first of July.
Mr. Oliver is now about eighty-seven years of age, is quite active, and in the possession of all his
faculties. He looks younger than many men of sixty-five. He informs me, that during the haying
season of 1874 he drove a team and rode on the mowing-machine several days, and felt none the
worse for it. Very few men, at his age, would think of performing any labor. He has always been
noted for his integrity, industry, and uprightness, and says "he feels better to keep moving." He
owns and resides upon the old homestead of his father, Allen Oliver, and has resided in the same
locality sixty-four years.
JAMES LOUDON PRIEST,
from Crawford county, Pennsylvania, settled on the banks of the Lake fork, in what was then
Wayne county, as early as 1810. At that period the Coshocton county line joined Wayne on the
south and included the county of Holmes. At the erection of Holmes county, in 1824, the part of
Lake township where Mr. Priest located became a part of Washington township, in Holmes
county; and at the erection of Ashland county, in 1846, another slice, on the east side of the
township, was annexed to Clinton township, Wayne county, leaving Lake one of the smallest
townships in Ashland county. Mr. Priest, with his family, located in the spring of the year, and by
the aid of Thomas Jelloway, and several other friendly Delaware Indians, put up a plain log cabin
and moved into it. His nearest neighbor was Alexander Finley, who had located six miles further
up the Lake fork, at a point now known as Tylertown, in 1809. Mr. Priest was indebted to Mr.
Finley for his seed corn for his first crop, and many other favors. His next neighbor was Nathan
Odell, who arrived in the spring of 1811, and located in that part of Lake township which is now
known as Clinton township, Wayne county.
James Loudon Priest died about 1822, at an advanced age.
162 - HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO.
WILLIAM GREENLEE.
In the spring of 1811 Mr. Greenlee visited James L. Priest,. a former neighbor, from Crawford
county, Pennsylvania. Mr. Greenlee came by the way of Harrison county to Zanesville, then a
new village, and up the banks of the Muskingum, the White-woman and the Lake fork on
horseback, He found but few settlers between Mr. Priest and Zanesville. He selected and located
a farm adjoining Mr. Priest, and returned for his family by the route he came. In October, 1811,
he and his family, consisting of his wife, six daughters, and one son, started for the forests of
Ohio. He had two teams, one with two and the other with four horses. The wagons were covered
with linen canvas, and contained such household goods and provisions as were deemed essential
to the comfort of a new settler. The route was through the village of Canton to what is now
Wooster, and thence to the Lake fork. The trail was so narrow that Mr. Greenlee was compelled
to widen it at many points before his teams could pass. His family slept in the wagons most of
the way, doing their cooking by the side of the trail, nights and mornings. The route was wild and
romantic, and it required some eight or ten days to complete the journey. He erected a plain log
cabin, by the aid of Mr. Priest and a few friendly Indians, and moved into it. He resided on this
farm until 1814, and sold it to Calvin Hibbard, father of Edward Hibbard, one of the first
commissioners of Ashland county. He then purchased where John Greenlee, his only son, now
resides. When he landed in Lake, there were but the families of J. L. Priest, Samuel Marvin,
William Hendrickson, Elijah Bolling and John Hendrickson, in what is now Washington
township, Holmes county. The next settlement was that of the Odells, which contained the
families of Joshua Oram, Thomas Oram, John Oram, and Mordecai Chilcote, near Odell's lake.
On the morning of the tenth of September, 1813, John Greenlee went in search of his father's
horses, which had strayed in the direction of Odell's lake. About the middle of the day, a heavy,
roaring sound was heard in the northwest, amid the forest. It resembled distant thunder, and he
feared a tremendous tornado was approaching, What excited his surprise was, the sky was clear
and cloudless, and the roaring seemed a phenomenon. In the afternoon he abandoned the search
and returned home, convinced that a great storm was approaching. His parents and others had
heard the same rumbling sound, and were unable to account for it. In a few days the little colony
learned the particulars of the victory achieved by Commodore Perry over Commodore Barclay
and the British fleet ; and this accounted for the mysterious rumbling of the l0th. The sound of
Perry's guns had been conveyed down the valleys, a distance of over seventy miles. It is related
that the heavy cannonading was heard at Cleveland, about the same distance. Mr. Greenlee is a
man of intelligence and unquestioned veracity, and relates the incident with minuteness and
patriotic pride.
William Greenlee died in 1854, aged about eighty-two years.
EBENEZER RICE
was born in Marlborough, Massachusetts, April 8, 1773. He was the eldest son of Samuel and
Abigail Underwood Rice. Samuel was born in Sudbury, in November, 1752, and was the son of
Gersham and Elizabeth Rice. Gersham was born in Sudbury, in June, 1703, and was the son of
Ephraim and Hannah Livermore Rice. Ephraim was born in Sudbury, in April, 1885, and was the
son of Thomas and Mary Rice. Thomas was born in 1811, and was the son of Edmund and
Tamazine Rice, who came from Barkhamstead, England, in 1838-9, and settled in Sudbury, and
lived and died there, on the beautiful old farm on the east side of Sudbury river, near the border
of the extensive meadows through which that river flows in its course to the Merrimac. The old
farm is now in the possession of the Hon. John Whitmore Rice.
Ebenezer Rice married Martha, daughter of Barnabas and Mary Clark Hammond, of New Salem,
Massachusetts. She was born in September, 1778, and they were married May 5, 1796, and
emigrated to Licking county, Ohio, from Essex county, New York, in the year 1810. The
following February they came to Richland county, and entered the farm upon which Alexander
Rice now resides, in Green township, Mr, Rice and his family experienced all the privations and
anxieties of pioneer life in their forest home. He cheerfully aided the new settlers in the erection
of cabins, at log-rollings and other gatherings. For several years the pioneers were mutually
dependent upon each other, and the social relations were largely cultivated. The forests were to
be cut away, farms to be opened, school-houses to be erected, and public highways to be
constructed. Mr. Rice took an active and leading part in all these enterprises, He was particularly
interested in the education of his children. He survived until 1821, His family, at his decease,
consisted of eleven children—four girls: Elizabeth, Martha, Harriet, and Abigail; and seven boys:
Ebenezer, Alexander, Clark, Orson, Reuben, Levi, and Samuel. Only four survive : Elizabeth,
wife of the late John Coulter; Martha, of Wisconsin; Alexander, of Green township, and Samuel,
of Iowa. The widow of Ebenezer Rice subsequently married Judge Thomas Coulter, and died in
September, 1835.
Alexander Rice was born in Massachusetts, in August, 1801, and emigrated with his parents to
Green township, in 1810, He grew up amid the wild and beautiful scenery of the hills and valleys
fringing the Black fork of the Mohican, and a neighbor to the red men of the village of
Greentown. His educational advantages at that early day, were extremely limited. Being a young
man of excellent sense, he acquired much information after reaching manhood. He is noted for
his practical ideas, and plainness of speech. He has resided about sixty-six years on the
homestead, and been continuously engaged in cultivating the soil.-
In 1828 he married Miss Sarah Johnson, of Vermillion township. Their children were—Rosella,
Rosina, Orson, Reuben H,, Isaac J., and Rosaline. Mrs.. Rice died in 1844. Miss Rosella is a lady
of talent and
HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO - 163
fine literary attainments, and has written a great deal for the eastern magazines.
Mr. Rice subsequently married Mary Vanscoyoc, by whom he had Russell B., Ida, Josephine, and
Ada Lenore.
Mr. Rice is yet in the full possession of all his faculties, and is quite vigorous for a man of his
age. He remembers very distinctly the early scenes in Green township--the excitement of
cabin-raisings, log-rollings, cutting roads and constructing corduroy bridges over marshes and
sloughs. He relates, with historic precision, the opening scenes of the war of 1812, the Indian
tragedies on the Black fork, the erecting of block-houses, and modes of life from 1812 to 1815.
When about nine years of age, his father, mother and a number of neighbors, were invited by the
Indians to attend a feast at their village. He accompanied the invited guests to witness the
performance. "There were between three and four hundred Indians present. The invited guests
were permitted to enter the council house, a building, perhaps thirty feet wide, and nearly sixty
feet long. In the center of the building was a mound of earth about three feet high and eight or ten
feet in diameter, Forks were driven into it and poles placed upon them. Upon these a number of
copper kettles were suspended, They contained bear's meat, venison and the like, which was
being boiled for distribution among the Indians and invited guests. The white and Indian boys
remained outside the building." While gazing at the performance within, a young Indian came up
behind young Rice, seized him around the arms and body and held him firmly. The alarm and
amazement of young Rice were very great. He states that his first sensation on being unable to
extricate himself, was that of despair. He thought he could almost feel his scalp disappearing. By
the intervention of a squaw he escaped the grasp of the young savage, to the relief of his fears.
Although this scene occurred sixty-four years ago he says he retains a most vivid recollection of
his sensations on that occasion. Subsequently he became well acquainted with the Armstrong
boys, young Pipe, a son of old Captain Pipe, Jonacake, Lyons, Dowdee and other Green- town
Indians.
Mr. Rice possesses a most extraordionary memory for dates, and the author of these pages is
indebted to him for many valuable reminiscences of the early settlements of Green township. Mr.
Rice is yet (1880) residing on his homestead near Perrysville, aged nearly eighty years, and
retains all his mental faculties and much physical vigor.
THE TANNEHILLS.
Melzer Tannehill, sr., was born in Frederick county, Maryland, July 12, 1716. He emigrated to
what is now Allegheny county, Pennsylvania, and located near Pittsburgh in the year 1777,
during the Revolutionary war. He married Miss Eleanor Lile, March 23, 1790. He emigrated to
Jefferson county, Ohio, in 1805, and in September, 1811, removed to Green township, in what is
now Ashland county, and located on section twenty- three, where he resided over fifty years. He
was one of the first commissioners of Richland county in 1813. In 1812 he was assessor of Knox
county. He was subsequently a justice of the peace for Green township. During the exciting
scenes of 1812, after the assassinations on the Black fork, he took a vigilant part in preparing to
repel any future assaults by the savages. He deceased April 24, 1851. He was an exemplary and
upright man, and had been a regular attendant upon the services of the Presbyterian church for
many years. His family consisted of five sons and five daughters. Two sons and three daughters
yet survive.
Charles Tannehill was born in Allegheny county, Pennsylvania, January 30, 1792. He emigrated
with his father's family in 1811, and assisted in improving the homestead in Green township.
During the border troubles of 1812, he served as a soldier in a company recruited in Knox
county, Ohio, by Captain Greer, and participated in all the dangers incident to border life. In
June, 1814, he married Miss Mary, daughter of Allen Oliver, and located on section
twenty-seven, where he resided over fifty years. He died at the residence of his son-in-law, Mr.
Joseph Cathcart, in Portage county, Indiana, November 26, 1875, at the advanced age of
eighty-four years. His remains were brought to Perrysville for interment, and now rest beside
those of the wife of his youth, who had preceded him to the grave. He was a member of the
Disciple church. His family consisted of twelve children, nine sons and three daughters. Four
sons and two daughters survived him, Mr. Adamson Tannehill, the oldest son, resides in
Hicksville, Defiance county, Ohio. He was born July 1, 1815, and is the oldest living native of
Green township.
Melzer Tannehill, jr., second son of Melzer, sr., was born in Butler county, Pennsylvania, June
18, 1801, and removed with his father's family to Jefferson county, Ohio, and thence to Green
township in 1811, and assisted in improving the old homestead. He is now seventy-five years
old, and quite rugged. He writes a fair hand, and may survive many years. He is an influential
farmer, and takes a lively interest in the improvement of the county. His recollections of the days
of the pioneers are quite vivid. At the organization of the pioneer and historical society of
Ashland county in 1875, he communicated many interesting incidents, and became a member. He
says the following pioneers were citizens of Green township at the arrival of his father's family in
1811 : "George Pierce, John Davis, George and Abram Baughman, John Murphy, Joseph Jones,
Sylvester Fisher, Ebenezer Rice, Solomon Hill, Josiah L. Hill, Moses Adsit, Thomas Coulter,
Allen Oliver and Jeremiah Conine, and their families. In the fall of 1812, when the Indians
became hostile, the settlers erected strong cabins and block-houses for their protection. Some
three or four families having friends at Clinton, Knox county, removed there for greater safety.
There was no stampede, as some state. All the settlers, except the ones named, remained and
occupied their own places of defence."
164 - HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO.
ELIAS FORD
was born in Washington county, Pennsylvania, in 1799. He came with his father, Thomas Ford,
from Jefferson county, Ohio, to Clearcreek township, in 1819. His father had entered a quarter
section of land in section twenty-two. They journeyed in a small, one-horse wagon, in which they
brought the necessary provisions for their absence, and a few tools to erect a cabin. From
Wooster they passed along the path to the present site of Rowsburgh, thence along the old trail to
the house of Jacob Young, on the Mohican, northeast of Uniontown; thence, to. near Mason's
mill, and then, along a new cut road to section twenty-two, where they erected a temporary
shelter, somewhat in the form of a camp house, with open front, and covered with bark. Their
bunk upon which they slept was suspended by bark ropes from the roof and was about three feet
from the ground. The fire place was immediately in front of this open cabin and fire was kept
burning during the night to frighten away the wolves, and keep off the musquitoes. The wolves
were uncommonly numerous and mischievous. Rattlesnakes, and other varieties of reptiles, were
quite numerous. The bed being thus elevated secured the occupants from the reptiles. Mr. Ford
was accompanied by a large watch-dog, who slept at the open doorway in front of the cabin, to
alarm the occupants in case of intrusion or danger. Thomas and Elias Ford were well armed.
Elias slept in the cabin while his father made his home at Thomas McConnell's, a son-in-law, in
Orange township. At the time of the arrival of Mr. Ford and son, a large number of Delaware
Indians were encamped in the neighborhood, engaged in making sugar and hunting. They were
well armed but quite friendly. A strong attachment soon sprang up and continued until the close
of the hunting season. At this date many Wyandots and Delawares hunted annually along the
Vermillion river and in the vicinity of the Savannah lakes, and looked with suspicion upon the
intrusion of the white settlers. After a few weeks, Thomas Ford returned to Jefferson county and
removed with the balance of his family to Clearcreek. Elias had been engaged in clearing and
fencing a field for corn, and in the absence of a team, carried rails on his shoulders to place them
in a fence.
The family of Thomas Ford, at their arrival in 1819, consisted of four sons, Elias, Elijah, Thomas
H., and John; and four daughters, Elizabeth, Rebecca, Susannah, and Belinda. In the meantime a
larger and more commodious cabin had been erected by the aid of the scattered settlers. Elias,
subsequently, September 9, 1821, married Miss Elizabeth Parks, of Jefferson county, and located
on the late Daniel Huffneer farm, At this time there was neither a church nor school-house in the
township. The people assembled at the cabin of Thomas Ford, for public worship, for many
years. In 1830, Ford's meeting house was erected; it was a fine structure for that period, and was
occupied by the Methodists as a place of worship, Thomas Ford died October 10, 1830; his
funeral was preached by Rev. Elmer Yocum.
Elias Ford performed arduous labor in clearing and preparing his farm. For many years he
experienced all the privations of pioneer life, but by industry and frugality accumulated a
handsome property. Having disposed of his old homestead, he purchased a new home in 1845,
and subsequently, about 1865, sold it, and removed to Troy township, where he deceased in the
fall of 1874, aged about seventy-five years. Mr. Ford was a large man; would weigh about two
hundred pounds. He had a fine head, and bore a striking resemblance to Daniel Webster. If he
nad possessed the advantage of a thorough collegiate course of training, he would have left a
proud record. As it was, he was a leading man in his township, as a farmer and a citizen. He was
a man of high moral' attainments, and took a leading part in favor of the public schools. Thomas
H, Ford, a younger brother, served in the Mexican war as a captain, and subsequently became
lieutenant governor of Ohio. He was also a colonel in the war of 1881-5. He is dead. The balance
of the family are somewhat scattered.
JACOB LUCAS,
was born in Fayette county, Pennsylvania, June 27, 1805. He is of German descent. His father
was from Hessia, and came over in the British army during the American Revolution. He served
about three years, and upon learning that the colonists were not really cannibals, as asserted by
the British officers, deserted to the colonial side. At the close of the war he settled in Fayette
county, Pennsylvania, where he died in 1833, aged seventy-three years.
Jacob Lucas, his son, emigrated to Perry township, Wayne county, in 1832, with his family. He
served a time at the trade of a tanner, in Mt. Pleasant, Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, in
1821-3, and was among the first, of his craft in Perry township. He carried on business over forty
years, and retired in 1872. He is a leading member of the German Baptists or Dunkards. His
family consists of four sons, John, Albert, Joseph, and Hiram, and four daughters, Rebecca,
Elizabeth, Mary, and Lydia—all married.
JACOB HIFFNER, SR.,
was born in Hessia, Germany, in 1752, and when about sixteen years of age emigrated with his
father's family to the State of Maryland, and settled near the Pennsylvania line. In the fall of 1776
he volunteered to serve three years in the line of Maryland infantry in the American Revolution.
He marched with the Maryland troops to Trenton and Princeton, and participated in the battles of
December 27, 1776, and January 3, 1777. In the following August he was in the battle of
Bennington, and in September, the battle of Brandywine. He was at the surrender of, Burgoyne,
in October 1777. He fought in the battle of Monmouth, in June, 1778. From that period to the
close of his enlistment, he marched and countermarched with the army from point
HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO - 165
to point, participating in many skirmishes and hard fought battles. At the expiration of his
enlistment he returned to the residence of his father, where he remained nearly two years. The
long continuance of the contest was rapidly decimating the colonies of their able- bodied men. It
became necessary to force recruiting. A new draft was ordered and Mr. Hiffner's name was
drawn. Having seen hard service in the army, he was not inclined to renew his old toils, dangers
and sufferings. His father aided him in procuring a substitute, by the payment of such sum as was
demanded. At the close of the Revolution Mr. Hiffner removed to Huntingdon county,
Pennsylvania, where he remained until the fall of 1817, when he removed to Orange township,
Richland county, Ohio. At the time of his removal his family consisted of six sons, Jacob,
Frederick, Henry, John, David and Valentine, and four daughters, Elizabeth, Mary, Martha and
Catharine. Mr. Hiffner and his sons, several of whom were married and had families, were
accompanied by Jacob Ridenour, a son-in-law, and his family. The little colony was transported
through the wilderness, along trails and recently opened paths, by four four-horse teams, in
covered wagons, in which the families slept at night, during their long trip, cooking by the side of
the paths at the regular hours. They crossed the Ohio river at Steubenville, and passed, thence, by
narrow, muddy paths to New Philadelphia, to Wooster, and the present site of Rowsburgh, thence
along the old Indian trail and emigrant path, to Jacob Young's, in Orange, and thence through the
forest by new cut paths to section fourteen, where they erected small cabins within a short
distance of their present homes, and commenced to cut away the forests and prepare fields for
culture. When Mr. Hiffner and his sons and son-in-law landed, they found the following settlers,
who had preceded them one or two years: Rudy Brouderberry, Robert Wasson, Martin Hester,
Jacob Fast, Solomon Uric, Vachel Metcalf, Amos Norris, Jacob Young, Mordecai Chilcote,
Philip Fluke, and John Bishop, who subsequently married Elizabeth Hiffner*. Mr. Hiffner lived
to see his children all possess comfortable homes. He deceased November 23, 1848, aged
ninety-six years and two months, He was buried on a bluff of Mohican creek, in the family
cemetery, where many of his kindred sleep. May his rest never be disturbed by American
recreancy or a want of patriotic devotion to the institutions he helped inaugurate. The only
survivors of the large family are atharine, wife of Joseph, Bishop and David, aged (1876)
seventy-three years. Jacob Hiffner, the oldest of the family, served three months in the war of
1812 at Black Rock. He died, aged about eighty years. Henry died, aged seventy-two years.
Valentine died, aged sixty-six years.
* A short time. after the arrival of Mr. Hiffner, in the fall of 1817, Thomas Lyons, and sixteen or
seventeen Delaware Indians, visited his cabin and had a long talk on the history of the Delawares
in Pennsylvania, and the noted land-marks in that state, as well as the beautiful valleys of the
Wyoming. Old Tom was very civil and slept on a blanket in the cabin of Mr. Hiffner. It was the
custom of the Delawares for the following six or seven years to hunt and make sugar along the
streams in Orange and Jackson township.
JOHN TILTON
was born in Princeton, New Jersey, in 1760. He entered the army of the American Revolution
when he was sixteen years old, in 1778. He served in a regiment commanded by Colonel Klon.
He was in the battles of Princeton, January 3, 1777; Germantown, October 4, 1777; Monmouth,
June 28, 1778; Sander's Creek, August 18, 1780; Jamestown, July 9, 1781; at the surrender of
Lord Cornwallis, October 19, 1781, and in a number of heavy skirmishes and retreats. He was in
the service nearly five years, during which he experienced all the privations and hardships
incident to the Revolutionary war. At the expiration of his service he returned to New Jersey, and
married.
In 1787 he removed to Washington county, Pennsylvania. His family, at that time, consisted of
himself, his wife, and two children—Elizabeth and Ira.
In August, 1812, he removed to Stark county, Ohio. In 1814 he removed to Wayne county, where
he remained until May, 1831, when he located on section thirty-five, in Orange township,
Ashland county. He purchased the farm of Robert Crawford, upon which had been erected, by its
owner, a noted horse-mill of the pioneer period.
Mr. Tilton enlisted, for a tour of three months, in the brigade of Colonel Robert Crooks, in the
war of 1812, in the northwest, while residing in Stark county, and accompanied the Pennsylvania
troops, under General Robert Crooks, from Pittsburgh to Jerome's place and Mansfield, late in
the fall of 1812.
He possessed great bodily vigor, which he retained to an advanced age. He was inflexible in his
purposes, and retained a clear intellect until the time of his death. He expired, after a brief illness,
at his farm in Orange township, August 12, 1849, aged nearly ninety years. He was accompanied
to his final rest, in the cemetery at Orange, by volunteer military companies under the cornmand
of the late Colonel Alexander Miller, Major R. B. Fulkerson, and Captain John S. Fulton, and
hundreds of his old neighbors.
Mr. Tilton was regarded as an upright and valuable citizen. His services in the war of
Independence, and of 1812, with Great Britain, won for him the esteem of all his patriotic
neighbors.
Mrs. Tilton preceded him to the grave about four months, at the age of eighty-four years. The
family consisted of Elizabeth, Ira, Sarah, Amy, Phebe, Deborah, Aaron, and James A. Of these,
only two survive—Mrs. Phebe Camybell, aged eighty-five, and James Albert, aged sixty-five.
The latter resides on the old homestead, and is remarkable for his extraordinary physical force
and mental determination. He is a successful farmer and business man.
WILLIAM TAYLOR
was born in Bucks county, Pennsylvania, January 14, 1774. His father had emigrated from
Ireland two or three years before the commencement of the American
166 - HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO
Revolution. He removed, after the close of the war, into Huntingdon county, and subsequently
into Bedford county nea1 the iron works. Here William remained until manhood, and married. In
August, 1821, he emigrated, with his family, to Richland county, Ohio, landing at Mansfield. He
brought with him one five-horse, one four-horse, and one two-horse team. The large team was
loaded principally with axes, grubbing hoes, wedges, corn hoes and other necessary tools, and
one set of blacksmith tools, which were disposed of to the pioneers at a fair profit. His route was
by Pittsburgh, then along Cook's and Beall's trails to Wooster, and thence through Jeromeville,
Hayes' cross roads, Petersburgh, and to Mansfield along the old State road. In the fall of 1821, he
purchased four quarter sections of land adjoining what is now the Carey farm in Green township.
He improved this property, passing through all the struggles of pioneer life, and resided on it
until March 7, 1851, when he deceased. This homestead, in point of soil and location, was one of
the finest in the county. Mr. Taylor was twice married. His family consisted of eight
sons—William, Thomas, Levi, James, Alexander, David, John and Andrew, and one daughter,
Sarah, wife of Thomas McGuire, of Green. John has been repeatedly elected justice of the peace,
has served two terms in the Ohio legislature, and was elected probate judge in 1875.
The family are all deceased but Levi, James, David, John, Andrew and Mrs. McGuire.
ANDREW NEWMAN
was born in Rockingham county, Virginia, in 1778. He was of German descent, the original
name being Neumann. He emigrated to Richland, then Fairfield county, in 1806, and settled on
the Rocky fork of Mohican, in Mifflin township, about three and a half miles below the present
site of Mansfield. Here he was joined by Jacob Beam and other pioneers. When the war of 1812
was declared, and the border settlers menaced by the Indians on the Black fork and Jerome fork,
Mr. Newman assisted in the erection of a block-house, known as "Beam's," to which the settlers
fled for safety. At the time of the removal of the Green and Jerometown Indians, Mr. Newman
was engaged in building a saw-mill on the Rocky fork. In this work he was aided by William and
Richard Roberts, of Knox county: The night the Zimmers and Ruffner were slain by the Indians,
Mr. Newman fancied that the savages were in the vicinity of his cabin, for the reason that his big
dog kept up such a disturbance. The hands got their guns in readiness, expecting to be attacked
momentarily. Newman labored under unusual excitement, and in attempting to load his gun
spilled the powder. Mr. Newman called to his aid Mr. Shearer ; exclaiming, " py sure I vill spill
all my powter. Shearer, you loads mine gun." The guns were loaded, and the score-axes placed in
reach, to repel the savages if they attempted to enter the cabin. There was no more sleep that
night. The next morning James Copus, John Lambright, Frederick Zimmer, and Isaac Hill and
families, arrived at Beam's block-house, and reported that Ruffner and the Zimmer family had
been killed. Upon examination about the forebay of the mill-race, which had just been raised,
several moccasin tracks were discovered, and the evidence was clear that the Indians had
meditated an attack there, but feared the Newman party were too strong. There were but four men
at Newman's--himself, Mr. Shearer, and the two Roberts brothers. Within an hour after hearing
of the massacre, Newman got up his team and fled to the block-house at Mansfield. The Roberts
brothers, with a few soldiers from Captain Martin's company, which was stationed at Beam's
block-house, rode over and examined the scene at Zimmers, and helped bury the victims of
Indian vengeance. Mr. Newman remained in Mifflin township until the fall of 1825, when he
purchased of Samuel McBride the farm upon which he afterwards erected a grist-mill, being the
property more recently known as the Joseph Boyd mill, in the northeast part of Vermillion
township. After disposing of the mill property he purchased a farm near the south line of the
township, where he deceased January 20, 1861, aged eighty-three years, The surviving members
of his family were William and James H. Newman, neither of whom reside in this county. James
removed in the spring of 1876 to the vicinity of Hillsboro, Ohio.
JACOB SHOPBELL
was born in Berks county, Pennsylvania, September 29, 1788. His father, Daniel Shopbell, was a
Revolutionary soldier and served in the army about seven years. He was in the battles of White
Plains, Brandywine, Bunker Hill, and other struggles. He died in 1806 in Northampton county,
Pennsylvania. His grandfather, Eberhard Shopbell, was a soldier in the war between France and
Germany, in which the French acquired the territory of Alsace and Loraine. He lost a brother by
the gull lotine, and many relatives in the war, and came to America and settled in Berks county,
Pennsylvania, where he died at the age of one hundred and four years. The people of that county
were largely German, and the schools were entirely in that language. Jacob Shopbell was
educated in the German dialect, and although he speaks the English tongue, reads only the
German language. He emigrated from Northampton county, Pennsylvania, to Orange township,
Richland, now Ashland county, Ohio, in 1832. He located near what is now Leidigh's mill. He
served three months in the war of 1812, at Black Rock, near the lake shore, under Colonel Irwin
and Captain Joseph Dean. He was in no regular rattle of small arms. He is now the oldest soldier
of this region. He has always been a farmer, temperate, industrious and economical, and is yet
remarkably vigorous for a man of his age. He has been twice married, and is- the father of
seventeen children, eleven girls and five boys. There were six children by his first wife, and
eleven by the second. His sons are Andrew, of Michi-
HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO - 167
gan, Daniel, John, Samuel, and David, of Ashland county. He resides with a son-in-law, George
Shidler.
DR. ANDREW J. SCOTT
was born in Richland county, Ohio, November 1 2, 1827. He obtained a liberal education, and
upon reaching manhood became a successful teacher. He was principal of the Loudonville
academy for some years. He read medicine in the office of Dr. E. B. Fuller, attended lectures at
Starling medical college, Columbus, Ohio, at Buffalo university, at the medical department of
Havard college, and college of physicians and surgeons. He opened an office in Loudonville, in
1853, and has been in successful practice to the present, 1876. Since his graduation he has
become a member of the Ashland county medical society, and also of the Ohio State medical
society. He is also corresponding member of the gynecological society of Boston, and a member
of the American medical association. He takes a deep interest in literary pursuits, and when a
teacher, was regarded as one of the best mathematicians in the county. He has been three times
married, twice to daughters of Dr. E. B. Fuller. He is of Scotch-Irish descent, and possesses all
the enthusiasm of both races. Possessed of a strong will, he is resolute in the prosecution of
whatever he deems right. If health permits, he has the attainments to achieve a fine reputation in
the medical profession. He would acquit himself ably in any of the medical colleges of this State.
He is a fluent conversationalist, a ready speaker, and a clear thinker.
DR. EPHRAIM B. FULLER
was born in Madison county, New York, July 8, 1799. He read medicine in the office of Dr.
Parkis, of Tioga county, Pennsylvania, and commenced practice in 1823. He married Sarah
Culver, of Elkland, Pennsylvania, in March, 1822. He practiced in Potter county, Pennsylvania
until the spring of 1832, when he located in Loudonville, Richland (now Ashland,) county, Ohio.
Dr. Fuller was not a regularly educated physician, having read in a private office, and according
to the statutes of New York, was examined and admitted to practice medicine and surgery under
a certificate issued by the county censors. He was a man of marked industry, and possessed an
iron will, which associated with a powerful physical organization, a love of his profession, and
close attention to medical authorities enabled him to accomplish a great deal in the line of his
calling. He had a most extensive practice, and was unusually successful in the treatment of the
diseases of his locality. He practiced continuously over thirty-six years, sometimes under
circumstances the most adverse, and in the face of a well arranged competition, always sustaining
himself honorably in his profession. He should rank among the very best of the profession in the
county. He died at Loudonville, December 23, 1867. He left a family.
Dr, Amos B. Fuller is a son, and Dr. A. J. Scott, a son-in-law. The son is said to possess many of
the peculiarities of the father, and will probably succeed to a fair share of his practice.
DR. JOSEPH E. CLIFF,
a native of London, England, an energetic and spirited physician, well calculated to make himself
known and felt in the community, settled in Loudonville in 1825. He studied medicine with Dr.
Daniel McPhail, of Wooster, 1821-2 a Scotchman, and leading physician of Waynec ounty, for
several years, in At that period Dr, McPhail frequently visited Clearcreek, Montgomery,
Vermillion, and Mohican townships, accompanied by Dr, Cliff, who sometimes repeated the
visits. He remained about two years at Loudonville, and returned to Wooster, and shortly
afterwards departed for the gold mines in Brazil, South America, He landed in the midst of a
revolution, and proceeding to the mines, remained several years, and became possessed of
considerable wealth. In the meantime, his wife, a daughter of Dr. McPhail, supposing him dead,
married Robert W. Smith, late of Mohican township. Dr. Cliff returned from South America and
found his wife in the possession of another ! Accepting the condition of things as philosophically
as possible, he proceeded to provide liberally for his son, who afterwards read medicine, and now
enjoys a wide reputation as Dr. D. B. Cliff, of Franklin, Tennessee, After this the old doctor
returned to London, England, where he died some years since. This is highly romantic, but
nevertheless true. It is obtained from the lips of his venerable wife, who still survives, and is now
seventy-six years of age, and resides with her son, Edward P. Smith, near Ashland.
Money was very scarce, and the surplus products of the country, in 1825, had no market. High
spirited and ambitious, the doctor hoped to better his fortunes in other countries. He was wholly
deprived of the means of corresponding with his family, and the sequel shows that, while he
accomplished the object of his adventure, he lost an amiable and accomphshed wife.
DR. JOEL LUTHER.
On a pleasant evening in the fall of 1820, a young man of fair countenance, dark eyes. black hair,
very erect and plainly habited, seated in a one-horse wagon, with a wooden box for a trunk, drove
to the front of what was then known as the "Sheets' tavern," located on the lot now occupied by
Jacob Weisenstine, in Uniontown, now Ashland, and asked permission to lodge for the night. It
was granted, and the young man was soon seated for supper, while his jaded horse was carefully
stabled and fed by the landlord, Mr. Joseph Sheets, who was also the principal tailor and
merchant of the village. The new guest appeared to be a quiet, self-possessed, intelligent young
gentleman, and Mrs. Sheets soon had him engaged in a lively conversation. Supper being
168 - HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO.
over, the routine of finding out the birth-place, the financial resources, the destination, and the
personal peculiarities of the stranger, was gone into in a systematic manner.
During this ordeal it was learned that the stranger was a native of Berkshire county,
Massachusetts, was born about the year 1794, had attended a neighborhood school until he was
of age, and then, like a true son of New England, had come west to seek his fortune, his parents
being unable to extend further aid. It further transpired that he had gone to Troy, New York,
about the year 1816, where he earnestly engaged in the vocation of teaching school, in the
meantime studying medicine under a leading practitioner of that place, where, at the conclusion
of his studies, he had been licensed to practice, and located, for a short time, at a place called Red
Post, in the vicinity of Troy, but, finally, preferred to go further west, and that, with one hundred
dollars in money, and his horse and wagon, he had reached Uniontown in the hopes of finding a
new home.
Mr. and Mrs. Sheets gave it as their opinion that a physician might soon obtain a lively practice
in this region, as there was no doctor nearer than Mansfield (Dr. Miller), which was about sixteen
miles away. The young gentleman whom they addressed was Dr. Joel Luther, Berkshire, of
Massachusetts.
The new doctor retired to bed feeling much encouraged over the idea of having found a good
location and a pleasant home. About daylight the next morning the occupants of the Sheets house
were aroused by loud knocking at the front door. Mr. Sheets hastily opened it and asked what
was wanting. The man, who resided some three miles in the country, inquired if there was not a
doctor in town, stating that a member of his family was very sick. Mr. Sheets replied that a young
doctor had arrived the night before, was in the house, and had about concluded to locate in the
village. Dr. Luther was urged to accompany the pioneer to his cabin. He was but too happy to do
so. He was soon ready, mounted his horse and threaded his way along paths through the forest to
the presence of his new patient. This was the first case of the first doctor; and having been
successfully treated, the new physician soon obtained an extensive practice. The prevailing
diseases of those days were autumnal fevers, bilious, bilious remittent, and the process of
treatment was generally such as kills the modern bullock copious blood-letting. Strong men
required vigorous treatment, and they got it without stint. The lancet was an indispensable
instrument; and when a physician could not be had, many private persons proffered their services
as phlebotomists, and human blood was abstracted freely. Times change, and men change. The
sanguinary theory is now almost a dream.
The doctor erected an office a short distance above the present location of the McNulty house,
where he continued to do business until about the year 1831, when he retired from the practice,
owing to failing health, and soon after opened a dry goods establishment in which he was
engaged until his decease in 1834. As a physician he had an extended and successful practice,
and drew around him a large circle of friends. As a business man he was shrewd and exact and
careful in all his dealings, and accumulated a fine property. He was genial and pleasant among
his patients and friends, and not averse to a good practical joke.
In 1824 he was married to Miss Elizabeth, daughter of Christopher Mykrantz, who died April 19,
1880, aged seventy-two years, two months and twelve days, born in Westmoreland county,
Pennsylvania. At his death he left one daughter who married Dr. J. F. Sampsell, and is now
deceased.
DIPLOMA OF DR. JOEL LUTHER.
Be it known, that on the twenty-fifth day of September, A. D., 1817, Joel Luther was examined
by the censors of Renssellaer medical society in the various branches of medical science, and
received their approbation. Now, know ye, therefore, that by virtue of the powers in me vested, I
do hereby authorize and license the said Joel Luther to practice physics and surgery, in the State
of New York. In testimony whereof, I have set my hand to these presents, and caused the seal of
the society to be hereunto affixed.
Done at Troy this twenty-fifth day of September, A. D., 1817.
HEZEKIAH E. DRAY, President.
J. M. HALL, Secretary.
STEUBEN COUNTY, CLERK'S OFFICE, } SS.
October 15, 1818.
A copy of the within diploma has been duly filed in the office of the clerk of the aforesaid
county.
C. HOWELL, Clerk.
DR. JOSEPH HILDHRET.
About the year 1821, a young man from "York State" arrived in Ashland, and obtained
employment at the distillery of Slocum and Palmer. He was dreadfully afflicted with obliquity of
vision, a disease known as strabismus. One eye seemed to be so much affected as to be useless
for all purposes, and the other, so distorted as to make it very difficult for him to read. His
singular appearance attracted a good deal of attention, and many unfeeling witticisms were
perpetrated at his expense. The young man attended promptly to the interests of his employers;
and in deportment was habitually reserved. It was noticed, however, that he possessed quite a
store of information, and could converse fluently when so disposed. He very soon engaged the
attention and sympathy of Dr, Joel Luther, whose esteem he finally won. The doctor discovered,
on further acquaintance, that the young man possessed a most retentive memory, and had talents
of an unusual order. Thus he had been richly endowed with intellect to atone for all his physical
infirmities, as in the case of AEsop and thousands of others. At the request of Dr. Luther, Mr.
Hildreth commenced a course of medical studies, and made rapid progress. He continued in the
office, as a student, some three years. At that period the laws of Ohio required all students, at the
completion of their studies, before entering upon practice, to procure a license to do so. There
--being no medical school, the young doctor had to thread his way along rough roads and paths to
the legislature, with a view of submitting to an examination by a special committee to be
appointed by that body. On his arrival, he attracted a good deal of attention. The committee
HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO - 189
was appointed, and the time and place for examination designated. From the singular appearance
of the applicant, it was believed that the committee would make a sort of frolic of the
affair—have a good deal of fun and let the young man depart in disgust. The chairman of the
committee, being a sort of doctor, turned out to be not so learned on anatomy as Horner, Wistor
or Wilson. He had proceeded but a brief time in the examination, when the young doctor picked
him up on the origin, insertion, and location of the sartorius. The next blunder was, in assigning
the position of the liver and stomach in relation to the diaphragm. The young doctor triumphed.
The principles of the theory and practice of medicine were hastily disposed of, and compatibles
and incompatibles entered upon. By way of crowding the young doctor into a tight place, the
chairman wished to know the result of a mixture of alkaline salts, water, and animal oil, in given
proportions. After revolving the matter a moment, the young doctor said: "Gentlemen, I have
studied with a view of practicing medicine, and not to follow the occupation of making soap."
The laugh was on the wrong side again. The committee had caught a "Tartar," and was bound to
bring in a favorable report, which was done; and the doctor returned fully authorized to practice
his profession. He continued in practice, in Ashland, with fair success, some five or six years,
and removed to Bellville, Richland county, where he resided many years. He subsequently
studied law and located in Mansfield, where he deceased about two years since.
The doctor achieved a fine reputation as a leading member of the Masonic fraternity. He was,
perhaps, one of the brightest Masons in the State, and many years ago was appointed by the
Grand lodge a member of a committee to revise the work, a duty which he discharged with
fidelity and rare ability.
As a physician, he understood clearly the principles of his profession, and, as a lawyer, lie is said
to have been well versed, but, owing to his infirmities of vision, he was unable to make such a
display of his talents as would win public patronage.
He was the second physician in Ashland, and a man of note. He is an illustration of what can be
accomplished by industry and untiring perseverance, notwithstanding the embarrassments of
physical infirmities.
DR. WILLIAM N. DEMING,
from Medina county, Ohio, is believed to have been the third physician of Ashland. He arrived
about the winter of 1828. He continued in an active practice until 1837, when he located in the
village of Orange, where his brother, Charles, was engaged in the mercantile business. He resided
in Orange about two years, when he became a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, during
a revival, and prepared to enter the ministry. He attended conference, and was assigned to a
circuit. Upon returning home he was taken suddenly very sick, and died, after a brief illness. The
doctor is represented as having been an excellent physician, and a man of
many accomplishments. His untimely demise was much lamented.
DR. DAVIDSON
arrived about the year 1829, and continued in practice until 1833, when he removed to Canton,
Illinois. He is represented as a gentleman of good social bearing and fair medical attainments.
His Christian name is not remembered.
DR. WILLARD SLOCUM.
Dr. Slocum arrived in 1833 from the State of New York, and succeeded to the practice of Dr.
Davidson. He was a man of strong points, and soon made an impression, financially and
professionally. He had considerable reputation, and is said to have been a bold operator. He
closed his practice, and emigrated to Michigan, in the spring of 1848, where he deceased, after a
residence of some two or three years. He was a relative of the late Elias Slocum.
DR. GUSTAVUS OESTERLEN.
Dr. Oesterlen was born 1n the kingdom of Wurtemberg, Germany, November 20, 1804. He
attended a Latin and German school until he was sixteen years of age, and then entered a
gymnasium at Stuttgardt, the capital of the state, where he remained four years, and was
examined in the languages and admitted into the university of Tubingen, to study the different
branches of medicine, and remained there five years. In 1829 he attended the Queen Catharine
hospital, at Stuttgardt; was examined in the spring of 1830, and received his diploma. In the
spring of 1830 he was appointed assistant surgeon in the army of Wurtemberg, and remained in
said position until the fall of 1833. In the spring of 1834 he took passage for America, and in July
arrived at Mansfield, Richland county, where he remained until about the first of October, and
then located in Ashland, where he has been in practice nearly forty- one years. In size, the doctor
is below the medium, his height being about five feet seven inches, and his weight about one
hundred and twenty pounds. He is quite active, and in the full possession of all his faculties. He
is very courteous and kind in his bearing towards the members of his profession. In the languages
he is, perhaps, the best scholar of the medical profession of this region. He has had a good
German practice for many years, and has met with excellent success. As a surgeon, he has had a
good reputation, and in his prime was the best operator in the country. Of late years, from failing
vision and nervousness, he has performed fewer operations. The doctor is a fine specimen of the
old school German gentleman; and still adheres to many of the customs of the fatherland. As a
citizen, he is law-abiding, quiet, and exemplary. As a business man, his integrity has never been
disputed. Among
170 - HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO,
the members of his profession he is much respected. He was among the first to aid in the
formation of a medical society in this county, that courtesy, fraternity and professional zeal might
be disseminated among his brethren.
For a period of nearly thirty years the doctor has been an active member of the Masonic order,
and has been almost continuously the treasurer of the lodge. This speaks well for his fidelity and
masonic bearing among his associates. Among the members of the lodge, as among the medical
fraternity, he has been noted for his genial and unselfish disposition. He has always a kind word
for the encouragement of the younger members of his profession. He is now the Nestor of his
profession in this county. Learned, courteous, and proud of his profession, he hails every
advancement in medical science as the harbinger of good to the race.
DR. BELA B. CLARK
was born in New Milford, Connecticut, October 1, 1798. He studied medicine in the same place,
and attended lectures under Drs. Hosac, Francis and Mott, in New York city in 1817. He came to
Medina, Ohio, in 1818, and was married to Sophia P. Searls, October 28, 1820. He practiced
medicine in Medina county twenty-four years, and removed to the city of Columbus in 1842,
where he practiced three years. During his residence in that city he became acquainted with
several gentlemen from Ashland, who were laboring for the passage of an act for the erection of
the new county of Ashland, and became identified with the measure. Upon the passage of that
act, he removed to Ashland and entered upon his profession. He continued to practice medicine
about fourteen years. When the enterprise of constructing the Atlantic & Great Western railway
originated, Dr. Clark entered heartily into the project, and aided until it was nearly graded. He
was among the first directors. Soon after his arrival in Ashland he was appointed one of the
associate judges of the court of common pleas, and served until the adoption of the constitution
of 1851. During his medical practice he received a diploma from the fellows of the Connecticut
medical society in 1817 ; also one from the nineteenth medical district of Ohio, at Cleveland,
May 25, 1824 ; and a license from the court of the third judicial circuit of Ohio, November 30,
1818, and another from the medical society of the eighth medical district of Ohio, November 5,
1818 ; and in 1841, Willoughby Medical college conferred an honorary degree of medicine, with
diploma, upon him,
The doctor died from apoplexy, August 20, 1859, aged about sixty-three years. He had been an
active member and ruling elder in the Presbyterian church for a number of years. He was an
accomplished physician, a zealous advocate of education, and always active for the public weal.
His family consists of his wife, who still survives; I)r. W. R. Clark, of Des Moines, Iowa, a
successful physician; Elizabeth, wife of I)r. P. H. Clark, of Ashland, and Charles F. M., of Iowa.
DR. P. H, CLARK
born in Wakeman, Huron county, Ohio, August 3, 1819; studied medicine and attended one
course of lectures at Willoughby in 1839-40, and practiced in Allen county, Indiana, and in
Wisconsin, for some time ; removed to Ashland in 1850 ; was assistant surgeon in the late war in
1882-3 in the field hospitals. He attended a second course of lectures at the university of Buffalo,
New York, in 1861-2, and graduated. He is a member of the Ohio State Medical society, and has
been pension surgeon since December, 1882, He is now in practice,
DR. W. R. S. CLARK,
born November 26, 1821, in Medina, Ohio; attended school at Kenyon college ; studied medicine
with his father ; attended lectures at Willoughby and Cleveland, where he graduated. He
practiced in Lorain county and Ashland ; removed to Bucyrus and practiced until the war, and
was appointed surgeon, and subsequently removed to Des Moines, Iowa.
DR. HARRISON ARMSTRONG
was born near Wellsville, Columbiana county, Ohio, November 25, 1809. He was of Scotch-Irish
descent, his grandfather having emigrated from the north of Ireland, and served as a soldier in the
American Revolution, He removed with his father's family to Canaan township, Wayne county,
in the year 1815. Here he attended the common schools of the neighborhood, and grew to
manhood. He studied medicine under the instruction of the late Dr. L. F. Day, of Wooster, in
1828, and attended lectures in Cincinnati, at the Ohio Medical college, in the years 1830—1, and
graduated. He practiced medicine in 1831 in company with Dr. Irvine, of Millersburgh, Holmes
county, and in the spring of 1832 located in the village of Hayesville, in Ashland county, being
the first regular physician who resided in that place. He soon won public confidence, and for a
period of twenty years had a large and lucrative practice in Vermillion, Mohican, Green, and
Mifflin townships. In 1853 he retired from practice, and devoted his time partly to the mercantile
business, but chiefly to agriculture.
He owned a valuable farm in the vicinity of Hayesville, to which he removed, and brought to a
high state of culture. He took great pride in the pursuits of agriculture, and was surrounded by all
the comforts of a scientific farmer. He married in Hayesville, in 1837, Miss Margaret Cox,
daughter of the late Rev. John Cox, of Mansfield, one of the pioneers of Vermillion township.
His family consisted of nine children--six sons and three daughters. Two of his sons are dead.
HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO - 171
Natural Sciences, at Cleveland. He was an attentive student, and possessed an extensive
knowledge of medicine. He left a large family.
DR. DAVID ARMSTRONG
graduated in Jefferson Medical college, Philadelphia, in 1850, and was a physician of much
promise. He deceased in 1852, much lamented by his friends and the profession. The late Doctor
Armstrong was a large, finely developed gentleman, ruddy, and of imposing appearance. He
possessed many of the characteristics of his ancestry, both in sense, wit and humor, and enjoyed a
little fun and a hearty laugh. As a physician and business man he stood deservedly high among
his fellows, and was noted for frankness and directness in all his dealings with men. In politics,
he was an old line Whig, and more recently a member of the Republican party.
For one or two years prior to his last illness he had been in feeble health. His last sickness was
the result of heart disease. ' For three or four months prior to his decease, he was constantly
distressed by the growing malady, all of which he bore with exemplary fortitude and patience.
His sufferings were brought to a close on the morning of December 14, 1876, and his remains
were deposited in the cemetery at Hayesville.
The usual resolutions of the Ashland county Historical and Pioneer society, of which he was a
member, were adopted, concerning his decease.
DR. JACOB W. KINNAMAN
was born in Ellsworth, Trumbull county, Ohio, October 18, 1815. He spent his youth in that
locality, and commenced the study of medicine when eighteen years of age, and attended lectures
at Jefferson Medical college, in Philadelphia, in the winter of 1833. He commenced practice in
Ellsworth, and remained there some years. In 1836 he married Miss Harriet Carson, a cousin of
the celebrated Kit Carson, the explorer. In 1847 he graduated in Cleveland Medical college, and
removed with his family to Ashland, He opened an office, and continued to practice until 1849,
when he caught the gold fever, and went to California, his family remaining in Ashland. He
returned in 1851, and again engaged in the practice of medicine. In 1854 he again went to
California, intending to remain several years, leaving his practice in the hands of his brother, Dr,
Lawrence Kinnaman; but, a little more than a year after his arrival in California, learning the
dangerous illness of his brother, he returned to attend him, but arrived a short time after his
decease. He again engaged in practice, and continued until his last illness. In 1871, leaving his
practice in the care of his son, Dr. R. C. Kinnaman, he went to California to recruit his failing
health, and remained one summer, failing to receive any direct relief. He returned, and remained
feeble, until July 18, 1874, when he deceased, at the residence of his son-in-law, Mr. Henry
Carter, at Lancaster, Ohio. His remains were brought back and interred in the cemetery of
Ashland.
Dr. Kinnaman was reticent, but frank and honorable in his profession. He was a member of the
Ohio State Medical society, and also a member of the Academy of National Sciences, at
Cleveland. He was an attentive student, and posscessed an extensive knowlegde of medicine. He
left a large family.
DR. ISAAC L. CRANE
was born in Akron, Ohio, May 7, 1825. His parents having died when he was quite young, he was
compelled to depend upon his own industry and energy for success. He learned the trade of a
tailor, and, by economy and close application, earned sufficient to warrant an attempt to study
medicine. He became a student of Dr. L. Firestone about the year 1850, and graduated in the
Western Reserve college, in the session of 1853-54. He soon after located in Ashland, and drew
around him many warm and devoted friends. He was a careful practilioner, and unremitting in his
attentions to his patients, and evinced a good deal of skill as a physician.. In 1861 he was
commissioned in the three months' service as surgeon in the Twenty-third regiment Ohio militia.
After the expiration of his service he was again commissioned, for three years, in the Sixty-third
regiment Ohio volunteer infantry, October 17, 1881, and served until January, 1864. During his
service he acted for some time as medical director in the army of the Tennessee. He acquitted
himself with honor to the profession and his friends.
Full of zeal for the dignity and honor of the medical profession, few of his age have done more to
dignify it. He became president of the county medical society upon its organization, in 1864, and
was a member of the Ohio State Medical association.
During his arduous services in the war, he greatly impaired his constitution, and gradually became
more feeble, until his lungs became involved, and drained his vitality. He died June 12, 1887, of
pulmonary consumption. The County Medical society and the Masonic fraternity, of which he was
a member, paid him their last honors in accompanying him to his final resting place in the
cemetery at Ashland. His wife resides in Iowa.
DR. SAMUEL GLASS
was born in Wayne county, Ohio, April 14, 1818. In early life he possessed no advantages of
education beyond the district schools. The first eighteen years of his life were occupied in clearing
the forests and in fare labor. Wages were low, and it took a long time to accumulate sufficient
money to enter upon a course of study. He grew up in habits of industry and frugality, and these
habits became a part of his maturer years. His first effort was at school teaching. In 1840, he
commenced the study of medicine with Dr. Harrison Armstrong, of Hayesville, in this county, and
in 1842 attended medical lectures at Cincinnati. In 1843, he opened an office in Mifflin, of this
county, where he remained three years. In April, 1845, he married Miss Amanda A. Armentrout,
of Hayesville, and opened an office in that place. In the winter of 1847-8, he attended a second
course of
172 - HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO.
lectures at Jefferson Medical college, Philadelphia, where he graduated. Shortly after his return,
Dr.. H. Armstrong retired from practice, and his son, Dr. David Armstrong, and Dr. S. Glass
entered into partnership, This continued until the decease of Dr. Armstrong, which occurred in
1852. Dr. Glass continued in practice, a part of the time with Dr. Yocum, until he was elected
State senator in 1881-2. He again resumed practice and continued until 1885, when he removed to
Ashland, and formed a partnership with Dr. D. S. Sampsell in 1868, with whom he continued
until his last illness. In the meantime he became a member of the Ohio State Medical association,
and president of the Medical society of Ashland county. He died of congestion of the brain,
February 26, 1873. Dr. Glass was a large, well- developed man, full six feet high, and would
weigh about two hundred pounds. He had a large brain, a strong will, and tremendous endurance.
He performed an uncommon amount of labor, in his practice, which was always quite extended.
He accumulated a handsome fortune, and was esteemed a very thorough and successful physician.
He was childless. His widow resides in Ashland.
DR. OLIVER C. McCARTY
was born in Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, December 29, 1818, and moved with his father, Job
McCarty, to New Lisbon, Columbiana county, Ohio, when young, and resided there until 1828,
when they settled in Dalton, Wayne county, Ohio. He began his medical studies in 1829 with Dr.
Joseph Watson, of Massillon, Ohio, and continued there until 1833, and then located at Albion,
now Ashland county, Ohio, where he continued in practice until 1841, when he attended a full
course of lectures at the Ohio Medical college at Cincinnati, and graduated at the Hudson Medical
college, Cleveland, in 1846. He continued in practice at Polk, Ohio, until 1863, at which time he
was commissioned as assistant surgeon in the army, by Governor John Brough, and remained in
the service until the close of the war. At the close of the war, he was examined and commissioned
for five years in the regular United States service as surgeon; but declined to remain, and returned
to his former locality and again entered into active practice. He has, with the exception of his
absence in the army, practiced medicine over forty years in Jackson township, in this county. He is
an attentive observer, a close student, and a successful physician. He possesses inventive talents of
a high order, and has patented a number of inventions for the benefit of agriculturists. He has
strong tastes for natural science, and has repeatedly delivered a course of lectures before the
students of Vermillion institute, of Hayesville. He married Miss Eleanor B. Pancoast, daughter of
Hezekiah Pancoast, of Wayne county, in 1838. His family consists of his wife, self and five
children, all of whom survive but one son, H. W. McCarty, who died in the army. The doctor is
quite vigorous, and may survive many years.
MAJOR. R. P. FULKERSON
was born in Somerset county, New Jersey, February 11, 1807. In his youth he attended the country
schools of that State, and made fair progress in the elementary branches. At the age of eighteen he
was apprenticed to learn the trade of a blacksmith. He also learned, at the same time, the art of
making augers. In 1829 he married Miss Sarah Ann Wicoff, and in the spring of 1830, removed to
Ashland, Ohio. Upon his arrival he opened a shop and commenced business. In addition to
country work, such as shoeing horses, repairing and fitting plows, he ironed many road wagons
and carriages, and repaired guns. Being remarkably ingenious in working iron, he was able to turn
his hand to many branches of the art. When gas was first introduced into Ashland, he engaged in
fitting and preparing burners, pipes and other fixtures, and his books contain drawings showing
the labyrinths concealing gas throughout most of the leading buildings and private residences of
Ashland, In 1860 he retired from the toil and worry of his trade and entered upon the horticultural
business, for which he had strong tastes and many qualifications. He was fond of the study of
botany, and his green-house gave evidence of his fine taste in the floral kingdom. He also
succeeded in introducing many fine varieties of fruit, flowering shrubs, and plants. He was
industrious in his researches into the habits of the honey-bee, and in fact, took a lively interest in
everything that could contribute to the prosperity and happiness of his race. He was extremely
fond of the sport of hunting, and generally kept a "pointer" or "setter" of the best blood. Few of
the best hunters could excel him-in shooting quail or pheasants on the wing. He was particularly
successful in ensnaring, in the spring time, wild pigeons, and in taking ducks. He was buoyant in
spirit, and a great favorite with his associates. There were but few subjects that he could not
illustrate and explain. In 1875, when the State Archeological society was formed at Mansfield, he
became a member, and about the same time he became a member of the Pioneer and Historical
society of Ashland county. He took a deep interest in the topics discussed in those organizations.
His tastes were strongly military, and in his younger years he was promoted from a company
officer to be major of a regiment. He is said to have been a good drill officer, and could he have
been educated at an institution such as West Point, would have made an accomplished officer in
the engineer department.
He was a strong friend of the school system of Ohio, and when the old academy was under the
superintendency of the lamented Lorin Andrews, gave his time and attention to the encouragement
of that institution. He was frequently a member of the Ashland council, and was acting as such at
his decease. He was also a trustee of the cemetery association and aided in preparing alit beautiful
site for the dead.
In 1873 his excellent lady deceased, since which time he resided with the younger members of his
family.
In 1876 he visited the Centennial at Philadelphia, and upon his return, expressed his gratification
and astonish-
HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO - 173
ment over the wonders in art and invention beheld by him on exhibition on that occasion.
Early in the winter he was attacked with pneumonia and other complications, and gradually failed
until he died, May 21, 1877. He was buried in the cemetery at Ashland.
The usual resolutions were adopted by the obituary committee of the Historical society, of which
he was a member.
HON. JAMES E. CHASE
was born in Stark county, Ohio, October 19, 1824. He was educated in the common schools of the
neighborhood, and grew up a farmer. His ancestors were Scotch- English. His father, Seth Chase,
was born in Massachusetts, and his mother, Syena Wood, in Vermont. Bishop Chase, and Salmon
P. Chase, of Ohio, were a branch of the same family. Seth Chase removed, with his family, to
Massillon, Ohio, in 1825, and remained one year, but finding his health greatly impaired by the
malaria of that region, returned to Vermont, and in 1836 again came to Ohio and located in
Massillon. Here he died in 1852, aged fifty-eight years. His wife died in 1856, aged fifty-six years.
His family was composed of James E., Emily V., wife of Jacob Colopy, Laura T., single. James E.
Chase became an active farmer, and in 1857 was elected, by the Democracy, a member of the
Ohio legislature, and was re-elected in 1859. In 1861 he sold his farm and removed to Jackson
township, Ashland county. In 1869 he was again elected, by the Democracy of Ashland county, to
the Ohio legislature, and was re-elected in 1871. In 1873 he was elected treasurer of Jackson
township, and again in 1874. He has been regularly a delegate to State conventions for over
twenty years. He married Mrs. Jane Baughman, of Stark county. Their children are James B.,
Orlan D., Sherwood M., Nelson H., Mary I., wife of Jacob Moor, of Illinois, Ellen S., wife of
David Wise, of Ashland county, and Samantha, single.
ROBERT NEWELL,
a native of Washington county, Pennsylvania, is believed to have located in the east part of
Montgomery township in 1811. He had resided for two or three years on White Eyes plains, near
the present site of Newcomerstown, in Tuscarawas county, Ohio. He is believed to have erected
the first cabin in Montgomery township. It was situated on what has since been known as the
Hugh McGuire farm, some five miles southeast of Ashland. In the fall of 1812, after the
Ruffner—Zimmer—Copus tragedies on the Black fork, the cabins of Mr. Newell, Mr. Cuppy, and
Mr. Fry, further up a branch of the same stream, were burned by the Indians, while the families of
the above-mentioned pioneers sought safety at the fort or Jerome's place, now the village of
Jeromeville. After peace had been declared, Mr. Newell re-erected a cabin and continued to
improve his farm, which he finally sold to the late Hugh McGuire, and located one mile north of
Olivesburgh, in Richland county, where he deceased in 1848, at an advanced age, When
Montgomery township was associated with Vermillion township for civil purposes, from 1814 to
1816, Mr. Newell, from Montgomery, and James Wallace, from Vermillion, were elected justices
of the peace. Upon the organization of Montgomery in 1816, Mr. Newell lost his office. He is
represented as having been a clever, whole-souled pioneer, but in point of education quite
illiterate, He could not write, and Consequently kept no docket. There was but little litigation in
those days, and it was the habit of Squire Newell to appoint a day and cite the plaintiff and
defendant to appear before him. When the parties had assembled, he required them to state, under
oath, the nature of their claims, and having partially heard both sides, required an equitable and
peaceable adjustment of the dispute. It is related, that on some occasions, money being
exceedingly scarce, and whiskey being a " legal-tender," it was decided that a gallon of that article
should be provided by the winning party for the crowd, and the case be dismissed, with the
injunction that in the future the litigants should be neighbors and friends. Mr. Newell was a very
liberal officer. He rarely charged for his services. Constable Kline, who served under him, being a
poor man, had to exact his fees.
The sons of Mr. Newell were: Absalom, Franklin, Samuel, Zachariah, and Jesse. The daughters
were two--Mrs. Jonathan Edy and Mrs. Lloyd Edy, of Richland county. The sons all moved west,
most of them to owa, where some of them yet reside. Like Robert Newell, their father, they were
all large, rugged men, and preferred the rough and tumble of a new country. Like the Lattas, the
Mackleys, the Uries, and hundreds of others of the early settlers, they were formidable men at a
military muster, a cabin raising, a political meeting or any other gathering where physical force
was brought into question. The days of, the giants are no more ! The race of backwoodsmen has
departed. Feebler men occupy their places.
JACOB H. GRUBB.
Jacob Grubb was born in Union county, Pennsylvania, October 18, 1800. His ancestors were
Franco-German. In his youth he. attended the schools of his neighborhood, and obtained a fair
knowledge of the English branches. After arriving at the age of about sixteen years, he served an
apprenticeship to learn the trade of cabinet-Aker. After completing his trade, he married Miss
Hannah Robison, daughter of David Robison, of Union county, Pennsylvania. In 1823 he
removed, with his wife and infant daughter Mary, now wife of David J. Rice, to Uniontown, now
Ashland, Ohio. At that time the village was quite small. He rented a small log cabin of
Christopher Mykrantz, situated in the rear of what is now the town hall, where he resided and
worked at the
174 - HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO.
cabinet-making business; he was the second cabinet-maker who settled in Uniontown, the late
Alexander Miller being the first. After residing there some years, he removed to his late residence,
on the north side of Main street, where he continued to work at his trade, He carried on business
continuously for nearly fifty years, and retired from active labor some four or five years since.
Many of the pioneers yet possess bureaus made by him more than forty years ago, His work was
of the most substantial character and finish, and was noted for its durability,
Mr. Grubb stood high among his fellow-townsmen in consequence of his integrity and moral
worth. In 1823 he and his excellent lady assisted in the organization of the first class of the
Methodist Episcopal church of Ashland. The class long met at the residence of John Smith, which
stood on the lot subsequently occupied by the residence of the late Christopher Mykrantz. His
membership in the Methodist Episcopal church of Ashland was, therefore, continuous for a period
of fifty-four years, during which he adorned his profession by an upright and exemplary Christian
life. He passed through all the inconveniences and hardships of pioneer Methodism; having for
many years worshipped in a cabin, and in the great assemblies in the forest, known as camp-
meetings, and freely expressed the opinion that the plainness of primitive Methodist manners was
greatly conducive to true piety. Mr. Grubb and all the members of his family possessed fine
musical taste, and delighted to join in the exercise of singing, as well as to take part in
instrumental music.
The family of Mr. Grubb consisted of five sons— John, Frank, Burr, and two deceased; and six
daughters —Mary, wife of D. J. Rice; Lorilla, wife of Samuel Davis; Rosanna, wife of Henry
McCormick, and three deceased, and his aged wife, Hannah. He died January 9, 1878, of
paralysis, aged seventy-seven years, two months, and twenty-one days.
CAPTAIN ALANSON WALKER.
He was born in Allegheny county, Pennsylvania, March 4, 1804, and emigrated to Uniontown,
now Ashland, Ohio, in 1822. Shortly after his arrival he apprenticed to Robert Ralston, jr., of
Orange township, to learn the trade of a carpenter, and served about four years. Upon the
completion of his trade, in January, 1827, he married Esther Robison, of Clearcreek township, and
located in Ashland, where he has continued ever since as a carpenter. In the earlier years of his
pioneer life, he endured all the privations and hardships incident to the settlement of new
countries. He retained a vivid recollection of the early settlers, and their adventures, to the last.
Very few of the early mechanics attended more house raisings, log rollings, corn huskings, and
early military trainings, than he. From a native forest, he lived to see the site of Ashland develop
into a prosperous and handsome county seat. Of the first inhabitants of the town, he retained a
very clear recollection, and could relate many anecdotes concerning their social habits and
customs.
In the palmy days of the old militia, he was elected captain of a company that more than forty
years ago trained at Mansfield, and the prairie west of the town of Mifflin. When the war of the
Rebellion broke out, though well advanced in years, he volunteered and was attached to the
Eighty-second Ohio regiment, where he served until he was accidentally injured, by having the
wheel of one of the baggage wagons run over his foot, which so disabled him that he asked his
discharge.
Of late years, he quietly pursued his trade, and was noted for his industry and inoffensive, habits.
It was quite a treat to hear him relate the rough-and-tumble habits of the pioneers, their feats of
strength and personal courage, and insist that we would never see their like again; for all countries
have but one set of pioneers, and, when they disappear, new men, and new manners, succeed
them. The hardy men that prostrate forests, construct roads, build cabins and log barns, and add
wealth to communities, soon seek other localities for a renewal of old excitements, or die early.
In politics Captain Walker had settled opinions and adhered faithfully to the party of his choice,
though he never pressed his claims to official promotion. He had no affinity for the tricks of
political office-seekers, and concurred in the idea that a man should evince as much integrity in
office as in the private stations of life.
On the morning of his decease, May 7, 1878, he felt it to be his duty to engage, as usual, at his
trade. He had just ascended to the roof of a one-story building, near the shop of between Second
and Third streets, to make some change in the roof, when he was noticed to be somewhat
confused in manner, and, by the time aid reached the roof, he had become unconscious, He was
assisted to the ground, and carried home only a short distance—but never rallied. In about four
hours from the attack (apoplexy), he died in great distress, aged seventy-four years, two months
and four days.
He was the father of eleven children, seven of whom survive—David, Mary, Hannah, Belle,
Esther,. Nora, and William.
His excellent lady yet retains a good deal of physical and mental vigor, though she is far advanced
in life, and saw Ashland county when it was mostly forest.
JAMES DOTY.
Mr. Doty was born near Wheeling, West Virginia, in 1802, and was of Scotch-Irish descent, his
ancestors having settled in that region prior to the close of the American Revolution. His father,
Abraham Doty, experienced madly of the terrors of Indian invasion during the border wars from
1780 to 1795, Fort Henry at Wheeling, being a point for attack by the Shawnees and Wyandots. 4
In 1815 Abraham Doty removed with his family to what is now Milton township, Ashland county,
then in
HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO - 175
Richland county, and settled about four miles from Uniontown, now Ashland, on an unimproved
farm in the woods. There were at that time but few settlers in Milton and Mifflin townships, and
the pioneers had to endure many hardships. Here James and other members of the family grew up
amid the wilds of the new country,
The war of 1812 had ended propitiously, and emigrants began to flow into this region, and the
woodman's axe could be heard in every direction, leveling the forests in the preparation of log
cabins, and in preparing fields for culture.
The institutions of the older settlements were rapidly planted in these wilds. The log school-house
and hewed log church ere long were found wherever new settlements appeared. The minister
followed the adventurers, and for a time, organized congregations, that met and worshipped in the
cabins of the pioneers. About 1817, Abraham Doty assisted in the erection of "Old Hopewell,"
one and a half miles west of Ashland, and was soon elected and ordained an elder of the church.
James, and other members of the Doty family, attended this church for several years, though
residing nearly four miles from it, in the south part of Milton township.
Abraham Doty gave his influence in the erection of school-houses, for the spread of education,
and intelligence among the rising generation, and instructed his own children that intelligence,
morality and integrity gave all men influence among their companions and neighbors; and society
prospered in proportion to its support of these maxims and ideas.
In 1834, James Doty, having grown to manhood amid the wild forest scenes around him, and
having obtained a fair knowledge of the English branches, concluded to engage in preparing a
future home for himself. He married Miss Sarah Croninger, daughter of Leonard Croninger, of
Mifflin township, and settled on an unimproved farm near the present home of Joseph Charles. He
improved his homestead, and soon was elected to a number of minor township offices by his
neighbors. He also was elected justice of the peace three successive terms. He often related an
amusing circumstance that occurred when justice. At one time a young man and lady called at his
cabin desiring him to perform the marriage ceremony. He did so, after which the young man
stated that he had no money, but would see that the 'squire should be paid for his services. The
'squire said it was all right. Several months after this occurrence the 'squire was greatly surprised
to see the aforesaid party appear at his office with a fine puppy, declaring that he could not rest
contented while he owed so sacred a debt as that held by the 'squire, and begged him to accept the
puppy in lieu of the money, and thereby remove the debt. As the 'squire was a generous man, and
good dogs were useful in expelling wild animals, he accepted the puppy, and his friend departed
in the best of spirits.
In 1846, Ashland county was erected principally out of territory belonging to Richland county.
The first officers were nominated from all parties, by common consent, and elected and served for
six months, or until their successors were elected and qualified. Mr. Doty was elected sheriff in
the spring, and re-elected at the October election for two years. He was, therefore, the first sheriff
of Ashland county, His deputies were Matthew Clugston and Isaac Stull. Mr. Gates became his
successor, Mr. Doty made an accommodating and pleasant sheriff. He declined a nomination for
his second term, and retired to his farm, where he remained until 1858, when he disposed of his
home, and removed to Plymouth township, Richland county, since which time he has lived the
agreeable life of a farmer. The personal appearance of Mr. Doty is well remembered by many, In
disposition he was genial and kind. His weight was near two hundred and fifty pounds in his
prime. In business, he was regarded as above reproach, and was much respected by all. In
religious opinion he was a Presbyterian in sentiment and practice. He was one of the useful and
solid pioneers, and will long be remembered by his old neighbors. He was the father of ten
children, seven sons and three daughters, eight of whom (five sons and three daughters) survive
him. The pioneers of Ashland county sincerely condole with his numerous relatives, in the loss of
so valuable a friend and relative. He died near Plymouth, Richland county, Ohio, January 4, 1879,
aged seventy-seven years.
JOHN CHARLES
was born in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, July 13, 1802. He was the youngest of a family of
three children. His early educational opportunities were quite limited. At the age of twenty-four,
he came over to Ohio, and settled in Mifflin township. He married in Lancaster. Mr. Charles was
engaged for many years in farming. He owned the farm upon which Martin Ruffner had settled in
1812, consisting of one hundred and sixty acres, near the village of Mifflin. He exchanged this
property, a few years since, for the Kauffman mill property on the Black fork, some three miles
southwest of Mifflin. 'Phis is one of the best water-mills within the county, and is kept in constant
motion. Mr. Charles has a large circle of friends, and has been repeatedly elected to township
offices by the citizens of Mifflin. He has served as justice of the peace, and acquitted himself to
the satisfaction of all. He was originally an old line Whig; bull on the disbandment of that party
after the campaign of 1852, he became an upholder of the principles of the Democratic party. He
has passed through all the scenes of the early pioneers, and retains a vivid recollection of the
"rough and ready" habits of the early settlers of the Black fork. He has aided scores of the settlers
in the erection of cabins in rolling logs—at corn huskings, and other gatherings. He has assisted in
opening find improving most of the highways in the north part of the township. He is genial and
agreeable to A and a friend to the poor. He is the father of six children, four of whom still survive,
three residing in Mifflin township, and one daughter in Indiana. Mr.
176 - HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO.
Charles is a member of the Pioneer and Historical society of Ashland county. He is yet vigorous
and cheerful.
JOHN LAMBRIGHT
was born in Frederick City, Maryland, January, 1778. In 1802 he married Anna C. Smith, and in
1811, removed to Harrison county, Ohio, and in the spring of 1812, located in Mifflin township,
Richland, now Ashland county, In the fall of 1812, the cabin of Frederick Zimmer, a neighbor,
was attacked by the Indians, and the son of Mr. Zimmer hastened to inform James Copus and Mr.
Lambright of their presence, and the desire of Martin Ruffner and the Zimmers for their
assistance. Messrs. Copus and Lambright hastened to the cabin, and arrived in the earlier part of
the night, finding all silent in and about the premises. They returned to their respective cabins,
took their families and fled to the block-house of Jacob Beam, on the Rocky fork. Here he
remained three weeks, and fled to Lancaster, Fairfield county, Ohio. While there, Mr. Lambright
was drafted, and served in the northwest, about four months. He and his family remained near
Lancaster three years, and then returned to his deserted cabin on the Black fork, where he
continued to reside until November 9, 1832, when he deceased. Some niembers of his family yet
reside in the township. Mrs. Joseph Doty is a daughter. '
For a full description of the Ruffner, Zimmer, and Co- pus fights, and the part Mr. Lambright
took, see articles on that subject in the historical part of this volume.
JOSIAH THOMAS
was born in Somerset county, Pennsylvania, March 9, 1804. His father, George Thomas, of Welsh
descent, removed to Harrison county, Ohio, and located near Cadiz, in 1807. He was a tailor by
trade, and followed his business there until 1817, when he emigrated to the village of Petersburgh,
now Mifflin, Mifflin township, Ashland county. He, George Thomas, remained there several years
engaged at his trade, and in keeping a hotel, the village being on the main line of travel from
Canton, Wooster to Mansfield, and the west part of the State. Jacob Beam being a brother-in-law
of Mr. George Thomas, and an uncle to Josiah, his two older brothers, Henry and Peter, had
visited Mr. Beam, to see the country prior to the removal of the family. In 1824 George Thomas,
with his family, removed to Orange township, and located upon the present homestead of Josiah
Thomas. Josiah attended the common schools of the neighborhood, and adopted farming as an
occupation. In 1828 he married Miss Eliza Zimmerman. His family consists of seven
children—George, Henry, Warren, Mary, Elizabeth, Freelove, and Harriet. George, Henry and
Elizabeth are married. Mr. Thomas is a quiet, industrious and exemplary farmer. He has never
been an office-seeker ; yet, against his protests, the people of his township have elected him
trustee fifteen or sixteen times. When Ashland county was organized in 1846, Mr. Thomas was
appointed commissioner for the short term, and elected in October, for three years, and served
until 1850. He has been a member of the Disciple church about twenty years. In 1879 he was
elected president of the Historical and Pioneer society of Ashland county, which office he yet
holds.
HON. JOHN DOUGHERTY
was born in Washington county, Pennsylvania, October 0, 1819. His father, Daniel Dougherty,
was born in Ireland and emigrated to the United States in 1806, and landed at Baltimore, and
thence removed to Washington county, Pennsylvania. He emigrated with his family to Milton
township, now Ashland county, in 1822, where he died. Mrs. Dougherty and her children removed
to Vermillion township in 1832. Here John grew to manhood, attending the schools of the
neighborhood. At an early age he took an active part in politics, and being a fluent speaker, he.
was regarded as the leader in his township. He voted with the Democracy. He rarely asked official
promotion for himself. When the gold fever of 1850 spread over the land, he joined in search of
the hidden treasure in California. His venture proved a success, and he returned in 1854. In 1858
he again visited the Pacific slopes, and remained until 1863. He prospected in the mines of Idaho,
Washington and British Columbia with success, and returned to his old home in Ashland county.
In 1861, prior to his return, he was elected a member of the California legislature, and served one
session, and resigned. Having visited nearly all the mines of the Pacific slopes, he is of opinion
there is plenty of gold in the Black Hills, which fact is being concealed by the Indian ring and
other speculators. In 1872 he again returned to California, in the hope of restoring his declining
health, and remained eleven months, to no advantage. His malady is chronic rheumatism, with
which he has been tortured for several years. He now resides near Jeromeville. He has been twice
married. He is an exemplary member of the Catholic church. He is a
high-toned gentleman.*
Z. T. PAULLIN
was born in Greensburgh, Pennsylvania, August 24, 1822, and emigrated with his father's family,
in 1823, to Wayne county, and in 1824 to Vermillion township, now Ashland county. They
located near Daniel Porter on Beall's trail. Mr. Isaac Paulhn, sr., had a description of the country
from Mr. Porter, who passed up the trail in 1812. Isaac Paullin was a shoemaker, and the first
practical workman in that part of the township. He was also the first gunsmith. His sons Z. T. and
Daniel learned the shoemaking business of their father, and continued to manufacture shoes. In
1835 Isaac Paullin
* Mr. Dougherty died in 1878.
MR. AND MRS. JOSIAH THOMAS.
Josiah Thomas, the subject of this sketch, was born in Somerset county, Pennsylvania, March 9,
1804. His parents, George and Mary Beam Thomas, were natives of Pennsylvania. The ancestors
of his father came from Wales, and those of his mother from Germany. George and Mary Thomas,
with their family, removed to Brooke county, Virginia, in about 1807, and remained there about
one year, when they came to Ohio and settled in Harrison county. Mr. Thomas was, by trade, a
tailor, and followed that business until old age compelled him to relinquish it. From Harrison
county the family came to Mifflin township, in the present county of Ashland, about 1817, and
after about seven years again removed in 1824, this time to Orange township, where he purchased
the farm now owned by his son, Josiah Thomas. Here he died at the age of eighty-two years. His
widow survived him some five years, and died aged eighty-five years. They had a family of eleven
children, of whom but two representativessi now remain: Mrs. Elizabeth Jaques, in Illinois, and
Josiah Thomas, the youngest son, on the old homestead.
Josiah Thomas worked on the farm of his father during his boyhood and youth, doing his part
toward redeeming the wilderness, clearing, log-rolling, rail-splitting, building fence, and other
hard manual labor, until his brothers and sisters, having left the farm, died, or married and made
homes for themselves, when, by will, he inherited the property, after paying certain sums to
the other heirs. He was married September 2, 1830, to Eliza Zimmerman, who was born in Union
county, Pennsylvania, December 25, 1809. Her father died when she was small, and she came to
Ohio with other members of the family, when about twenty years of age. To them have been born
ten children, two of whom died in early childhood: Sanford, at the age of three years, three months
and seven days; Jefferson, aged one year, seven months and three days. Adeline died aged
seventeen years and one month. Those now living are: George, Henry C., Warren R., Mary,
Elizabeth, Free- love, and Harriet, all of whom are now married except Warren and Harriet, who
remain at home with their parents.
Mr. Thomas was one of the first commissioners of the present county of Ashland, in which office
he served three years and six months, when he declined to further serve. He has also held the
office of township trustee some seventeen years. He has never been an office- seeker, but the
people of his township, appreciating his worth, have continued him in office. Both himself and his
wife are members of the Disciple church, with which they have been connected some thirty years.
His first vote was cast for Andrew Jackson, and he has ever since adhered to the principles of the
Democratic party. He has a good home in the southern part of Orange township, comprising the
old homestead of one hundred and sixty acres.
HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO - 177
and family settled on the present site of the village of Mohicanville. Here he deceased. Z. T.
Paullin is the only son remaining in Mohican township. He has accumulated a comfortable
property, and has a pleasant family. We obtained many valuable reminiscences from him
concerning the early settlement of Vermillion and Mohican townships.
PETER HUFF
was born in Virginia, December 25, 1798, and when a child accompanied his parents to Beaver
county, Pennsylvania, where he remained until 1825, when he came west and located in Lake
township. He settled on the west side of the Lake fork in the forest, and soon erected a cabin and
began to improve his land. Those residing on the west side of the stream were George Marks,
John C. Young, John Emerick, Enoch Covert, Abraham Blue, Jabez Smith, Emer Akins, and
Nathan Dolby. Mr. Huff has a fine property south of Mohicanville. He is quite vigorous and
retains all his faculties. He has two sons, Samuel and William. The former resides in Mohicanville
and carries on a large woollen manufactory, and the latter resides. on the homestead. Mr. Huff
stays with his son.
WESLEY COPUS
was born in Green county, Pennsylvania, August 15, 1804, and immigrated, with his father's
family, to Mifflin township, Richland, now Ashland county, in the spring of 1809. In reaching
their wilderness home, they passed through the Indian village of Greentown, and followed a trail
to the south part of what is now Mifflin township, and erected a camp cabin of poles about one
mile northeast of what is now Charles' mill, near a run subsequently named Zimmer's. They
resided in this cabin about fifteen months. In the meantime, the family cleared a few acres and
planted corn. It was frosted in July, and much injured. Mr. Copus had moved his family in a cart,
with a good yoke of oxen; and also brought two or three mulch cows, which fed, during the
summer, on sedge grass and pea-vines. In the spring of 1810, he commenced the erection of a
more substantial log cabin near a fine spring, about one mile south of his pole cabin, and removed
to it during the summer of 1810. The old Greentown trail passed near the spring, and Mr. Copus
was often visited by the Greentown Indians, during the spring and summers of 1809-10-11– 12.
Thomas Armstrong, the chief; and his sons Silas and James, and Tom Lyons, Bill Dowdee, Billy
Montour, Abram Williams, and others, frequently came to the cabin, and were quite friendly.
James and Silas Armstrong, then boys, often came to the sugar camp and ran races and wrestled
with the Copus boys. For over three years the intercourse continued in harmony, and not until
after the disgraceful surrender of General Hull at Detroit, in August, 1812, were any
apprehensions of danger from the Greentown Indians felt. Fears were then entertained that they
might be corrupted through British influence, and attack the defenceless settlements along the
branches of the Mohican.
As a means of safety the State authorities ordered the removal of the Jerome and Greentown
Indians to Piqua, after which, a number of Greentown Indians, who had, prior to that time, fled to
Upper Sandusky, returned and assassinated the family of Frederick Zimmer and Margaret Ruffner,
and, a few days afterward, attacked the cabin of James Copus, father of Wesley, and killed him,
and several soldiers near the cabin. Wesley, then nine years old, with the balance of the family,
was in the cabin during the assault, and saw his father fall and expire, He retained a vivid
recollection of the terrific screams of the savages as they riddled the walls of the cabin with
bullets.
After this tragedy, his mother and children returned to Guernsey county, where they remained
until the fall of 1814, when they came back to the old cabin, where, some forty years afterward,
Mrs. Copus deceased. At that time the family consisted of Henry, Nancy, Sarah, James, Wesley,
Nelson, and Anna.
Wesley Copus continued to reside in the vicinity of the old homestead. For several years his
health had been gradually failing. It had been apparent for some time that he could not survive a
great while. Having been somewhat exposed to the inclemency of the weather, he was attacked
with pneumonia, and expired February 14, 1878.
During his youth his educational advantages were limited, and his entire schooling consisted of
about three months; but, by observation, a retentive memory, and good judgment, he had acquired
a fund of information, and was a very interesting conversationalist.
He was twice married. His first wife survived only six months. By his second wife he had ten
children, six of whom survive—John W., Madison, Eliza J., Sarah, Mary, and Nancy E., all of
whom are married.
Mr. Copus was a member of the United Brethren church for thirty-five years. As a citizen, he was
industrious, conscientious, and the opponent of all shams and vices. He was buried at the old
cemetery near Charles' mill, where many of his kindred sleep. Mr. Copus being enrolled among
the pioneers, the obituary committee of the Pioneer and Historical society, of Ashland county,
adopted the customary resolutions.
Only two of the James Copus family now survive— Mrs. Sarah Vail, of Mifflin, and Mrs. Anna
Whitmer, of Wood county, Ohio.
FREDERICK W. COFFIN
was born in Washington county, New York, January 6, 1809. He learned the trade of a
cabinet-maker in Vermont. On reaching manhood he married Mary Waters, of Bennington, and
located in Troy, New York, in 1833. In 1845 he removed to Mohicanville, Ashland county, where
he remained two years, and removed to Ashland, where he still resides. He is of English de-
178 - HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO,
scent, and the family trace their ancestry back to the invasion of the conqueror William, of
Normandy. The Coffins settled in Worcester, Massachusetts, as early as 1842. At one time the
Coffins were the proprietors of Nantucket.
Mr. Coffin is an excellent mechanic, and a gentleman of high integrity. He is the parent of twelve
children, part of whom are deceased. In December, 1875, he held a family reunion; those present
were: the father, Frederick W. Coffin, aged sixty-seven; the mother, Mary Coffin, aged sixty-two;
Mrs. L, J. Sprengle, Mrs. F. H. Smith, Mrs. M. Jennings, Mrs. E. L. Mcllrath, Thaddeus Coffin,
Arthur W. Coffin, Eugene Coffin, Harry T. Coffin, and Edward Coffin. These, with relations by
marriage, and offspring, numbered in all thirty-two souls. If the mother of Mrs. Mary Coffin, who
resides in Troy, New York, aged eighty-six, had been present, there would have been five
generations under the same roof.
The Coffins are noted for their musical endowments, and when all together make an interesting
family concert.
THOMAS SMITH SUTHERLAND
was born in Washington county, Pennsylvania, November 4, 1818, and removed with his father's
family to Richland (now Ashland,) county, in 1833. He became a farmer by occupation, and
married Martha Sheets, daughter of the late Joseph Sheets, one of the pioneers of Montgomery
township. Mr. Sutherland purchased from his father's estate part of the homestead one and a half
miles south of Ashland, and more recently the balance of the home farm, from the heirs.
He was a man of industrious and economical habits, and noted for his integrity and strict honesty.
He possessed an excellent judgment, and was honored by being selected to fill several township
offices.
On the third day of May, 1876, Mr. Sutherland was fatally injured while assisting in the removal
of a neighbor. Being in advance of other teams, in a small wagon, one of the teams became
alarmed at a hog who jumped up by the road side, and commenced to run. Mr. Sutherland turned
aside to permit the team to pass, but was run into, breaking his wagon to splinters, and in passing
over him, the wheels crushed two or three ribs. He survived until the fifth, and deceased. The
melancholy termination of his life produced a feeling of sadness throughout the township. He left
a widow and one daughter, the wife of Mr. Jameson. A large concourse of friends and neighbors
followed him to his final resting place in the cemetery at Ashland.
NATHANIEL HASKELL
was born in Windsor county, Vermont, October 3, 1792. He emigrated to Ohio in 1817, and
located in Cleveland. In July, 1818, he removed to Wooster, Wayne county, where he remained
three years, and located in Loudonville, Richland, now Ashland, county. Soon after his arrival, he
erected a carding-machine and fulling mill, which for several years was a great neighborhood
convenience. In April, 1823, he married Hettia A. Skinner, the daughter of a pioneer, who erected
the first grist-mill in the vicinity of Loudonville. Mr. Haskell was a thrifty business man and
accumulated property quite rapidly. He laid out an addition to Loudonville, and, by his business
energy and strict integrity, contributed to the growth of the town. He was long engaged in the
mercantile business, and possessed tact and energy in its management. He took a deep interest in
the school system of Ohio, and was always liberal in forwarding the interests of education. He
was, for many years, an active member of the Masonic fraternity, and noted for his genial
disposition and love for that ancient order. In his later years 1868—he became the principal
stockholder and owner of the Haskell bank, of Loudonville, which was an institution of deposit
and exchange, and was managed by him. In 1855 his excellent wife deceased, September 30,
1871, Mr. Haskell deceased, leaving his bank interest to a nephew, he having died childless. The
institution was conducted by the nephew until 1875, when he deceased.
DANIEL BEACH
was born in Warren, Litchfield county, Connecticut, March 18, 1785. In 1805 he came on foot to
Canfield, Mahoning county, Ohio, and worked one year, then returned and married Lorinda
Sacket, January 1, 1810, He purchased two hundred acres of wild land in what is now Summit
county, Ohio, to which he removed in 1811, coming the entire route with a yoke of oxen and one
horse. In 1812 he was drafted in the military service, and served near Fort Croghan six months. In
1823 he disposed of his farm and accompanied Bradford Sturtevant in search of a new home to
Ruggles township, Huron, now Ashland county, and purchased, of Jessup cot. Wakeman, of
Connecticut, one mile square of land in section three, he taking the west and smallest part. He
returned, and in July, 1823, removed with his wife and five children Cyrus, Reuben, Cordelia,
Harriet, and Daniel, to his new home in the forest, about one mile west of what is now known as
the corners. The paths in the forest were narrow, and required quite an effort to get over by teams.
He had two yoke of oxen to haul his goods. He encamped one night in Medina county, and one
night at Sullivan center. A man—Mr. John Soles piloted him thence by way of New London. He
encamped one night on the route in what is now Troy, and again at New London, and was just one
week in reaching his forest home. Their first supper was cooked at the fire of a deserted Indian
camp on the premises, The forest was dense, and it required years of unremitting toil to prepare
the lands for culture. Mr. Beach was accompanied in his removal by Eleazer Sacket, a brother-
in-law. He built a pole cabin, ten by fifteen feet, in which he resided until he built a log cabin. By
fall he had cleared five acres, which he put in wheat. Other pioneers began to select lands, and Mr.
Beach's cabin
HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO - 179
was frequently visited. In the winter of 1824 he hired hands, and cleared the timber from one
hundred acres. In the spring he and Bradford Sturtevant returned to Tallmadge and purchased
apple-trees for new orchards, some of which yet bear fruit. Mr. Beach, by industry and economy,
accumulated a handsome property, In 1854 he divided his homestead between his two sons,
Wakeman and William, and removed to Kent county, Michigan. Mrs. Beach died on a visit to
Ruggles, at the residence of her son, Cyrus Beach, in November, 1856. Mr. Beach subsequently
married Mrs. Frances Peck, widow of Tylor Peck. He died at his residence in Ruggles in May,
1882. He was remarkable for his habits of industry and enterprise. He was exact and careful in all
his business transactions, and his integrity was never questioned. His children were Cyrus S.,
Reuben K., Harriet L., married to Rollin Curtiss, Daniel, deceased, Wakeman J., and Cordelia M.,
married to Isaac Cowell. Most of the family reside within Ruggles township, and are noted as
farmers and stock growers, Wakeman Beach, born January 11, 1825, is believed to have been the
first child born within the township. He resides on the old homestead west of the corners. I am
indebted to him for the foregoing sketch.
BRADFORD STURTEVANT
was born in Litchfield county, Connecticut, March 18, 1788. January 1, 1809, he married Sarah
Carter, and removed to Richfield, now Summit county, Ohio, in June, 1818. Here he improved a
small farm, which he sold in 1823, and purchased, in company with Daniel Beach, one section in
Ruggles township, then in Huron county. In August, 1823, he erected a cabin, and removed with
his wife and children in September. He removed with ox teams, taking along twelve head of cattle
and twenty sheep. The following winter he returned to Richfield and purchased a lot of stock
hogs, and drove them through the woods to Ruggles. July 4, 1824, three of the four pioneer
families of Ruggles celebrated independence at the cabin of Mr. Sturtevant, They had a dinner,
and in the evening, for fire-works, attempted to blast a white wood tree, but failed. In 1838 he
removed to the village of Milan, Erie county, to give his children the educational advantages of
the place. In 1844 he returned to Ruggles, and deceased in May, 1871, aged about eighty-five
years. He was a man of fixed purposes, highly conscientious in his moral ideas, and a most
successful farmer. He engaged largely in raising fine stock, and by good management accumulated
a handsome homestead. Like his New England ancestors, he was a Puritan in his religious
opinions, and possessed the confidence and esteem of all his neighbors and acquaintances. His
children were— Carleton H,; Marcia, married to B. Ashley, of Milan; Harriet, deceased; Sarah,
married to Dr. Galpin, of Milan; Isaac G., who resides on the homestead; Martha, married to
Horace Taylor, a missionary to India; and William B. Martha was the first female child born in
the township—May 17, 1825. Isaac G. Sturtevant, from whom we obtained the foregoing
particulars, married Adelaide Carter, Carleton H. married Lydia Peck, and William B. married
Anna Wolcott. He also states that the first school-house was built in 1824, half a mile west of the
residence of Bradford Sturtevant, and was taught by Miss. Betsy Sacket, sister of Harvey Sacket.
The school was supported by subscription. The scholars were of the families of the Beaches,
Sturtevants, and from Greenwich township, adjoining Ruggles. The first church organization was
in 1827. It was Congregational, and Rev, E. T. Woodruff was the first minister. At that time the
pioneers attended mill at Cold creek, in Erie county, some forty miles away. They reached the mill
on pack-horses, by winding paths through a dense forest, finding but few settlers on the way. Two
or three years after the arrival of Bradford Sturtevant, the little colony was increased by the arrival
of Jacob Roorbach, Harvey Sacket, Justus Barnes, Taylor Peck, Solomon Weston, Aldrich Carver,
Norman Carter, James Poag, Abraham Ferris, Albert Buell, George W. Curtiss, Reuben Fox, and
others. Isaac G. Sturtevant is a model farmer and stock-grower. He resides about half a mile west
of the corners. Adorned by tasteful buildings, select fruit orchards, and good fences, his
homestead furnishes proof that the lessons of economy, neatness, and business tact, enforced by
the father, are carefully followed and adhered to by the son. He is a genial and intelligent
gentleman.
HARVEY SACKET
was born in Warren, Connecticut, December 24, 1791. He came to Tallrnadge, Ohio, with his
father in 1811. In 1812 he was drafted, and served six months in the army of the northwest. In
1816 he returned to Connecticut and married Thalia Eldred, and located in Tallmadge until 1825,
when he removed to Ruggles township, on lot eleven, section three. He removed with ox teams,
and owing to sparseness of settlers, and the narrow forest paths, was eight days on the way. Mr.
Sacket died August 11, 1875. He was twice married. His family by his first wife was: Dimmes,
wife of Mr. Smith; Erastus and Erasmus M.; Irena, wife of C. Curtiss. His first wife died in 1843,
and in 1844 he married Mrs. Mary Van Vranken, widow of Garrett Van Vranken. He had one son,
Justus H. Sacket, by his second wife. Justus resides on the homestead. Mr. Sacket was long a
member of the Congregational church, and was an excellent citizen. He was the first justice of
Ruggles. Most of the family reside in Ruggles township.
ALDRICH CARVER
was born in Tolland county, Connecticut. He came to Huron county in 1818. In 1819 he assisted
in capturing some Indian murderers, who were subsequently hung at Norwalk. In 1821 he returned
to Cayuga county, New York, and married Amy Kniffin, In the fall of
180 - HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO.
1822 he settled in Greenwich, Huron county, Ohio, and in the spring of 1825 on lot ten and
eighteen, section four, in Ruggles. Mr. Carver served as justice of the peace in Ruggles, and as
commissioner and auditor of Ashland county. He was a shrewd politician, and a man of good
native abilities. He died of cancer of the face in 1870, aged about sixty-five years. His family
consisted of Fanny, wife of Daniel Huffman; Phebe, wife of Jacob Huffman, and John, who
resides on the homestead. Mr. Carver was one of the petitioners for the organization of the
township in 1826. It was called Ruggles, after Judge Almon Ruggles, who surveyed the Fire
Lands. At the first election, held January 2, 1826, there were twelve votes cast: Perry Durfee
Harvey, Sacket, Norman Carter, Truman Bates, Reuben Fox, Bradford Sturtevant, Jacob
Roorback, Abraham Ferris, Justice Barnes, Daniel Beach, Ezra D. Smith, and Aldrich Carver. The
officers chosen were: E. D, Smith, clerk; Jacob Roorback, D. Beach, and A. Carver, trust Bradford
Sturtevant and Harvey Sacket, overseers o poor; J. Barnes and A. Ferris, fence viewers; Reuben
Fox and Perry Durfee, appraisers of property; N. Carter, constable; J. Bates, supervisor, and
Harvey Sacket, treasurer. There were thirteen offices and twelve voters.
At the April election, the vote was increased by the names of C. Sanders, A. Bates, T. Hendrix, D.
J. Parker, and S. A. Nott. Harvey Sacket was chosen justice of the peace.
JAMES POAG
removed into Ruggles from Clearcreek in 1827. He died April 9, 1854. He was twice married, and
left by the two marriages some seven or eight children, part of whom reside in the township.
NORMAN CARTER
was born in Warren, Connecticut, January 23, 1802, and came to Ruggles in 1824, and located on
lot twenty-six, section four. He labored some three years, part of the time for Daniel Beach, and
returned to Connecticut in 1827, and married Lavina Hopkins; and in 1828 removed to Ruggles,
where he has since deceased. His family consisted of Huldah Adelaide, wife of Isaac G.
Sturtevant, and Sarah Lavina, married to William Gault. They all reside in Ruggles.
ABRAHAM FERRIS
was born in Columbia county, New York, June 16, 1788. He served in the war of 1812, and
married Marinda Philips, and removed to Ruggles township in 1824- He voyaged up the lake from
Buffalo to Sandusky in a schooner, and after being delayed by a lake storm, reached Ruggles, by
way of New London, and located on lot seventeen, section three, having erected a cabin. His
family, at his decease, which took place August 13, 1850, consisted of Laura, Philetus, Samuel,
Sarah, Lois, Erastus, Elias, Jesse and Elmira. His wife died September 17, 1850. Several members
of the family are now deceased.
JACOB ROORBACK
was born in Maryland, February 27, 1795, and his parents removed to Yates county, New York,
where he was drafted and served in the war of 1812, He married Amy Sutherland in 1821, and in
1823 purchased four hundred acres of land in section two, in Ruggles, to which he removed in
1824. He died March 21, 1850, His wife deceased shortly afterward. He had but one child, Sarah,
who married A. W. Purdy, of the same township.
JAMES GRINOLD
was born in Washington county, New York, May 26, 1814. Removed to Belleville, Richland
county, Ohio, in company with his brother Thomas, in 1828. Resided there until 1830, then
located in Berlin, Huron county, and in 1836 removed to Ruggles Corners, where his brother had
settled a few months prior. He married Sarah Taylor in 1837. He is a cooper by trade, but is now a
farmer. He is an active Democratic partisan, and takes an influential part in the party. He was
deputy sheriff from 1852 to 1854. Thomas became justice of the peace in 1836, and was defeated
in 1839, political lines being closely drawn. He deceased, of consumption, in October, 1846.
James at present resides at the Corners. He has no children.
GEORGE W. BOWERICE
was born in Frederick county, Maryland, November 15, 1818, and came with his father, Christian
Bowerice, to Orange township, Richland (now Ashland) county, in 1829. He removed to Troy
township in 1845. He married Eva Stober, daughter of Jacob Stober, of Clearcreek. Christian
Bowerice, his father, also settled in Troy, and deceased September 3, 1866, aged seventy- three
years. Mrs. Bowerice died in October, 1869, aged seventy-two years. George W. is their only son.
His family consists of six boys and three girls. Mr. Bower- ice is an intelligent farmer, and may be
regarded as one of the pioneers of Troy;
ROSWELL WESTON
was born in Litchfield county, Connecticut, July 28, 1811, He removed with his father, Salmon
Weston, to Ruggles township, Huron (now Ashland) county, in the spring of 1826. His father died
in 1864, aged about seventy-six years. He left two sons, Phineas and Roswell, the subject of this
sketch. Roswell died May 21, 1875, aged sixty-four years He resided two miles east of t1-1. cen-
HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO - 181
ter. His family consisted of one daughter, Lucy, who married Milton N. Campbell, who resides at
Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, and one son, Clarendon, who resides with his mother on the homestead.
Phineas Weston resides in Ruggles, two miles east of the center, adjoining the homestead of
Roswell.
JOSEPH McCUTCHIN
was born in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, August 3, 1803. He resided a short time, in his youth,
in Maryland, where he attended school. In 1815 his father's family removed to Westmoreland
county, Pennsylvania, where he served an apprenticeship of three years at the hatter's business. In
1828 he married Nancy Stem, and removed to Pittsburgh. In 1835 he came to Orange township,
Richland (now Ashland) county, and, in 1845, removed to Savannah, where he still resides. His
wife died in 1843, and, in 1845, he married Mary Ann Freeborn, daughter of one of the pioneers
of Clearcreek.
Mr. McCutchin has been in the mercantile business for many years. He connected with the
Methodist Episcopal church in 1818. He became a member of the Masonic fraternity in
Pittsburgh--Miller lodge, No. 165 —in 1830, and of Western Star lodge, of the Odd Fellows, No.
24, in 1832. He has been notary public about seventeen years; mayor of Savannah four years;
postmaster eleven years, and township treasurer six years. He is the father of a large family, part
of whom are married, and part deceased.
Mr, McCutchin is a quiet and undemonstrative citizen. In politics he acts, with the Democratic
party, though not proscriptive in his opinions.
CHARLES S. VAN ARNAN
was born in Columbia county, State of New York, April 5, 1814. He lost his parents in infancy,
and is a self- educated man. He became a professional teacher in early life. He came to Clearcreek
township as early as 1838, where he taught school. In 1839 he located in Ashland, where he taught
several sessions. In 1843 he acted as deputy sheriff under Sheriff Kerr, of Richland county, After
the erection of Ashland county, he served a number of years as constable for Montgomery
township, and as superintendent of the county infirmary. He studied law with Gates & McComes,
and was admitted in 1853. He married Eunice Cornell, of Elyria, in 1842. He removed to Troy in
1854, and became a farmer-lawyer. During the war of 1861-5, he served in Tennessee. Since his
return he has been elected justice of the peace. He is now farming one mile southeast of the
center. He is the parent of three girls and two sons, one of whom fell in the late war. The other
members of his family are married. As the name denotes, Mr. Van Arnan is a descendant of the
original Hollanders, of New York.
NATHANIEL CLARK
was born in the State of New York, March 0, 1792. In 1799 his father removed to Seneca county,
New York. In 1812 he was drafted and served in the war. After peace he married Elizabeth
Phelps, of the same county. In 1832 he moved to Troy township and settled amid the forests. He
located north of the center, where he still resides on lot eighteen, upon an improved farm of
ninety-nine acres. His family consists of but two children, both of whom are married. His
honorable wife is a sister of Mrs. Parker, of the same township. At this time, 1876, he and his
aged wife are in the enjoyment of good health. They are members of the Methodist Episcopal
church.
SAMUEL RICHARDS
was born in Jefferson county, Ohio, December 23, 1863. When a young man he located in Orange
township, of this county, and removed to Troy in 1857. The township was at that time thinly
settled. It was densely timbered, and the pioneers performed a prodigy of labor in removing the
forest and preparing fields for culture. His family consisted of six sons and six daughters.
Four--two boys and two girls—are dead. The balance are married and reside mostly within this
county. His wife deceased in 1875. He resides at present with a son at. Troy center. He is a
member of the Methodist Episcopal church.
HENRY SMITH
was born in Pennsylvania in 1796, and -located in Columbiana with his parents after the war of
1812. He moved thence to Clearcreek township, where he resided until 1846, when he purchased
a farm and settled in Troy township. He cleared and improved a valuable homestead. He died in
1865, aged about sixty-nine years. His family were : John, Adam, Samuel, Joseph, Elizabeth
Biddinger, Susan Stentz, Mary Ann Beymer, and Caroline Barrack. The family are considerably
scattered.
THOMAS DUNLAP
was born in the north of Ireland in 1772, and in infancy came with his father's family to
Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, about the beginning of the war of the Revolution. Upon
reaching manhood, he married Margaret Blair, and in the spring of 1809, removed to Tallmadge,
Portage county, Ohio. He remained there until November, 1830, when he located in Ruggles
township, Huron (now Ashland,) county. When he entered the township he found the following
settlers, who had preceded him some years: Daniel Beach, Bradford Sturtevant, John Jameson,
Aldrich Carver, Harvey Sacket, Justus Barnes, Norman Carter, Reuben Fox, Salmon Weston,
Taylor Peck, G. Ferrier, Mr. Murphy, Andrew
182 - HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO
Clark, James Poag, Enoch Taylor, Benjamin Green, Joshua Frost, Samuel Monroe, David Blair,
John Hall. Samuel Monroe, David Blair, and Enoch Taylor were shoemakers, and Benjamin
Green and Joshua Frost, blacksmiths.
John Dunlap, oldest son of Thomas Dunlap, came on and worked for Daniel Beach, prior to the
removal of the Dunlap family, and died at the cabin of Mr. Beach.
Thomas Dunlap died in 1847, aged seventy-five years, and his wife in August, 1872, aged
eighty-six. The family were: John, who died at the cabin of Mr. Beach, William, Thomas, Nancy,
wife of W. McMeekin, Alexander, David, Samuel, Solomon, Amos, James, Joseph, and John F.
All are now dead except David, William, and James. David resides in Wood county, Ohio;
William in Michigan; and James in Sullivan, Ashland county, Ohio. He has been commissioner of
Ashland county six years, and is at present conducting a hotel. He married Minerva .Myers,
daughter of Jacob Myers, of Clearcreek. He has four boys and four girls.
The Dunlap family was noted for tremendous physical power. All the sons, but two, were full six
feet in height, and averaged about one hundred and eighty pounds in weight. As axe-men, log
rollers, and pioneer delvers in the forest, it would be difficult to find another equally vigorous
class of brothers. Like their Scotch-Irish ancestors, they were all frank and generous.
SAMUEL ROBERTSON
was born in Washington county, Pennsylvania, May 20, 1797. His father, James Robertson, of
Scotland, settled in that county about 1794. He removed, with his family to Cross Creek township,
Jefferson county, Ohio, in 1798, where he died. Samuel Robertson, grew to manhood in Jefferson
county, and in 1817 visited Milton, Montgomery, and Orange townships, in what is now Ashland
county. The Burgetts and Montgonierys, of Milton township, were friends and acquaintances. In
1817 he worked most of the spring and summer for George Burgett, assisting him in clearing his
lands, and in cutting and preparing timber for a new barn. He returned to Jefferson county and
remained during the winter. The next spring he was accompanied by Alexander Morrow, a
brother-in-law of the late Patrick Elliot, of Clearcreek. Their route was from Cadiz to Coshocton,
thence up the Walhonding, to and up Owl creek to Mt. Vernon, thence to Mansfield. For nearly
twenty miles south of Mansfield he found only an occasional cabin, and from there to Burgetts an
almost unbroken forest. In the fall of 1818 and spring of 1819, he and John Grimes assisted Isaac
Charles in preparing a race and dam for a grist- and saw-mill one and a half miles south of the
present site of Olivesburgh, on the Black fork. Wages were very low and money very scarce at
that period. The pioneers were crowding into Montgomery and the surrounding townships. Cabin
raisings and log-rollings were the chief occupation of the new settlers, A wonderful amount of
energy and self- sacrifice were expended in assisting the incoming pioneers. The woodman's axe
could be heard ringing in every township. Mr. Robertson states that wild game at this period was
very numerous, particularly deer and turkey. The leading hunters were Solomon Uric, John
McConnell, James Clark, Christopher Mykrantz, and a Mr. Wheeler. In the spring of 1824, he
resided in what is now Seneca county, and worked that summer for Mr. Gibson, father of General
William H. Gibson, and remembers the organization of the county, and the location of the seat of
justice at Tiffin. There was an Indian reservation within the limits of the county and the Senecas,
or more properly, Cayugas, were quite numerous, though generally friendly and harmless. He
remained there about one year. When he entered the county, in 1824, he is of the opinion that
there were only about a dozen or twenty white families in that region, among whom were the
Gibsons, Welshes and H, C. Brish, Indian agent. He reached the county by way of Beall's trail,
New' Haven and Fort Ball. In 1833 he located in the north part of Wayne county, where he cleared
a small farm which, in 1837, he sold, and purchased lot one hundred, in Sullivan township,
Lorain, now Ashland, county. It was densely covered with tall timber. He cleared and resided
upon this farm about eighteen years. He then purchased a new homestead in Orange township,
known as the Linard farm. Here his wife, with whom he had lived very happily for many years,
deceased. He afterward sold his farm, and now (1878) resides in Ashland. His family consisted of
James, who died in the hospital in United States service in 1883; John, who resides in; Michigan
Margaret, wife of Thomas Miller; Rebecca, wife of John Welsh; Mary, wife of Michael Stentz;
Isabel, wife of James Campbell, and Sarah Jane, wife of John Crawford. Mr. Robertson has
passed through all the pioneer scenes of the county, and still possesses a good deal of physical
vigor. His memory seems to be unimpaired, and he may survive many years. Mr. Robertson died
about 1878, in Orange township.
PATRICK ELLIOTT
was born in Donegal county, Ireland, in 1788, and emigrated with his parents, and located in
Washington county, Pennsylvania, in 1803. He grew up in that county, and married Nancy
Morrow, of Jefferson county, Ohio, in 1813, and removed to Clearcreek township, Richland
county, and located on the southwest quarter of section twelve, in the spring of 1817. He resided
on his farm until 1828, when he deceased. He was a member of the Episcopal church from his
youth. At his death his family consisted of his wife, Sarah, Mary, Elizabeth, Hugh, Jane, George,
and Moses, of whom only Hugh and Moses survive. Mrs. Elliott died in 1847, aged about sixty
years.
Mrs. Elliott is believed to have taught the first subscription school, in her own cabin, in
Clearcreek township, in 1817, the parties sending scholars assisting Mr. Elliott
HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO - 183
to clear his land in payment for tuition. Noble woman! Hugh, the oldest son, fifty-six years of age,
and Moses, the youngest, reside on the old homestead.
ALLEN OLIVER
was born in Washington county, Pennsylvania, in 1757, and in 1810 removed from Beaver county
to the Clear fork of the Mohican, now in Ashland county, and, in February of the same year,
located on the farm upon which his son, Lewis Oliver, now resides, on the Black fork, about one
mile east of the present site of Perrysville. His family consisted of three sons—John, Daniel, and
Lewis—and four daughters—Mrs. Mary Tannehill, Mrs. Sarah Tannehill, Mrs. Elizabeth
McMahan, and Mrs. Margaret Quick.
He forted in his double log cabin in 1812, during the Indian excitement, and remained undisturbed
until the close of the war. The Greentown Indians, Thomas Lyons, Billy Dowdee, James
Armstrong, Jonacake, and others, often visited him after the war.
Mr. Oliver died in 1823, aged about sixty-four years. His wife died in 1827, aged sixty-seven
years. Mrs. Mary Tannehill, wife of Charles Tannehill, died in 1854, aged fifty-nine years; Sarah
Tannehill, wife of Melzer Tannehill, jr., still survives, aged about seventy-four years; Mrs.
Elizabeth McMahan and Mrs. Margaret Quick, died in 1872, aged, respectively, seventy-six and
seventy-one years. Daniel Oliver resides one mile northeast of Loudonville, and is about
eighty-four years of age; John deceased on his homestead, three miles below Perrysville, in 1854,
aged sixty-four years.
John Chapman had a nursery of fruit trees on the farm of John Oliver, from which sprang nearly
all the early orchards of Green township.
Mr. Oliver was an agreeable conversationalist, and a steadfast friend. His family continue to
reside on the old homestead. We have given a sketch of Lewis Oliver elsewhere.
GEORGE W. CURRY
was born in Tompkins county, New York, May 20, 1812. He attended school and remained there
until 1838, when he married Ava Ann Smith, and removed to Clarksfield, Huron county, and
resided there five months, and located in Clearcreek, Richland, now Ashland, county, where he
farmed four years, and in 1842 settled in the north part of Ruggles, and in 1849 sold to Mr. Peck,
and purchased the farm formerly owned by Geo. Eaton, where he now (1876) resides. Mr. Curry
was a very active anti-slavery man, during the palmy days of that institution. He is now a
Democrat. He has been a member of the Baptist church, of Savannah, a number of years. He is the
parent of thirteen children, nine of whom are deceased. The living are John B., Geo. W., Lucretia
A., and Francis J.; all married. Mr. Curry is noted for his skill and industry as a farmer, and his
zeal in whatever he regards as right and honorable.
COLONEL GEORGE W. URIE
was born in Washington County, Pennsylvania, February 22, 1806, and emigrated with his father's
family to Orange township, Richland, now Ashland county, Ohio, in November, 1815. For many
years he has been a citizen of Ashland. His tastes are strongly military. Under the old State
organization, he was promoted through the various grades, from captain to colonel, of his
regiment of independent rifles. When mounted on horseback, properly caparisoned, he was a fine
looking officer, being tall and finely proportioned. With an unusually piercing black eye, he was
every inch a soldier, in address and appearance. In the fall of 1845 he was elected treasurer of
Richland county, and upon the erection of Ashland county, in 1846, he resigned, and was elected
the first treasurer of the new county, which office he held two terms. Being bitten by the gold
fever in 1851, he spent one year in California, reaching that region by way of Panama. In 1853 he
was elected a member of the State board of equalization from the district composed of Ashland
and Richland counties. In 1857 he was appointed deputy United States marshal for the northern
district of Ohio, and in 1860 aided in taking the census. In 1865 he was elected recorder of
Ashland county, and held the office until 1874. In the spring of 1874 he was elected mayor of
Ashland, and held the office two years. Colonel Urie is a member of the Presbyterian church, and
noted for his integrity and uprightness. He is a son of the late Solomon Urie, noticed elsewhere.
The family of Colonel Uric consists of four daughters, Mrs. Mary J. Porter, Mrs. Alice A. Beer,
Mrs. Libbie H. Anderson, and Mrs. Sadie A. Beer, and a son who died young. Mrs. Porter
deceased in September, 1875.
JOHN CHAPMAN.
[The oddest character in all our history was John Chapman, alias Appleseed, who was discovered
in Knox county as early as 1801. A. B. NORTON.]
John Chapman, sometimes called "Johnny Apple- seed," because of a penchant for planting apple
seeds, and the cultivation of nurseries, was born in Massachusetts, as is believed, in the year 1770.
Nothing is known of his ancestry, except that they were genuine Yankees, poor, enterprising, and
restless,. His name was not "Jonathan," as it is generally printed in pioneer sketches, but plain
John Chapman; hence, he is generally called, among the early settlers of this region, "Johnny
Appleseed."* It is remarkable he never communicated his
* This fact is gathered from a letter addressed to the Fort Wayne Sentinel, by Hon. J. W. Dawson,
author of a history of Allen county, Indiana, dated October 11, 1871. He found "John Chapman"
to be his true name, in looking over the papers of his estate, which was settled in the probate court
of Allen county. For instance, two notes were filed against his estate, one dated at Franklin,
supposed to be on the Great Miami river, in Ohio, February, 1804, payable to Nathaniel Chapman,
one year after date, for one hundred dollars"in apple trees or land;" the other, one hundred dollars,
payable to some minor children named Rudde, of the commonwealth of Massachusetts, when they
became of age, both of which were signed by John Chapman. A better evidence of his name was
found in the purchases of land, which
184 - HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO
real history to his most intimate friends, and was equally reticent concerning his youth and school
days. We have only a glimmer of his early instruction, and even there, but a single ray of light
bursts through the clouds that hover over and about his boyhood. All agree that he was a good
reader—eloquent at times—and that in conversation, when discoursing upon fine fruit, and the
spiritual theories of his beloved Swedenborg, his dark eyes would flash with peculiar intelligence,
while he discussed his favorite topics. It was clear to all that his education had not been neglected,
for he possessed a fair fund of information upon many subjects not connected with his fruit
enterprises.
The time when, and the reason why, he bade adieu to the sterile hills of New England, were never
communicated to ony one, so far as we have been able to learn. Whether the acceptance of the life
of a recluse sprang from disappointment in a love affair, or was voluntary and a matter of choice,
will never be known. As early as 1796-7, he was seen in the autumns, for two or three successive
years, along the banks of the Potomac, in eastern Virginia, visiting the cider mills where the
farmers were pressing cider, picking the seeds from the pumice. When he had collected a
sufficient quantity of seeds for his purpose, they were carefully packed in linen or leather sacks,
and carried on his shoulders or by an old horse procured for that purpose, across the mountains, to
the territories west of the Ohio river. He generally had with him an axe, a hatchet, and a Virginia
hoe, with which he cleared and dug in loamy or rich soil, along the banks of a stream, a few rods
of ground, around which he erected a brush fence, and then planted his apple seeds. His first
nurseries were planted, as near as we can learn, along the Tuscarawas, the Muskingum, the
Licking, and Walhonding and its branches, Vernon river, the Lake fork, and the Jerome and Black
forks. He probably passed up the Licking two or three years before he ascended the Walhonding,
which took place about the year 1800. When the Butlers ascended Vernon river to the present site
of Mt. Vernon in 1801, they found the eccentric John Chapman at the cabin of the wild, rollicking
pioneer, Andrew Craig. He planted a number of nurseries along the banks of the Walhonding, and
several along the Vernon river as high up as Mt. Vernon. These nurseries were placed at eligible
points in the region of good farm land; and when the pioneers began to pour in, young fruit trees
in abundance awaited their arrival.
It is not well ascertained when Johnny Chapman commenced planting seeds within the present
limits of Ashland county, but from the fact that most of the territory
he made in Allen county, as well as in Adams and Jay counties, Indiana. The muniments of title,
which he held, were in the name of John Chapman.. He had a sister in Adams or Jay county,
married to a man by the name of Broom, who was probably living at his death. This estate of
Johnny was in litigation about ten years. So he did not die as poor as most people suspected.
This sister of Johnny, alluded to by Hon. J. W. Dawson, was Persis, her husband's name was
William Broom. They at one time resided on the farm now owned by William Cowan, in Green
township, a mile north of Perrysville, on the road to Ashland. Broom had the care of one or two
nurseries (owned by Johnny), in Green township.
along the Black fork belonged to Knox until 1813, we incline to the opinion he may have passed
up the Black fork as early as 1808-9, for he had a very fine nursery one and a half miles west of
Mifflin as early as 1811-12, and had, in 1809, obtained a small piece of ground for a nursery from
Alexander Finley, near the present site of Tylertown, in Mohican township. Here he was ready
with his choice apple-trees as soon as the woodman's axe began to echo through the forest.
Besides the nurseries at Finley's and west of. Mifflin, he planted one on the farm subsequently
owned by the late John Oliver, in Green township, and a fine one on the bottom, near the present
site of Leidigh's mill in Orange township, and sundry smaller ones in the east and west parts of the
county, along the small streams, where the early settlers procured trees for a trifle. Ever restless,
Johnny kept moving from point to point. His nurseries were not neglected, for he frequently
returned and pruned them so as to make the trees symmetrical. His nurseries were scattered along
the streams for hundreds of miles, and he consumed many months during the year traveling from
place to place. Sometimes he would be gone several months, and then suddenly appear among the
pioneers, all tattered and bruised by the briars and brambles, ready to give them fresh news right
from Heaven. His usual charge for young trees was a "fip-penny-bit" apiece. As money was
extremely scarce, Johnny was very accommodating; and if the pioneer could not pay the money he
would sell in exchange for old clothing, and if he could not get such articles he would kindly close
the contract, in a business way, by taking a note payable at some future period, and if he ever got
his pay he was very much gratified, and if he never got it he seemed equally content and happy.
In the year 1811 he extended his operations into Richland county, planting several nurseries there,
and probably one or two within the present limits of Crawford county. During the war of 1812-15,
he often visited Mansfield, Mt. Vernon, Clinton, and the settlements along the forks of the
Mohican and the Walhonding, When these sparsely settled regions were threatened by Indian
invasion, he hastened from cabin to cabin notifying the pioneers of approaching danger, and
conjured them to flee for their lives to the block-houses and places of safety. He was well known
among the Indian tribes; and from his harmless demeanor, was regarded as a "great medicine
man;" and never incurred the hate and suspicion of the warriors. Thus, he was enabled to glide
through the forests from settlement to settlement on errands of mercy, in entire safety. From
Richland county, after the close of the war, he passed through Crawford to Upper Sandusky, and
as early as 1825 into the present limits of Defiance county, and along the Maumee. In 1826 he
visited John H. James, a leading lawyer at Urbana, concerning a nursery that he had planted
sometime prior to that year, in Champaign county, and which had passed into the hands of a third
party, owing to the neglect of the man from whom he had permission to plant it, to reserve the
interest of Chapman. He doubtless had planted nurseries in Delaware county prior to 1826. From
1815
HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO - 185
to 1843, when he made his last visit, he often returned to Ashland county, at which times he
usually passed down the Black fork, among the Copuses, the Irwins, the Coulters, the Tannehills,
the Rices, the Olivers, and the Priests. From thence, he passed over to Finley's; then up the Jerome
fork, among the settlers along that stream, until he reached Jacob Young, Patrick Murray, and the
Fasts and Masons, at his nursery, near Leidigh's mill--rarely stopping in the villages—though
occasionally he called in Mifflin, at the Thomas hotel in Ashland, at Slocum's; and in Mansfield,
at Wiler's. When he did so, he always slept on the floor of the bar-room.
The precise period when he ascended the Maumee and entered the territory of Indiana is left in
doubt. It is probable he had reached Fort Wayne as early as 1826; for in 1830 he was seen on the
Maumee seated in a section of a hollow tree, which he improvised for a boat, laden with
apple-seeds, and which he landed at Wayne's fort. Thus, as the pioneers infringed upon the
location of his nurseries, he passed on, and continued to plant seeds in advance of the settlements,
until death, that waits for no one, called the old man from his toil.
When interrogated on the subject of grafting, he would dilate on the evils of such a custom with as
much earnestness as must surgeons would the operation of separating an arm or a limb from a
human being, insisting that the true way to obtain good fruit was to let it grow upon ungrafted
trees, because the native growth produced the finest fruit. How often he visited the cider mills in
the east is not known; but the practice must have been kept up to a late period in his life, for he
visited the pioneers of Green township as late as 1843, looking very much as he did a quarter of a
century before. The old man generally traveled alone, and rarely had lodgers at his primitive
camp-fires. We hear an occasional instance of parties, desiring to purchase trees, tarrying all night
at his solitary hut.
It is a matter of surprise to many how he survived so long, while roaming through the forests,
without defensive weapons, illy clothed and half famished for healthful food during the inclement
seasons of the year. He always refrained from taking the life of animals—never, if possible, even
disturbing their lairs or haunts. So, he never procured sustenance in that way. His food was
generally meagre, and consisted of berries, nuts, vegetables, and a little corn-bread or mush made
from meal given him in exchange for trees, or as a matter of charity. He carried with him a few
cooking utensils—a tin pan, which served the double purpose of a hat and a mush-pot, when he
had no other head-gear. He would rarely eat at a table with families—and never until he felt sure
there would be enough left to satisfy the hunger of the children, always manifesting a great
affection for young people, especially little girls, for whom he always had some little keep-sake,
consisting of a piece of ribbon or calico. This peculiarity throws a faint explanation over his
monomania for the life of a hermit. The shadow of some bright little lady of New England still
clung to the heart of this strange man.
When he remained any length of time about a nursery
he erected a pole hut, over after the manner of the In
leaves and made a very comfortable be
slept, while the wolves and other wild animal
a sort of rude welcome to their precincts by a
in the vicinity of his slumbers and giving hi
serenades. He often slept on the ground in the of the forest pear a small fire, erected to cook his'.
meal and protect him from freezing, if the weather cold. At other times he reposed upon the leaves
besde a log, with his pan and other traps by his side, and seemed to be the object of special
interest and regard of both wild animals and savages, for he always escaped injury from both. In
his tenderness for every sentient creature he was 'a greater humanitarian or if you please,
"animal tarian," than even the famous Bergh, of New York city; for it is related that more than
once he suffered the chill night air and winds of autumn rather than singe the wings of the
mosquito by his camp-fire. In this respect the affection he possessed for the brute creation seems
to have been fully reciprocated, for the fiercest animals and Johnny Chapman seemed to have had
a truce. He avoided them and they avoided him.
His dress was a marvel of scraps and tatters. It consisted, invariably, of cast off, badly worn
garments, given him by the pioneers in exchange for young apple-trees. He always seemed
thankful for such small favors, and by the aid of such articles—ill-fitting, patched and shabby—
he protected himself against the wintry blasts. Upon his head he generally wore a crownless hat,
much dinged and limbered with rough usage, which he often ran his hand through and carried on
his arm. Sometimes he turned his tin pan over his crownless hat, in the top of which rested a
testament and a well-worn volume of Swedenborg, which he declared was an infallible protection
against snakes, wild animals, Indians, and all other evils. At other times he wore a pasteboard hat,
with an enormous rim, which he conceived protected his face from the scorching rays of the sun,
His feet were generally covered, in the winter season, with old shoes, or one shoe and a boot;
sometimes one foot was bare, undergoing, in most rigorous weather, a sort of penance for some
imaginary violation of Johnny's religious whims. At other times, he wrapped his feet in old rags or
bark, and tied on a sort of wooden sandal, which protected the bottoms of his feet against thorns
and rough stones. Sometimes he was seen slowly advancing through the snow, with one foot
entirely naked, breaking the crust with the other, on which he wore an old boot or brogan, which
he had picked up at some cabin. Being asked why he favored one foot more than the other, he
replied that the one with the boot on had once been bitten by a rattlesnake, and had suffered more
than the other, and deserved to be favored.
While clothed in such habiliments he presented a most ludicrous appearance, and it was hard to
repress a smile on meeting him; yet such was the regard of the pioneers for this strange old roan,
that even the children of the cabins greeted him respectfully when he entered and craved the
privilege of lying upon the floor a short
186 - HISTORY OF ASHLANI) COUNTY, OHIO
right from Heaven. "Al
uld when he entered a the floor, with his knapsack
and his head toward the light of a door or
len he would carefully take out his old worn
exponents of the beautiful religion that
J zealously lived out. We can hear him read
w, as he did that summer day, when we were
quilting up-stairs, and he lay near the door, his
a rising and thrilling, strong and loud, as the roar of
,e waves and winds, then soft and soothing as the
palmy airs that stirred and quivered the morning glory
leaves about his gray head." *
His charitable impulses were such, that when he met a poor emigrant going west, shoeless and
penniless, he would part with his last shoe and penny to help the stranger and his family on their
way. Rude and uncouth as to appearance, he was not without sensibility and modesty; and often
excused himself from entering the cabins of the settlers, "because his clothing was not fit." In
conversation, he was attentive, polite and chaste in all kinds of company. He was a small man,
rather bony and sinewy, about five feet nine inches high, with dark eyes, thin beard, and dark hair,
which he generally wore long. Sometimes he could be induced to chp his beard, which rather
improved his appearance, for his face was more round than bony, and was rather pleasant in
expression, when he engaged in conversation.
His religious sentiments were as remarkable as his other traits. He was a devout and ardent
disciple of the great Swedish seer, Emanuel Swedenborg; and always carried portions of his
works. Whenever an opportunity presented, he entered upon the discussion of the peculiar
doctrines of Swedenborg, upon which he expatiated with great warmth and eloquence. Sometimes
he carried a volume of Swedenborg beneath his waistband, from which he distributed fragments
whenever he could get a reader, until a volume had disappeared. His ideas upon marriage were as
eccentric as upon other topics. He excused himself from entering that state on the ground that he
had a vision, in which two angelic ladies visited him to encourage his single blessedness, by the
assurance that if he held out in this world, he would secure two wives in the world to come! While
relating this circumstance, a wag took the liberty of interrogating Johnny as to the occupation of
people in the other world. Johnny seemed to think people would recognize the marriage state
there, and pursue much the same occupations they did here. The wag said:
"So you think men will follow the same occupations in Heaven?"
Johnny—"I really do."
Wag—"Do people die in Heaven?"
Johnny—"I think not."
Wag—"Then my occupation is gone; for I am a grave-digger!"
Johnny seemed somewhat quizzed by this argument,
* Recollections of Johnny Appleseed by Rosella Rice, contributed to Knapp's History, page 32.
but still consoled himself on the idea of having two wives in the spiritual land of Swedenborg. His
theological tenets taught him it was wrong to deprive any creature of life; and he carried this
doctrine so far as to refuse even to kill a rattlesnake, after it had bitten him, His kindness to horses
was such, that when he found an old or worn down animal turned out to die, by pioneers, he
would always conduct it where it could get food, or hire same one to feed it. From some
intimations dropped by him at Mansfield, and other points, it is be lieved that he was regularly
ordained by the disciples of Swedenborg, and sent west as a missionary. Some expressions of his
when Rev. Adam Paine, a sort of Lorenzo Dow, was once preaching on the public square in
Mansfield, confirm this impression. In winding up an eccentric discourse on the sin of pride,
Paine called out: "Where now is your barefooted pilgrim on his way to Heaven?" Johnny, holding
up his bare pedals, exclaimed: "Here he is." A repetition of all the anecdotes concerning this
strange wanderer would fill a volume. He was just as happy in the solitudes of the forest,
communing with the author of all, as he lay gazing at the stars, where he could almost see the
Angels, as in the midst of his nurseries or among the pioneers,
How, and where did he die? He died at the house of William Worth, in St. Joseph township, Allen
county, Indiana, March 11, 1845. Some days prior to his decease, information was conveyed to
Johnny, who was some fifteen miles distant from Mr. Worth's, near where he had a nursery, that
some cattle had broken into it; and he immediately started. When he arrived he was very much
fatigued, having exhausted his strength in the journey, which being performed without
intermission, and on foot, was too great a task for the poor old man. He laid down that night never
to rise again; for he was attacked with pneumonia, which baffled medical skill, and in a few days
he passed into the spirit land. Mr. ',letter, a neighbor of Mr. Worth, who laid out the body of
Johnny, states, he had on when he died, next to his body, a coarse coffee-sack, with a hole cut in
the centre, through which he passed his head. He had on the waists of four pairs of pants. These
were cut off at the forks, ripped up at the sides, and the front thrown away, saving the waist-band
attached to the hinder part. These hinder parts were buttoned around him, lapping like shingles, so
as to cover the whole lower part of his body; and over all these were drawn a pair of what was
once pantaloons. In this garb he died as he had lived*.
He was buried in David Archer's graveyard, two and one half miles north of Ft. Wayne, near the
foot of a natural mound, and a stone set up to mark the place where he sleeps. He remained a firm
believer in the doctrines of Swedenborg. His calm and resigned manner attracted the attention of
his physician, who enquired about his religious tenets, asserting that he never saw a patient so
resigned +. Johnny Chapman was a
*Hon. J. W. Dawson's letter to the Fort Wayne Sentinel, 1871.
+ Letter of Richard Worth to the Shield ,Ind Banner, of Mansfield, describing the last hours of
Johnny Appleseed. William Worth, at whose house he died, has been dead several years.
COLONEL GEORGE W. URIE
was born in Washington county, Pennsylvania, February 22, 1806, and in 1815, when nine years
of age, accompanied his father's family to Ohio, making a home in Orange township, in the
present county of Ashland. In his boyhood he was an adept in the sports of the day, jumping,
wrestling, running foot races, etc., in which he was able to hold his own with the best. His father
was a great deer and bear hunter, and he generally accompanied him to assist in bringing in the
trophies of the chase. In these expeditions he learned the intricate details of woodcraft, and
became as expert with the rifle in securing game as his father.
When a young man he learned the trade of millwright, which called him some distance from his
home. He also worked at the carpenter trade for more than twenty years—at that time very hard
work, as mechanics were obliged to go into the woods, cut suitable trees, juggle, score and hew
down the timber to a proper size, after which it was hauled by ox teams to the place designed for
the building, where it was mortised and framed. Very many of these strongly framed houses and
barns are now standing where they were built fifty or sixty years ago, and bid fair to remain
another half century.
Colonel Urie possessed strong military tastes, and with his commanding figure and erect bearing
was a prominent character at drill and general muster, Under the old State militia law he passed
through the various grades from captain to colonel of a regiment of independent rifles. At the
breaking out of the war with Mexico he still commanded this regiment, and made all his
arrangements to accompany his comrades in support of the' honor of the American flag, but
having recently recovered from a severe attack of sickness, he was advised by his physician that if
he followed his inclination in the matter it would very likely prove fatal to him. He therefore
reluctantly decided to remain at home, and leave the honors that might be won to other officers of
the regiment.
In the fall of 1845 he was elected treasurer of Richland county, and upon the erection of Ashland
coun in 1846, he resigned, and was elected the first treasurer of the new county, which office he
held two terms.
In 1851 he was seized with a desire to seek a fortune among the gold mines of California, and
entered the "golden gate" by way of the isthmus of Panama. He remained in California but one
year, and finding his golden dreams contained more dross than pure metal, he returned, In 1853 he
was elected a member of the State board of equalization from the district composed - of Ashland
and Richland counties. In 1857 he was appointed deputy United States marshal for the northern
district of Ohio, and aided in taking the census of 1860. He was elected recorder of Ashland
county in 1865, and held the office until 1874, when he was elected mayor of Ashland, which
office he held two years.
Colonel Urie has been a resident of Ashland many years. As is evinced by the numerous places of
trust he has filled, he has the confidence of the people of the county in which he lives. He was
twice married, and by his first wife raised a family of four daughters,
Mary J. Porter, Mrs. Alice A. Beer, Mrs. Libbie Anderson, and Mrs. Sadie A. Beer. A son di-
Mrs. Porter died in September, 1875.
An extended sketch of the life of Solomon father of Colonel George W. Urie, will be found on
page 189 of this work.
HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO - 189
save his life, and take him along. A blow from a tomahawk soon silenced his cries, and his body
was left as food for wild beasts.
From 1781 to 1791 during the Indian hostilities, Fort McIntosh was the principal headquarters of
Brady and his men. Here the Sprotts, McConnells, Wetzels, Poes and Dickinsons often met for
consultation. From 1783, the close of the Revolutionary war, until the defeat of Harmar and St.
Clair, the border settlements were comparatively secure from Indian invasion. Brady and his men
often passed up the Beaver to the Mahoning; and once or twice to the Cuyahoga where, on one
occasion, Brady made a celebrated leap to escape from his pursuers. His trips with the spies
frequently extended to Fort Laurens on the Tuscarawas,
In 1793-4 Thomas Sprott was employed by the Government to carry the mail from Fort
Legionville, the winter quarters of General Wayne, to Fort Franklin on the Allegheny. His route
was along an old Indian trail, without bridges or means of crossing streams, which he was
compelled to wade, many times when flooded with ice. The trip was beset by many dangers, yet
he delivered his precious packages promptly.
In 1795, after the treaty of Greenville, Thomas Sprott crossed the Ohio and located a tract of land
near the present site of the village of Darlington, in Beaver county, Pennsylvania. About this time
he married Mary Woodburn, of Allegheny county, and moved upon his farm, which consisted of
four hundred acres. The disastrous defeat of the combined tribes, at Fallen Timbers, by General
Wayne, and the large cession of territory made the United States by the tribes at the treaty of
Greenville, completely humbled the warlike leaders, and a peace of fifteen years between the
Indians and pioneers of Ohio prevailed.
The transition from Indian scout to the peaceful occupation of agriculturist was easy and agreeable
to Thomas Sprott. He soon became noted as a quiet and careful farmer. To the day of his death he
took great pleasure in narrating the adventures and hairbreadth escapes of Brady and his men, and
proudly contended that the great State of Ohio was indebted to such leaders and men for the
expulsion of the merciless savage, who had so often desolated the borders of Pennsylvania and
Virgima.
Mr. Sprott remained on his farm in Beaver county until 1821, when his excellent wife deceased.
In 1823 he purchased a farm in Clearcreek township, Richland, now Ashland, county, and with his
family, consisting of four sons and four daughters, located thereon—James, his oldest son,
remaining in Beaver County.
When Mr. Sprott arrived in Clearcreek it was but sparsely settled. The Delawares and a few of the
Wyandots returned annually to make sugar and hunt. They were then harmless and annoyed no
one. Mr. Sprott had but little intercourse with them, and was never disturbed. He had seen enough
of the red-skins on the eastern border of the State; and the sight of a tomahawk and an Indian
hunter brought unpleasant memories of the past.
In 1839 Mr. Sprott deceased, and according to a desire expressed sometime before his death, was
buried on a favorite. Indian mound a few hundred ‘yards northeast of his residence, where his son
William was also buried in 1845. The location of the mound is very striking. It was built upon an
upheaval of drift deposited during the glacial period, something over ninety feet high, with a
circular base some three hundred yards in diameter. This natural upheaval or deposit of drift was
slightly flattened on the top, where the Indians erected two mounds, each of which possessed a
diameter, at the base, of about twenty-five feet, and a height of about five feet. From the top of
this mound a grand view is presented. The observer can take in a landscape of five or six miles,
exhibiting as fine a valley of land as can be seen on the globe. Here, Thomas Sprott, the brave old
scout and pioneer, rests from his toils, with a reputation unsullieo,, and a consciousness of having
done his duty a citizen, a soldier, and a Christian.
Mr. Sprott raised an excellent family of sons and daughters, who are much scattered: Thomas, jr.,
aged seventy-two, resides on the old homestead ; Samuel, aged seventy-one, resides in Auburn,
Indiana; John, aged sixty-seven, resides at Bryan, Ohio; Jane married Colonel Samuel Russell,
and resides in Seattle, King county, Washington Territory; Martha resides in Savannah, Ashland
county, Ohio; Mary married Samuel Sprott, a cousin, and resides in Leseur City, Minnesota.
SOLOMON URIE
was born in Bedford county, Pennsylvania, near Bloody run, in 1769. He was in Williamson's
campaign against the Moravian villages, on the Tuscarawas, in 1782, and was at the massacre of
the Christian Moravians, and saw the burning of their houses. He was then quite young, but large
of his age. Colonel David Williamson was a brother-in-law, and for that reason he was induced to
accompany the expedition. He always disapproved that barbarous act, and often stated to his sons,
that Williamson yielded a reluctant consent to the perpetration of that dreadful tragedy, being
unable to control the violence of his soldiers, who were border volunteers, and had suffered much
from Indian raids and depredations.
In the year 1810, Solomon Uric and his brother. Thomas went on a hunting excursion across the
Ohio and established a camp about midway between the present sites of. Cadiz and New
Philadelphia. They hunted together some days, and finally, in one of their trips through the forest
in search of game, became separated. Thomas, having killed a bear, in the evening was conveying
the skin toward the camp, which he had nearly reached, when he was shot and killed by Indians,
who had taken possession of it, and were in ambush, watching his arrival. Solomon, at the same
time, was approaching the camp from another direction, driving before him his horses, which had
been belled and hoppled. When almost in sight of the camp, he heard a double crack of guns, and,
fearing his brother
190 - HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO.
might have been assailed by Indians, considered it prudent to leave his horses and carefully guard
against surprise. When he came in sight of his camp, he saw two Indians plundering it, while a
third was acting as sentinel. He raised his rifle to shoot the Indian guard, when his brother's dog
began to bark, which pointed out his position to the Indian. Mr. Urie comprehended the position at
a glance. There were three Indians. To press forward might be fatal. In his rear was a swamp. To
retreat in that direction would be folly. Summoning all his energies, he made a bold dash in the
direction of the Indian sentinel. The Indian became alarmed and retreated, dodging behind trees to
escape his white assailant. Mr. Urie pressed boldly forward, discovering as he went, the body of
his brother Thomas. He successfully escaped the Indians, who pursued him some miles to the
verge of a precipice, down which he plunged, and on descending to the bottom, discovered that he
had. broken the breach of his gun, the lock being uninjured. The Indians were amazed at the leap,
and abandoned further pursuit. Mr. Urie continued his flight in the direction of the Ohio river,
and, Much to his surprise, came upon a camp formed of Captain Samuel Brady and other hunters,
The next morning he and a number of others returned to his late camp and found Thomas covered
with the skin of the bear he had shot the day before. The Indians had carried away one of his
moccasins and a leggin. His body was pierced with two bullets, and scalped. A grave was dug
with wooden shovels, into which his body was deposited, enclosed in made of puncheons. The
Indians had departed with the horses, forty deer, ten bear, and ten beaver skins, and the entire
stock of provisions and traps. Mr. Urie offered all the property to his new comrades if they would
join him in the pursuit, capture and punishment of the Indians. It was regarded as too hazardous an
undertaking, and he was reluctantly compelled to leave the murder of his brother unrevenged for
the present.
He returned to his home in Washington county, resolved to retaliate on the red fiends of the Ohio
forests at no distant day. When the war of 1812 was inaugurated, he and his son Samuel served
three months on the borders of Canada, and rendezvoused at Black Rock. In the summer of 1814,
Mr. Uric visited Orange township, and located a quarter section of land, and a quarter section in
Montgomery township, and erected a cabin and cleared a few acres of ground, and in the fall of
1815 removed to it with his family, which consisted of seven sons Samuel, Thomas, David,
Solomon, John, George W. and James; and two girls--Susannah and Elizabeth.
In the fall of 1815, he erected a blacksmith shop on his land, being the first one in Orange
township, he being a blacksmith and gunsmith by trade. The first winter after his arrival, he killed
forty deer, eight large black bears, a great number of wolves, and other game. On one occasion,
there being considerable snow on the ground, he took an old horse and rode two or three miles
north in the forest, hitched to a sapling, and, proceeding a short distance, shot a fine deer.
Returning to the horse, he rode it through the undergrowth to the deer, tied a rope around its neck,
fastened the other end to the tail of the horse, mounted, and rode home, dragging the deer after
him. He had reached his cabin but a few minutes, when, as he was engaged in skinning the deer, a
gang of hungry wolves, following his trail, appeared in the vicinity of his cabin. His dogs set up a
furious barking and commenced an attack upon the wolves, when they soon fled into the forest. It
was a narrow escape; for they were half famished for food. He was very successful in trapping
wolves. He usually made a sort of triangular pen, arranging a large trap, so that the wolf would
have to pass over it in reaching a piece of fresh meat which he placed in the narrow end, covering
the trap with leaves. Having bent and trimmed a small sapling, he fastened the chain of the trap to
it in such a manner that when the wolf attempted to back out, it would tread upon the trap, set it
off, be caught by the hind legs, and elevated by the sapling. In this way, he captured a great many,
a reward being offered for their scalps. Soon after the erection of his shop, Tom Lyons, Jonacake,
Catotawa, and other Wyandot and Delaware Indians, came to have their tomahawks and guns
repaired. They frequently brought bent gun-barrels to be straightened. Passing the barrel between
the logs of his shop, he used sufficient force to spring it back, until the bend was out; then, taking
a bow with a thong of deer sinews, he passed the thong through the barrel, and, springing it until it
was tense, he could see whether any kinks were left in the barrel by sighting through the bore;
and if any were discovered, he removed them by a wooden mallet, by laying the barrel- on the end
of a square block and striking on it, occasionally looking through the bore at a piece of white
paper, to see if all the kinks were out. The Indians watched the operation very closely, insisting
that he would "spoil gun." After completing the work, Mr. Urie would challenge the Indians to
shoot at a mark with him. Being a fine shot, always shooting off-hand, "Old Peel," as he called his
rifle, was sure to cut the paper. The Indians, being accustomed to shoot with a rest, made poor
shots off-hand. When they were about to shoot, Urie, who was always brimful of fun and tricks,
would stand close to his competitor, saying, " Indian stir mush," "Cooza," "No go," when the
Indian, becoming very nervous, would miss the mark, and Uric would laugh heartily. In this way,
when he bet he won most of their furs and skins.
After the murder of his brother, Mr. Uric never entertained a very cordial feeling for the red race;
and, on his hunting excursions along the Black river, from 1815 to 1825, though reticent on the
subject, it is believed he more than once avenged the death of his brother.
Mr. Urie died in Montgomery township, July 7, 1830, aged nearly sixty-two years, and Mrs.
Elizabeth Urie, his wife, in June, 1842, aged about seventy-three years. Colonel George W. Urie is
the only one of the family in this county. Thomas* and David + are in Iowa; and
* Thomas Urie died in Iowa, September 8, 1875, aged eighty-two years.
+ David Uric died in Iowa, March, 1871, aged seventy-eight years.
HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO- 191
James is in Indiana. All the others are gone to their final resting place.
STERLING G. BUSHNELL, SR.,
was born in Hartford county, Connecticut, in 1770, and emigrated to Trumbull county, Ohio, in
1806. He left Connecticut in December, 1805, and journeyed on sleds with his wife and five
children. On the route he was joined by a number of other families. The most of the route was
through the forests of eastern and northern New York. He passed directly to Albany, and thence to
near Buffalo, on the lake. He and his traveling companions generally camped by the wayside at
night, scraping the snow aside and erecting a sort of tent or screen of bed quilts to protect their
families against the storms and cold. The forests were infested by large numbers of ferocious
wolves. To protect himself against these animals, he generally encamped near a dead tree, which
he set on fire. When they reached the Hudson, the ice was somewhat weakened by a thaw. Fearing
to cross it with his teams, he took the sled and children and hauled it by hand to the western side,
leaving his wife and horse to follow. After he had landed, she mounted and followed, and when
about midway of the stream, the ice broke with a tremendous roar. He stood appalled at the sight,
expecting to see his wife and horse disappear beneath the floating ice. Fortunately, she floated on
a large piece of ice which drifted to the western shore, some distance below him. Watching its
approach to land, when it touched the bank, she applied her whip vigorously to the sides of the
horse upon which she was seated, and aided by this stimulus, it gave a great leap, fastened upon
and ascended the bank in safety. Great was his joy over the providential escape. From near the city
of Buffalo the whole party kept up the lake shore. By examination they found the ice was
sufficiently strong to bear their teams, and hence, followed it until they reached the northwest
corner of Pennsylvania, when they learned from an old Indian chief of the Senecas where they
were, and the proper route from there to Trumbull county, Ohio. When he arrived at the residence
of his brother, William Bushnell, who had preceded him one year, his wife gave birth to a child
about two hours after his arrival—Jonathan Bushnell. Mr. Bushnell resided in Trumbull county
about fifteen years. His occupations were various. Part of the time he taught school—acted as
justice of the peace and county surveyor. In his late residence, he engaged in the mercantile
business and carried on a tannery and a farm. He also made two trips to New Orleans, with
flat-boats, loaded with the productions of Trumbull dainty principally butter and cheese. He
launched his boat on a small stream emptying into Big Beaver, and passed down it to the Ohio,
and thence down the Mississippi, where he sold his commodities at good prices, and returned on
horseback, passing through the Indian nations, Choctaws, Cherokees and Chickasaws, carrying his
money in a portmanteau. While crossing a stream, he got his money-bank bills—wet, and stopped
with a chief of the Chickasaws, who entertained him kindly and helped dry his bank bills, and
directed him on his way.- This venture proved very profitable, and upon returning home, he
resolved to make a second trip loaded as before. In passing down the Ohio, he became ice-bound
until the opening of the spring thaw, and when he arrived at New Orleans, his goods were greatly
damaged from the climate—his butter melted and cheese spoiled. The trip proved a failure, and he
was ruined financially. He was gone about six months, returning by the Gulf and Atlantic to New
York city, and thence by private conveyance home.
During the war of 1812 a regiment was raised in Trumbull county, Richard Hayes being colonel,
Sterling G. Bushnell adjutant, and an eminent pioneer preacher, Father Badger, chaplain. This
regiment made a forced march up the lake shore to Sandusky, where Sandusky City now stands.
The regiment was, for some time, at Fort Avery, and near Fort Meigs. While near the mouth of
Huron, Adjutant Bushnell assisted in the exchange of prisoners between Malden and Huron.
While stationed here he became possessed with the malaria of that region, and was discharged on
account of disability, and his widow, forty years afterward, was awarded a pension, which was
continued until her decease.
In May, 1821, he emigrated to near the present site of the town of Hayesville, in Vermillion
township. When he arrived he was fifty-one years old. The township was sparsely settled, and he
entered upon pioneer life in earnest, purchasing eighty acres of land, upon which his son, Thomas
Bushnell, now resides, of Joseph Lake, of Wooster, for forty dollars. It proved to be a fine
bargain. He commenced improvements upon it by the erection of a comfortable log cabin, in
which he resided for many years.
Being a good mathematician, and a practical surveyor, he soon began to retrieve his southern
losses. His experience as a business man gave him an opportunity to acquire a knowledge of legal
proceedings in justices' courts, and he soon became expert as a country attorney. Many anecdotes
are related of him in his capacity as a lawyer, some yf which evince a good deal of shrewdness.
On one occasion, three young men, of Vermillion township, went on a little frolic to cut a bee tree
on the premises of a watchful farmer. After securing the honey, the secret was divulged to a
comrade, who told the farmer of h:s loss. A suit was brought to secure the value of the tree, before
a justice of the peace. The young men consulted Mr. Bushnell as to the best method of escape.
They related the circumstances--said the tree was on a ridge— which fact they had stated.
Bushnell desired to learn whether the precise locality had been stated: They said it had not. Mr.
Bushnell told them to return with part of the honey and comb, and cut another hollow tree on the
same ridge in the adjoining township, and fill the crevices of a large limb with the comb, and
smear it over with honey, and leave the balance to him. The young men agreed to pay him fifteen
dollars—five each—if he would clear them. The trial came, and it was shown
192 - HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO.
that a tree had been cut on the ridge, but the exact point was in uncertainty. After examining the
witnesses, Mr. Bushnell stated that his clients did not deny cutting ' a tree on the ridge, but the tree
was in the adjoining township, and the present court had no jurisdiction. Witnesses for the defence
had testified that they had seen the tree, and it was as stated. The plaintiff had, therefore, failed to
fix the cutting of the tree upon the young men, as charged in his affidavit. Mr, Bushnell, therefore,
demanded the discharge of his clients, which the justice granted without further delay. For fees he
received thirty silver half-dollars, and returned triumphantly to his own cabin.
Mr, Bushnell died at his homestead in Vermilion township, August 16, 1846, aged seventy-four
years. He was the father of eleven children—five sons and six daughters Betsy, wife of Sylvester
Bucher ; Laura, wife of Tully Crosby; William, an eminent surveyor of Mansfield, Ohio; Collins,
who built the first hotel in Hayes- vile, and died in Louisiana in 1832 leaving three sons— Judge
Tully C., Sterling G. (a justice of the peace), and Collins W. (probate judge); Sedelia, wife of
James Connolly, of Iowa; Jothan, deceased; Huldah, wife of Stephen Tanner, of Illinois; Rosella,
wife of Jonathan W. Sloan, of Mansfield; Homer, of Mercer county, Ohio, deceased; Olive, wife
of Dr. David Snively, of Xenia, Ohio; and Thomas, of Hayesville, who resides on the old
homestead, and is noted for his zeal and success in agriculture and horticulture.
ELIAS SLOCUM
was born in Rodman township, Jefferson county, New York, August 11, 1784. In June, 1817, he
came west to select a home, and arrived in Uniontown, now Ashland, in July, after a long and
toilsome journey. After examining the country in and about Montgomery township, he concluded
to make the vicinity of Uniontown his residence. In October he returned east for his family. In this
trip he was accompanied by George W. Palmer, a Mr. Lucas and a Mr. Butterfield. In the
meantime the families of the foregoing pioneers remained in the vicinity of Black Rock,
somewhat noted in the Indian wars and the war of 1812, and in January, 1818, after having
attempted to make a passage up the lake, but having been driven back by the tempestuous storms
then prevailing, commenced their journey overland, and arrived in Uniontown in March, after
continuous travel of near two months, over rugged hills, down narrow valleys, along winding
paths, often crossing deep streams. Mr. Slocum purchased of George Butler, one of the sturdy
pioneers, one hundred and six acres of land, two miles east of Uniontown, on section sixteen, and
also jointly with Alanson Andrews, and George W. Palmer, who accompanied him with his
family, three acres on Montgomery's run, in Uniontown, and erected a distillery, an institution
prior to that time unknown in Uniontown. His family resided in a cabin on the farm, to which Mr.
Slocum returned from his daily toils at the village of Uniontown. At that time there was not a
physician in the present limits of Ashland county; and school-houses were equally rare, "Old
Hopewell," Presbyterian, one mile west of the village, was the only church in this region. Log
cabins were the order of the day, and Mr. Slocum, like other pioneers, often spent the whole week
at cabin-raisings, and log-rollings, traveling several miles from home to do so. All were anxious to
increase the number of settlers, and great exertions were made to aid in raising cabins and
preparing lands for culture. When Mr. Slocum settled on section sixteen wild animals, such as
deer, bear and wolves, were quite numerous; while the latter proved quite destructive to sheep and
hogs. Wild turkeys were also very plenty, and an expert hunter could easily procure an abundance
of wild meat.
Mr. Slocum, at a later period, purchased a lot and house where the town hall now stands, and
removed into it, and kept hotel a number of years. He accumulated property quite rapidly, and was
very shrewd in money matters. At an early day he became quite expert in legal disputes, and was
the principal attorney in this region, although never regularly admitted to the bar. Many anecdotes
evincing unusual sharpness in practice, are related of him. At an early day he had a suit before
'Squire Solomon Sherradden, who resided where James Newman now lives. It was for the price of
a certain "crow-bar," which had disappeared from a quarry two and a half miles east of Ashland,
and was in possession of a certain citizen. The ownership was in dispute, and the question of
identity was to be raised by the defendant. On the morning of the trial Mr. Slocum visited the
residence of the justice, and finding him absent, obtained permission from Mrs. Sherradden, who
was at a spring a short distance from the cabin engaged in washing, to go to the house and
examine the bar, as he was the attorney for the defendant. Having done so, he replaced it beneath
the bed where he found it, and returned at the hour of trial. He was confronted by the late Silas
Robbins, jr., as attorney for the plaintiff. The trial proceeded regularly until proof was made that
the bar in question was new, unmarked, and of the usual style. After cross-questioning the
witnesses sharply, to avoid equivocation, Mr. Slocum requested the production of the bar in court.
It was drawn from under the bed, and upon examination was found, not to be smooth and
unmarked; but on the contrary, was deeply indented. Mr. Slocum demanded judgment for the
defendant, and the court readily granted it, to the great chagrin-of Mr. Robbins and the plaintiff.
The facts were, that on the examination in the morning, Mr.. Slocum had taken the bar to the shop
of Mr. Sherradden, who was a blacksmith, and made the indentations that defeated the claimant,
These tricks, then perfectly allowable among country attorneys, constituted a large proportion of
the strategy of litigation.
The relation of these incidents of practice furnished a good deal of amusement to those outside the
quarrel. He often met Mr. Sterling G. Bushnell, of Hayesville, as a country practitioner in legal
contests in justices courts. Mr. Bushnell had the reputation of being de-
HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO - 193
cidedly sharp—was fluent, extremely sarcastic, and untiring in his efforts in behalf of his clients.
Before the establishment of the county of Ashland, Mr. Slocum often conducted appeals in the
courts at Mansfield with considerable ability and success. In person, he was commanding in
appearance, was about six feet in height, hair light brown, eyes a bluish gray and very expressive.
In disposition he was kind and rather disposed to conciliate; but when aroused, exceedingly
sarcastic and unyielding. As a business man he was very shrewd, insinuating, and successful. He
was a good judge of values, and was not easily overreached in his purchases and exchanges. He
arrived in Montgomery when it was sparsely settled, and lived to see it the most populous and
thrifty township in the county. He passed through all the struggles from a poor and humble
pioneer to that of thrift and wealth, and at the advanced age of seventy-eight years, April 17, 1862,
deceased at his residence in Ashland, and his remains now rest amid the tombs of his pioneer
neighbors, who passed away before him.
He was twice married, having lost the wife of his youth in 1829. He had no children by his second
wife. His family consists of Sarah, married to John Lafferty, of Stark county, Illinois; Mary,
married to Joseph Palmer, of Galesburgh, Illinois; Elizabeth, married to Daniel Carter, of
Ashland; Lyman, deceased ; Wealthy, married to the late David Bryte, of Ashland; Ephraim, who
resides on the old homestead, near Ashland ; Willard, an attorney, who resides in Ashland ;
Mahala, married to Johnson Carson, of Galesburgh, Illinois; Eli, of Ashland; Alfred, near
Ashland; and Cordelia, deceased. His descendants are all thrifty, intelligent, and influential
people.
CAPTAIN PIPE,
whose Indian name was "Hobacan," belonged to the Monsie or Wolf tribe of the Lenni-Lenape or
Delawares. This famous war chief, in his later years, appears to have resided on the upper
branches of Mohican, the head branches of Black river, the Vermillion and the Cuyahoga. It is
believed that some time between 1793 and 1795, he made his headquarters at Jerometown, an
Indian village about three-fourths of a mile southwest of the present site of Jeromeville, and
erected a cabin on the old site of Mohican Johnstown. This village was surrounded south, east and
north by alder swamps that were impassable by cavalry, and difficult of penetration by infantry.
A brief outline of the career of this noted chief of the Delawares, may be interesting to the reader.
He was born, as near as can be learned, on the banks of the Susquehanna river, in Pennsylvania,
about the year 1740. Though undoubtedly a member of the royal or ruling family of his tribe, his
youth seems to have been remarkably obscure. This obscurity may have arisen from the fact that
all Indian youths were taught to show deference to age and experience. It is believed that Pipe and
other Delawares located at the junction of the Sandy and Tuscarawas rivers as early as 1758. His
first appearance on the historic page was among the warriors at a conference held at Fort Pitt,
July, 1759, between the agent of Sir William Johnston, Hugh Mercer, the Iroquois, Delawares and
Shawnees.
Pipe was then probably about nineteen years of age, and much too young to be conspicuous. He is
next mentioned in an agreement with Charles Frederick Post, the eminent Moravian missionary,
in the year 1762. Post had visited the junction of the Sandy and Tuscarawas rivers, in 1761, and
obtained the consent of King Beaver, a Delaware chief, to erect a cabin for a school and mission
house. When he returned in 1762, with John Heckewelder, then nineteen years old, as an assistant
to teach the young Delawares, he located in the cabin, and commenced to mark out a small field
for corn. The Indians ordered him to desist. A council was held, in which the Indians expressed
fears that a fort would soon appear at that point if they permitted Post to go on with his clearing.
On being assured by Post that their fears were groundless, they consented to allow the
missionaries a spot of ground, fifty steps each way—for a garden or field, in which to raise corn or
vegetables for their support. Accepting these terms, " Hobacan"—Captain Pipe, a young Delaware
chief was ordered to step off the boundaries, and drive stakes at the corners. Pipe seemed very
suspicious of the mission, because his people had suffered many wrongs at the hands of the
British in Maryland, Delaware and Pennsylvania, and never failed, in a sly way, to urge his tribe
to be cautious of the whites and the new mis- sionaries.
In I 7 64 Colonel Henry Bouquet led an expedition to the Muskingum river against the Indians.
\Vhen his army reached Fort Pitt, now Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, he delayed his march a few days,
Some ten Indians appeared on the north bank of the Ohio river during the time he was at this fort,
and asked to have a talk. Part of them crossed the river and entered the fort, and not being able to
explain their object in coming to the settlement, were detained as suspicious characters or spies.
One of these proved to be young Pipe, the Delaware, who, two years prior, had marked out Post's
garden spot. He was detained at Fort Pitt until Colonel Bouquet returned from the Muskingum,
where he dictated terms of peace and a treaty with the Delawares and Shawnees. The transaction
soured the temper of Captain Pipe, and he resolved upon a relentless course in the future against
the "Long Knives," as he called the colonists.
Captain White Eyes, "Coquethagechton," chief of the Turtle tribe of Delawares, unlike Pipe, was
friendly to the missionaries, and opposed him in his hostility t )wards the settlers in western
Pennsylvania. Although Pipe's tribe repressed their hate, with few exceptions, until 1780, he
entertained a bitter feelingt oward the colonists. In 1765 he attended a conference at Flirt Pitt, at
which about six hundred chiefs and warriors and many women and children were present. In 1768
he again met in conference at Fort Pitt, George Croghan,
194 - HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO
the sub-agent of Sir William Johnston, and over one thousand Iroquois, Delawares, Shawnees,
Wyandots and Mohegans. In the meantime Pipe and White Eyes became rivals for ascendancy in
the councils of the Delawares, White Eyes was a frank, manly and courageous chief, and had the
sagacity to see that to make war upon the border settlers was to invoke incursions into the Indian
territory, and bring ruin upon his people. Pipe was haughty and ambitious, and detested the "Long
Knives," and longed for the time when it would be safe for him to take the hatchet. His young
warriors very generally seconded his warlike ferocity, and a large number of the Turtle tribe were
deeply affected by his intrigues.
In 1771 he sent a speech to John Penn, the governor of Pennsylvania, in which- he made
complaints against white aggression and wrong. Not being relieved of the complaints in 1774,
Pipe, White Eyes, and others, met the agent of Governor Dunmore, John Connelly, at Pittsburgh,
in conference, in regard to recent aggressions on the Indian territory, and the unprovoked murder
of the relatives of the noted Mingo, Logan. At this conference strong efforts were made to pacify
the Indians and prevent war. The effort was in vain, for a great battle was fought at the mouth of
the Kanawha, in October. It is not known how many of the Delawares participated in that battle,
In 1778 a conference was held at Fort Pitt between Andrew and Thomas Lewis, United States
commissioners, and Captains White Eyes, Killbuck, and Pipe, deputies and chiefs of the
Delawares, concerning the wrongs inflicted by the "Long Knives," and the retaliation of the
Indians.
The long-impending separation of Pipe and White Eyes soon after this took place. Pipe made an
effort to overthrow White Eyes. Seeing the effect of the intrigues of Pipe upon the Turtle tribe,
Whites Eyes summoned a council, and declared that if they determined, in spite of his
remonstrances, to go to war, he would lead the warriors himself and die with his tribe. This heroic
proposition turned the scale, and his people remained the friends of the colonists. Pipe, and the
warlike members of his tribe, departed from the Tuscarawas and located on the Walhonding,
about fifteen miles above the present site of Coshocton, and attached himself to the British, who
furnished his warriors blankets, tomahawks, guns, and ammunition, in exchange for human
scalps.
In the midst of the revolution (1780) Captain Pipe and his warlike Delawares removed from the
Walhonding to the Sandusky, on Tymocktee creek, and united his forces with the Wyandots,
Senecas, and other savages favoring the British cause. While he resided in this region he
organized an expedition (1781) for the removal of the Moravian Delawares from the Tuscarawas.
He was accompanied by three hundred warriors, two distinguished chiefs, and the notorious
Captain Elliott, then active in the British service. After the removal, Colonel Williamson and a
large number of border ruffians from western Pennsylvania, made an expedition to the deserted
villages on the Tuscarawas, barbarously murdered all they could find, and burned their houses and
bodies.
In 1782 followed the unfortunate expedition of Colonel William Crawford. Captain Pipe has been
censured for the cruelty inflicted upon Colonel Crawford and the other captives, We are apt to
think, notwithstanding ingenious attempts have been made to excuse that wicked expedition, that
it was the deliberate intention of Crawford and Williamson, and the barbarous persons who
accompanied the expedition, to first assault and destroy the Moravian settlements, and then finish
their work of blood and death upon the Wyandots.
The barbarities of the men who accompanied the new expedition on the Tuscarawas, led Pipe and
his people to believe that no Indian would -be spared. The Delawares, Wyandots, and Shawnees,
were ready to meet the invaders and give them a hot reception, They were not non-resisting
Moravians. They fully appreciated their position, and, like brave men, met their enemies and put
them to flight. The subsequent tragedies were such as Crawford and his men should have expected
when Williamson and his men failed to show mercy even to praying women and innocent
children.
Yet Williamson was actually a candidate to lead the new expedition, and some writers are
surprised that the historians of that day should entertain the idea that the expedition contemplated/
the destruction of the remaining Moravians. Pipe was relentless. It was a contest of life and death.
Crawford had to die, because he would have killed Pipe and his people, and burned their towns.
Retributive justice is severe, but generally overtakes bad enterprises.
Captain Pipe appeared before the British authorities at Detroit, as a witness against the Moravians,
and finally excused them against the false accusations of Girty and others; and expressed a
determination to treat the captive missionaries better in the future. In December, 1781, he
appeared before the same British officer, Colonel Arentz Schuyler DePeyster, and reported the
result of his military enterprise against the colonists, and bitterly reproached that officer for
seducing the Indians into a war, in which they were acting the part of a hunter's dog, which, being
hissed to the attack, received all the injuries inflicted by the ferocious beasts of the forest. At the
same time he expressed a determination to withdraw from their service by returning his war
tomahawk. In 1785 he was present at the conference at Fort McIntosh, and signed the treaty of
that date. His name, by the interpreter, was affixed to that treaty, as "Wobocan," and signed. At
this period, it is evident, he made frequent trips up and down the Muskingum, and possibly to his
old residence at Sandy, We next hear of him at the mouth of the Big Miami, below Cincinnati, at a
treaty with the Shawnees and others, as late as 1786. He was not a party to the treaty, however, but
was present, and signed the document as a witness. One year after this, according to Zeisberger,
the missionary, he attached himself to the tribes friendly to the United States, but in a short time
violated his new engagement.
In 1788, when the pioneer settlers landed at what is
HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO - 195
now Marietta, they found Captain Pipe and about seventy warriors encamped in the neighborhood.
At that time General Harmar described him as a "manly old fellow, and much more of a
gentleman than the generality of the frontier people," Colonel John May, during the same spring,
says: "Here (at the residence of General Harmar) I was introduced to ' Old Pipe,' chief of the
Delaware Nation, and his suite, dressed like the offspring of Satan." Here he is described as " Old
Pipe." According to the most reliable accounts, Captain Pipe was then about forty-eight years of
age.
When we consider the fact, that Blackhoof, and perhaps Thomas Lyon, each lived over a century,
Captain Pipe was then in his prime. This leaves Captain Pipe quietly navigating the Muskingum
and its branches, hunting and making annual trips, at the proper season, to exchange furs and
peltry for such goods and supplies as were needed by himself and people. Whether he visited
Marietta at a later period than 1790 does not seem quite clear, though it is possible he may have
done so.
It seems to be conceded, very generally, that Captain Pipe took an active part in the campaign
against Harmar in the fall of 1790. It is urged, however, by some authorities, that he did not freely
second the wishes of the Delawares in that campaign; and that he was opposed to entering the
struggle against Harmar; but that he was overruled and yielded a reluctant consent to enter the
contest. Pipe was no coward. He was rash and vindictive. His wishes for peace in this instance
were pretended, He entertained no scruples about entering the campaign against General St. Clair
in 1791, It is related that he boasted of slaughtering the soldiers of that unfortunate expedition
until his arm was weary. That was the temper of Pipe when roused to' vengeance. He was a
merciless foe.
In the campaign of General Anthony Wayne in 1794, we are of opinion Captain Pipe was one of
his bitterest foes. We are also of opinion he was engaged in the battle of Fallen Timbers, and was
even present at the treaty of Greenville in 1795, though' it is asserted that he died in 1794. His
name is not attached to that treaty. Why is this? Captain Pipe was in disgrace. He had betrayed his
friendship for the United States; brought ruin upon his people by his alliance with. Little Turtle
and other leaders in that war. The Delawares were left in a state of anarchy. They had warred
against the United States by the advice and aid of Captain Pipe, and ruin and disorganization had
overtaken them. Pipe, with a few of his friends, skulked away, and came down to the branches of
the Mohican.
A late writer says "he died a few days previous" to the battle of Fallen Timbers, in 1794. Where
and under what circumstances? "Upon the Maumee River." Where? In the presence of whom?
Who first gave circulation to the story of his death? "Joseph Brandt," a Mohawk, who desired to
pacify the trembling Moravians. Why did Heckewelder, Loskiel, and other Moravians not hear of
and mention the circumstance? They had had bitter experience under the rule of Pipe, siand would
have been rejoiced to be liberated from his surveillance and dictation. Heckewelder, who is so
frequently assailed as a romancer, would have been but too happy to have penned a criticism on
his old accuser and foe. Heckewelder passed down these valleys many times between 1794 and
1810, and could have thrown much light on the decease of Pipe, and the incidents connected with
his last hours. He is silent. So is Loskiel and others; and Zeisberger doubtless based his statement
on a rumor, and subsequent writers have simply repeated that rumor.
Now for the reason. About the year 1795, John Baptiste Jerome, a French trader, who had married
a Delaware woman, on the Auglaize river, about 1790 or 1791, located with his wife and
daughter, then some four or five years of age, upon the present site of Jeromeville, and after whom
the village was called. The stream passing said village also received his name, and has ever since
been called the Jerome fork of the Mohican. When the earliest settlers came into that region, in
1808-9, Jerome had a good cabin, and some thirty or forty acres of land cleared and in a tolerable
state of cultivation. About three-fourths of a mile southwest of his cabin, across the Mohican, was
located the ancient Mohican Johnstown, then inhabited by Delawares, and near which old Captain
Pipe, Hobocan, located about the same time. . Is there any mistake about that? The identical spot
of his wigwam is yet known. From whom was this information gleaned? From John Baptiste
Jerome, the French trader, who accompanied Captain Pipe to this region, and who knew him well.
Jerome often related to the pioneers the circumstances connected with the battle of Fallen
Timbers, the utter amazement siand terror of the Indians over the movements and victory of "Mad
Anthony." According to his statement, Pipe was in the battle of 1794, although it was his opinion
that Pipe was not present at the treaty. He often stated to pioneers, yet living in this county, that
after the treaty of Greenville Captain Pipe began to see that his diplomacy had brought distress
upon his people, and though accepting the terms of peace, bitterly regretted that he had not
refrained from identifying himself with the allied tribes and the British. In a vain endeavor to
correct the errors of the past, he left the region of the Maumee, and quietly sought repose on the
Mohican.
Captain Pipe resided on the Mohican in 1809-10—11 and 1812, and when the Finleys, Carters,
Warners, Chandlers, Coulters, Olivers, Rices and Tannehills, most of whom still survive, settled
on the branches of the Mohican. He continued to reside in a wigwam, about a mile southwest of
the present site of Jeromeville, until the spring of 1812, when he and most of his people quietly
disappeared from that locality and never returned.
In the fall of 1811 a great feast took place at Green- town, an Indian village on the Black fork of
the Mohican, about ten miles southwest of Jerometown. Captain Armstrong, chief of the Turtle
tribe, and his people, resided in Greentown, There were present between three and four hundred
Delawares and other Indians. Among the number of chiefs was Captain Pipe, of
196 - HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO.
Jerometown. The whites present were the Rices, the Coulters, Tannehills, and the Rev. James
Copus, and a few others. Some of these are yet living. They all describe him as "Old Captain
Pipe." Armstrong, then sixty-five or seventy; Thomas Lyon, seventy-five or eighty, and other aged
Indians, were present. In the opinion of nearly all the white persons present, the majority of whom
have furnished statements, Captain Pipe is represented as being quite advanced in years, in fact,
"Old Captain Pipe." Captain Pipe, when last seen at Jerometown and Greentown by the pioneers,
appeared to be about seventy years of age, was tall, straight, dignified, and very imposing in
appearance. He always dressed as an Indian. This corresponds with the description of Mr.
Adams.*
This was the Pipe of Crawford, Richland, Ashland, Summit, Knox, and Muskingum counties, and
was none other than "old Captain Pipe," the executioner of the unfortunate Colonel Crawford. The
Pipe, of Pipestown, south of Upper Sandusky, was too young to be "old Captain Pipe" in 1812. He
was about the age of Silas Armstrong, who resided at Greentown, with whom Wesley Copus, and
other pioneers yet surviving, ran races and wrestled in their boyhood in sugar camps along the
Black fork of Mohican. Armstrong, the father of Silas, was never seen in this region after the war
of 1812; neither was young Pipe nor the old captain, his father. Young Pipe could not have been
over twenty-two or twenty-three years of age at that period.
In 1814, after the close of the war, Captain Pipe, Kill- buck, and White Eyes, and thirteen
Delawares, signed a treaty in the presence of William Walker, a Wyandot interpreter—General
Harrison, and Governor Lewis Cass, being commissioners of the United States. This was probably
young Captain Pipe, son of old Captain Pipe; and the Killbuck and White Eyes here mentioned
were evidently the sons of the chiefs of that name, who were then deceased. It is supposed by an
old author that the elder Captain Pipe survived until 1818, when he visited Washington city on
business connected with the Mohican reservation. He is probably mistaken in the identity of the
parties, for young Captain Pipe was then a half chief. Old Captain Pipe probably died some time
between 1812-14, perhaps in Canada. There is a shade of mystery covering his later years. His son
was half chief
* In 1807, Seth Adams, father of W. A. Adams, of Covington, Kentucky, settled on the present
site of Dresden, Ohio, and opened a store to trade with the Indians. His customers were principally
Delawares, from the branches of the Mohican. They exchanged peltries and furs for ammunition,
blankets and cloths. Among the leading Indians were " Old Captain Pipe" and his wife, from
Jerometown. Mr. Adams says he was a tall, aged, and fine looking chief. He and his squaw, on
one occasion, took supper with Seth Adams, on which occasion he gave utterance to the following
sentiments. Mr. Adams said: "Captain Pike, I notice you do not drink whiskey like the other
Indians." Pipe said: "You are mistaken; I love whiskey, but refuse to drink because it sets a bad
example. Among gentlemen I drink." Mr. Adams, at the table, handed the captain a bottle and a
glass, and he drank the health of all remarking: We Indians have a saying which rs good. It is,
'Captain Whiskey is a brave warrior; you fight him long enough and he is sure to get your
scalp.'"—Reminiscences of the early settlements on the Muskingum, by W. A. Adams, of
Covington, Kentucky.
with Silas Armstrong, son of old Captain Thomas Armstrong, who ruled the Turtle tribe at
Greentown, in Ashland county. The younger chief, or sub-chief, Captain Pipe, never married. He
removed with his tribe to Kansas, and died in 1839 or 1840, aged about fifty-five or sixty years.
It will be seen at once that in 1808-12 he was too young to be called "old Captain Pipe." He was
too young to be called "old Captain Pipe" at Wakkatomica, at Mohican Johnstown, and at
Greentown. "Old Captain Pipe" was generally accompanied on these occasions by his wife. The
young captain had no wife. The distinction is marked. There can be scarcely a doubt, then, that
after the disastrous battle at Fallen Timbers, Captain Pipe and a remnant of the Wolf tribe located
at Mohican Johnstown, on the Jerome fork, with John Baptiste Jerome, wife and daughter, where
he was residing when the pioneers of Mohican, Lake, Green, and Mifflin townships commenced
to erect cabins and open up farms in 1808-9.
To confirm this opinion, we now offer an authority often quoted as reliable, and of undoubted
weight in Indian tradition and history. We mean the late Governor William Walker, of Wyandotte,
Kansas. In a letter on the subject of Pipe and the Delawares, addressed to the author some months
prior to his death, he says:
WYANDOTTE CITY, November 10, 1873.
"DEAR SIR:—Yours of the twenty-seventh ultimo I received yesterday. I regret, deeply, that
owing to certain untoward circumstances, I have been prevented from attending to and complying
with your request earlier. And now, being able to do some clerical work at short intervals, I
cheerfully proceed to give you what little information I am in possession of, though I fear you will
be disappointed on reading my meager details. To begin then : I am not an Ohio, but a Michigan
Wyandot, came to Ohio after General Harrison's campaign into Canada. That winter, 1813 and
1814, I saw several of the Delawares and Mohegans at the Indian agency (my father then an
officer of the Indian department) from what they called Greentown. Among these were a very
aged man named Lyons and his son George Lyons, Billy Montour, Solomon Jonacake,
Buckwheat, Monnis Dalledoxis, Jim Jerk. At the head of these Indians as ruling chief, it seems,
was a white or part white man named Armstrong. I never saw him, as he died that winter or the
following spring. He was succeeded by Captain Pipe, jr., and Silas Armstrong, son of the
deceased. Silas died of smallpox in Washington city, in the winter of 1817. The elder Armstrong
left eight or nine children. Among these were James, Mrs. Margaret Hill, Silas, Joseph, Tobias,
Robert, and two or three younger. These were all smart, stirring men, jovial, fond of fun and
frolic. James, if living, resides in Canada. They are all dead except Tobias, who is somewhere
down South. The following summer, 184, I was west on the borders of Indiana, and on my return
a part, if not all, of lhese people had settled on the Sandusky river, five miles south of Upper
Sandusky. This settlement took the name of " Pipetown." At the treaty of Maumee, held in the
summer of 1817, at the instance of the Wyandot chief, a party to the treaty, a reservation of a
township, to include " Pipetown," was made to these people. When the colonization of Indians in
the west, under General Jackson's administration, went into operation, they, with other Ohio
tribes, ceded their domain and went west and rejoined their kindred from Indiana, under the
leadership of Captain Pipe, their surviving chief. The elder Captain Pipe could not have died as
early as 1794, for he certainly was at the treaty of Greenville, when the pacification took place in
the following year; and Howe, in his pictorial history, says the Delaware Indians had a settlement
at or near Jeromeville, which they left at the beginning of the war. Their chief was old Captain
Pipe, who resided near the road running to Mansfield, one mile south of Jeromeville. When young
he was a great warrior, and the implacable foe of the whites. He was in St. Clair's defeat, where,
according to his own account, he distinguished himself, and "slaughtered white men until his arm
was
HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO - 197
weary with the work." I can not learn where he died. I can gather no reliable information about
him from the present generation of Wyandots. The late Captain Pipe was undoubtedly the son of
the former, and the only son. He died in this country in 1839 or 184o, leaving no children. I do not
think he ever married. He was a man of fine natural abilities, good-natured and genial in
disposition, and popular with his people. I do not know whether I have answered all of your
questions or not. Most of my papers are in Kansas City, Missouri, where I reside. If I can add
more, will cheerfully do so. I expect to return south the last week in this month to attend the great
Okmulgee council, which will meet simultaneously with Congress, to organize the prospective
Indian Territory, determine the question whether the Indians will organize their own government,
or Congress. The former, I opine, will be the _finale. I thank you warmly for the papers you were
so kind to send me. They interest me a good deal.
Very respectfully, WILLIAM WALKER."
This would seem to be conclusive as to the existence of "old Captain Pipe" after the year 1794, as
well as his residence on the branches of the Mohican, as late as 1812. There is not a scintilla of
evidence that the younger Pipe fought against Harmar and St. Clair, as well as Wayne. The story
of John Baptiste Jerome concerning the last battle, and the part Pipe and himself took in those
campaigns, confirms his identity, and renders his presence on the branches of the Mohican as
definitely certain as any human event, not recorded at the time of its occurrence, can be,
ABRAHAM HUFFMAN
was born in Brooke county, Virginia, November 19, 1785. In 1813 he enlisted with the Brooke
county soldiers to serve in the northwest part of Ohio; but before seeing active service the war
closed. He entered the east half of section thirty-one, in Clearcreek township, Richland county, in
the spring of 1815 and came on with a hand and erected a small open cabin, and returned about
the middle of the summer, after having prepared a few acres of new ground for corn, and brought
his family. His was among the first families who located in Clearcreek the families of Robert
McBeth, James Haney, John and Richard Freeborn, and William Shaw having arrived about the
same time. When Mr. Huffman first landed he found large numbers of Delaware and Wyandot
Indians encamped along the stream, engaged in hunting and trapping. After a few weeks they
returned to Sandusky. In the fall they came on again. A large and well worn trail passed near his
cabin. The hunters passed up and down this trail on their way to Wooster and Pittsburgh, on their
trips to exchange furs and peltry for lead, powder, tomahawks, knives, clothing, and " white men's
fire-water." There were two burial spots on the farm of Mr. Huffman, one near the modern site of
his barn, and where one Mr. Mykrants erected a residence, east of the Savannah road. In their
hunting excursions along the streams of Clearcreek, they frequently stopped at these cemeteries,
and seemed to mourn the departed. Mr. Huffman was careful not to disturb the last sleeping place
of their braves. It was his custom to feed the Indians when they called at his cabin, and by doing
so he won their esteem. They never disturbed him, although they passed in large numbers until
about 1822. Mr. Huffman was a large, energetic and thoroughgoing man. His land contained a
splendid sugar camp, and the second year he made enough sugar to complete his payments on his
farm, It sold at the trading points at eighteen cents per pound, in cash. For three or four years his
toil was constant, for, when not engaged in leveling the forests on his own premises, his services
were freely given to aid his neighbors in erecting cabins, rolling logs and the like. The timber of
the native forests of Clearcreek was very dense and exceedingly tall. To prepare fields for tillage,
therefore, required much hard labor and toil for a number of years. Mr. Huffman, in his prime,
possessed uncommon endurance. In a few years he had a model farm, and was surrounded by all
the comforts of the thrifty agriculturist, He resided on his homestead until his family had grown
up and became somewhat scattered. He had been foremost in encouraging the common schools of
the township, in erecting public highways and in support of houses of worship. He was always
ready to aid the needy, and was the foe of every species of vice. In his intercourse with his
neighbors, he was frank and outspoken. He was an active member and official of the Methodist
Episcopal church for over fifty years. He removed to Ashland in 1848, disposing of his farm, and
died October 19, 186o, at the age of seventy-five years. Mrs. Huffman died in 1862, aged
seventy-three years. The family consisted of Zachariah, Susan, Abraham, Benjamin, John,
William, Mary Ann, Sarah Jane, Daniel, and Perrin. Zachariah, Abraham, John, William, and
Sarah are dead, and the balance of the family are very much scattered.
JOSIAH GALLUP,
born at Leadyard, Connecticut, in 1793, came to Uniontown, now Ashland, in the winter of 1817.
He obtained a good English education, including mathematics and surveying, in the schools of his
native village. In the winter of 1817, in company with a cousin, Jabez Gallup, he came west in a
one-horse wagon, and at the end of six weeks travel, over rough roads and amid wintry storms,
landed at Cleveland. Here his cousin remained, and Mr, Gallup concluded to locate in Uniontown.
His personal appearance in 1817 is remembered by a number of the pioneers. He was a reticent
young man, of prepossessing manners, and noted for his intelligence, love of order, and
gentlemanly bearing. He taught school five or six successive winters in and about the
neighborhood of Ashland. In the summer season, having the implements of a surveyor, he was
extensively employed in what are now Ashland and Richland counties, in running lines for the
pioneers, surveying and locating new roads and the like. In 1822 he married Miss Vilata Pomeroy,
and built a house not a great way from the present site of the jail in Ashland. While residing here
he opened the first Sabbath-school in Uniontown quite a novelty at the time. The people of the
village then attended "Old Hopewell," about one mile west on the Olivesburgh road.
198 - HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO.
After disposing of his Uniontown property, Mr. Gallup purchased what is now known as the
Fulton farm, south of Mr. Andrews, on the Mansfield road, where he resided until his death, in
March, 1833. He aided in the survey of a road from Richland county to Detroit, Michigan, about
the year 1825-6, and was extensively employed in surveying in every part of Richland county.
About the year 1824 he was elected one of the justices of the peace for Montgomery township,
and it is believed was re-elected three terms. As a justice he is well remembered. At that period in
the history of Montgomery township, there were a great number of rugged, rollicking, fun-loving
pioneers. Corn whiskey was very cheap, and was freely used on all public occasions. In fact, there
were but few cabins that were without it. It was deemed essential in cold weather to keep up
animal heat, and proper in warm weather to keep it down. On election days and other village
gatherings, there being only three distilleries in and about town, many of the pioneers became
excessively patriotic, and it was not uncommon to see half a dozen well contested pugilistic
battles in the streets, and hear any amount of profanity. It is reported that after Squire Gallup got
his court fairly organized, he set to work to reform the obstreperous pugilists. He commenced with
moderate fines, and if the same parties reappeared he doubled the amount each time, until fighting
became an expensive luxury. In this way he succeeded in checking the noisy fellows who
assembled on Saturday evenings to have a spree and a few innocent (?) fights, and go home. Mr.
Gallup had served a short time in the year of 1812, in Connecticut; and during his residence in
Richland, now Ashland, county, he served as brigade inspector of the militia. He was about forty
years old at the time of his- death. His widow re-married. She resides at Ottawa, Putnam county,
Ohio. Her second husband's name is J. R. Clark. Most of these particulars were obtained from
Hon. M. E. Gallup, his son, who resides in Strongsville, Ohio, and was born in Ashland.
PATRICK MURRAY
was born in Ireland, March 17, 1755, and emigrated to America in 1782. He located at
Harrisburgh, Pennsylvania, where he married Mary Beattie, also of Irish descent. He remained at
Harrisburgh until 1806, and then removed to Greensburgh, Pennsylvania. About the year 1809, he
located in Stark county, Ohio, where he continued to reside until 1815. In the fall of 1812, Mr.
Murray volunteered in the brigade of General Reasin Beall to go to the defence of the border
settlers in the northwest. His son James, then thirty-five years of age, also entered the same
brigade. While quartered at Fort Meigs, the army became much distressed for want of rations. The
roads to the settlements were long, rough and in poor condition, passing mostly through dense
forests and across marshes and bogs. The quantity of forage consumed by the cavalry, as well as
the supply of the quartermaster's department for the troops, made it difficult to furnish the
necessary rations at the proper time.
For a time, the rations were reduced to but a few ounces per meal, and the half starved soldiers
began to murmur over their hardships. The weather was inclement, and their sufferings were
regarded as almost unbearable. General Harrison deeply sympathized with the half famished
troops; and was urgent in regard to immediate supplies; but "red tape" made many delays in
forwarding and distributing food. In the midst of the general distress, the privates began to
remonstrate with their officers, and threaten retaliation if their hunger was not soon alleviated.
Little knots of clamoring soldiers continued their discussions, notwithstanding the guardhouse
menaced them.
Among those who were particularly active and persistent, was Patrick Murray, who took it upon
himself to enter the marquee of General Harrison, to expostulate with him concerning the
distribution of food. On entering the general's tent, Mr. Murray was asked by one of the
aides-de-camp what he desired, and how he dared enter without permission?
Mr. Murray--"May it plase your honor, I am very hungry, and wish to know whin our rations will
be increased?"
General. Harrison—"I am sorry to learn that the troops are suffering for food. We have been
urgent for an increased supply, which we hope will be here in a few days."
Mr. Murray—"But, gineral, in the manetime we may all starve. We can't stand it much longer,
sur."
General Harrison "You will have to be patient. We are doing the best we can."
Mr. Murray—"Do you think, gineral, a man would commit a great sin to steal, rather than starve?"
General Harrison "That is a hard question. I would not like to starve so long as I could obtain
food."
Mr. Murray—"I thank you, gineral, you are right, and, as there seems to be a spare loaf or two
here, I will begin at headquarters to supply meself."
Mr. Murray approached the larder, and, taking a large loaf of bread, commenced to devour a part
of it, intending to take the balance to his comrades. An officer in the general's tent ordered him to
put it back.
Mr. Murray —"The gineral has relaxed the moral law that he might not starve; and I decline to
depart from the same principle, sur."
At this response the general laughed heartily, and ordered the officer to permit Mr. Mrrray to
return to his company.
For this act of generous forbearance Mr. Murray always remembered General Harrison, and
declared that he was "a brave officer, a patriot and gintleman."
I have preserved this reminiscence, because it is characteristic of Mr. Murray, who was never
known to be without a reply, and wit enough to escape the sharp repartee of an adversary.
After Beall had returned, Mr. Murray and his son served a second enlistment, and were at the
battle of Fort Meigs. In that contest Mr. Murray was separated
HISTORY OF ASHLAND COUNTY, OHIO - 199
from his company, and the grass being very tall, it was presumed, by his comrades, that he had
been killed and 'scalped by the Indians. After a few hours, he appeared in the camp amid the
cheers of his companions at his safe return. Upon the expiration of his term of service, he returned
to his home in Stark county, where he remained until 1815, and then removed to what is now
Orange township, in what was then Richland county. The members of his family at that time were
James, Edward, Catharine, Susannah, William, John, Mary, Elizabeth, Alice, Sarah, Rebecca,
George, and Hester, and, in 1816, Hugh.
Mr. Murray was a tailor by trade, and worked at that occupation in Harrisburgh and Greensburgh,
Pennsylvania, and in Stark county, Ohio. He was a "live Irishman" in company—full of wit and
original humor. Although his education was defective, he had a very retentive memory, and, if
now living, would relate a volume of exploits and border achievements. On the fourth of July, the
year he was ninety-nine years of age, he rode to Ashland in a buggy, walked about one mile during
the day, and returned home, some three miles, in the evening. He was enthusiastic, like all his
countrymen when they have become Americanized, on the observation of the natal day of
American Independence. Mr. Murray voted for ten different Presidents of the United States. He
died at his farm in Orange township, July 23, 1854, aged ninety-nine years and nearly four
months. His wife had preceded him to the grave a short time.
James Murray studied medicine, and resided for a time in Cincinnati, where he died. John studied
surveying, and afterwards became treasurer of Richland county for two terms, and then removed
west, where he died. Of his numerous family, all have deceased, except three married daughters,
who do not reside in the county,
JOSEPH MARKLEY,
from Somerset county, Pennsylvania, purchased the Trickle farm in Montgomery township, and
moved to the cabin, a twelve by twelve structure, early in the spring of 1815. When he arrived,
there was a camp of Indians on the present site of the residence of Jerry Fulkerson, in South
Ashland, and two or three camps down the stream about half a mile, all of which contained about
fifty Indians, including their squaws and pappooses. They were engaged in hunting and making
sugar, and had twenty or thirty ponies, and a number of dogs with them. They left early in the
'summer. Mr. Markley's family consisted of himself, wife, and seven sons—Jonathan, John,
Matthias, Moses, Aaron, Horatio, and Solomon; and two daughters, Matilda and Frances. They
left four sons, grown, in Pennsylvania—Philip, Peter, David, and Joseph. They came by Canton
and Wooster. They brought seven horses, and a fine covered wagon, and six milch cows. The
forests were filled with grass, pea-vines, and shrubbery, upon which the cattle and horses fed.
The first summer, Mr. Markley, wife and two daughters slept in the little cabin, and the boys in
and under the covered wagon. Conrad Kline, who had purchased the Carter farm (since owned by
John Mason), and John Heller, were kind enough to supply Markley and family with corn-meal at
a neighborly price, until they could purchase corn and get it ground at one of the mills. Aaron
Markley, the only member of the family in this county, says: "Corn-bread, hominy, a httle pork,
and a tin of good milk constituted their luxuries the first summer and winter,"
The old gentleman, aided by his seven sons, soon prepared a few acres of corn, which they
cultivated with care, and which yielded a tolerable crop. Their next care was to put up a hewed log
cabin. It was completed and ready to be occupied early in the fall,
When winter began to approach, Mr, Markley went to Mansfield and purchased three large hogs,
for which he paid eighty-four dollars and fifty cents. This constituted the winter meat for the
family. Jonathan and Horatio took five horses with pack-saddles, and following the Indian paths
proceeded to Owl creek, the "Egypt " of northern Ohio, for corn. They purchased five loads of
shelled corn, and went to Shrimplin's mill to get it ground; but the mill having given out, they
brought it home, and it was crushed in the hominy block by pounding. After this process, it was
sifted, and the coarse fragments being separated, were converted into hominy, and the balance into
corn-bread. Thus the winter of 1816 passed with the Markleys.
The Markley family soon became famous for their uncommon size and strength. The old
gentleman weighed two hundred and sixty pounds, the old lady two hundred and forty, and the
boys, when grown, averaged about two hundred and fifty, while Aaron, the runt of the family,
weighs two hundred and thirty. The boys, with the exception of Aaron, averaged about six feet
three inches in height—Aaron being about five feet seven. It is asserted by the early settlers that
David, the third son, could lift by the chimes a barrel of sugar water, and drink from the
bung-hole. It is rare that such a family of giants is found in a new country. No one had the
temerity to contend with David. Samuel, Thomas, and Solomon Urie, all six feet high, and very
stout, sometimes had a little tilt with the Markleys, but rarely won a laurel.
Aaron Markley now (1880) resides on the old homestead, is seventy-nine years of age, and is the
only mem. ber of the family in this county.
Joseph Markley, sr., died in 1831, aged sixty years, and his wife soon followed him to the tomb.
Most of his sons went west,, where several of them have risen to posts of honor.
VACHEL METCALF.
One of the first settlers in the township of Orange was Vachel Metcalf, originally from
Washington county, Pennsylvania. When quite a young man, Mr. Metcalf joined the expedition of
General Anthony Wayne, which